We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Weekend Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watergarden Inn at the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“A Beautiful Weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband had our first kid free weekend and a late anniversary get away here in June of 2013 and it was the perfect place to stay. The bathroom was to die for with a jacuzzi tub and a waterfall shower head - I would live there if possible! The hosts were incredibly sweet and helpful with suggestions of things to visit in the area, and breakfast there on our last morning was delicious! The stores, restaurants, and bar scene just a block or two away were a ton of fun to walk around and we even got to walk over to the Dali Museum a few blocks away along a gorgeous harbor! Thanks for a wonderful stay this summer, we can't wait to come visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    38
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
232
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockmart, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Booked this BNB based on the wonderful reviews on trip advisor. Once booked was sent an email from the owners that they would be out of town but would have "sitters" whom they've used before. Didn't think this would effect the quality of service but believe in my personal experience it did. We had rented a full size king cab pick up truck to move furniture and household goods to my adult son who lives nearby so felt this would be a welcoming "home" for after the long drive from Atlanta and once the unloading was done. Parking is tight for this size truck a normal size car would fit better. We made sure to park on the end of the parking lot to easily get in/out. Not a problem. We didn't get a warm fuzzy welcoming, but was showed to our room with the key we were given opening the door. The room was clean and stocked nicely upon arrival (great!!) , We stayed 2 nights. So the next day ..... came back to our room to find the coffee was not restocked, nor the bath amenities, water, etc. Towels were replaced/clean and bed made. But heck even hotels replace these. We did rent the smaller room I was told so yes the bathroom is smaller and only one person can get ready at a time, the shower smaller (thankfully we are small people). The pool was refreshing/relaxing and towels provided for pool use. Breakfast I did not feel was fresh as the same exact things were offered both Saturday and Sunday when we were there and microwave the quiche on both days? It made me wonder how long it was there before we arrived on Saturday? Coffee was available to make yourself in the breakfast area. But even that was not restocked on Saturday (slim pickings of flavors/choices). We did see a basket of snacks in the entranceway on while leaving for the day so picked up a few of those to only realize later they had expired in April ???? This was now labor day weekend 5 months later? The house sitter did not interact with us at all other then Monday when we checked out THEN asked us if we needed any recommendations on things to do. I just said we are now going home. I think it would've been a completely different experience with the owners rather then the inn sitters in reading the reviews. But was not aware of this situation until AFTER we booked our room and made our plans for the holiday weekend. For the details of room maintaining for guests, food quality and unfriendliness of the sitters is why I gave this the rating I did. I have stayed at several BNBs this felt more like a hotel that we were inconvenience being there during our stay. However everything is in walking distance so once parked we were able to simply walk to nearby restaurants, attractions so it is close to all you would want to see and do.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the shower/bathroom some maybe be better options for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri2south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gasparilla1, Owner at Watergarden Inn at the Bay, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Wow! So sorry that your experience at Watergarden Inn at the Bay wasn't what you hoped for. It's not what we want either! Yes, we were on a vacation during the time of your stay, and we brought in an experienced inn sitter who, thankfully, received very positive reviews from many of our guests. When you booked online in June, we didn't have our plans set and we notified all guests once we knew we would be away. Certainly if anyone wished to cancel, we would have honored that and suggested alternative accommodations.

Our breakfast, as described on our website, is a Key West style continental buffet. On busy weekends, we usually bring in freshly made quiche from a nearby caterer. We always try to offer enough selection to give guests plenty of choices, even if there is overlap from one day to the next - and we love to make cappuccinos for anyone who's up for a treat.

Your room should have had the coffee re-stocked. That was an oversight and we apologize. We happily re-stock shampoos, soaps, etc. if it appears that guests are running low. As far as expiration dates on pretzel snacks go, we're not sure how that happened. We order these regularly because they don't last long. We'll definitely watch for expiration dates.

You booked one of our smallest rooms, Hibiscus, and, as you say, the bathroom is pretty compact. As in most old inns, our rooms vary significantly and we can suggest options if there are particular features that are important to you.

We're glad your truck fit in our parking place. Parking is at a premium in downtown Saint Petersburg. Most hotels charge extra for parking (and WIFI). These are included at Watergarden. Glad also that you were able to enjoy the pool, as we're one of the few small properties that have one.

We hope you'll try us again. If you want a made-to-order breakfast, we still probably won't meet your needs, but we always enjoy meeting and getting to know our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Watergarden Inn at the Bay. Wilder and Bill were perfect hosts and made us feel welcome. The location of the Inn is close to restaurants and shops and a short walk to the Dali Museum. The restaurant recommendations they made were great. The breakfasts selections are plentiful - hot or cold cereal, fruit, pastries, bagels, toast or muffins with coffee selections and juice. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed with a featherbed. Parking is convenient behind the building. The pool area is very nice and relaxing. I would highly recommend staying at Watergarden.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraH48152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a charming old Florida bed & breakfast. Bill & Wilder are gracious hosts and keep a tidy but inviting establishment. We stayed for the weekend as part of a wedding on premises. They were more than accommodating and all had a great time & stay. We will be recommending this Inn to all who find themselves staying in the downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topshlf126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Watergarden Inn on our visit to St. Pete. We found the hosts to be very friendly and attentive. We choose the Watergarden due to it's excellent location to the events in St. Pete. It's close enough to walk to the entertainment areas, but set back enough to provide a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The Inn was fantastic, breakfast was wonderful and to our delight, the pool was absolutely gorgeous. We plan to return!

Room Tip: Our room on the east side was very bright in the morning. We will try a west facing room the next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Hilmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Bill & Wilder are fantastic hosts! I booked our stay based on their website alone and after calling them. I spoke to Wilder and after just a few minutes, I booked. After arriving near 6, we were welcomed in and shown around. They go way above and beyond from the moment you arrive. The room was clean and simple. They suggested a local eatery and chocolate shop, both of which we visited. The next day, breakfast was ready whenever we were and Bill made a most excellent cappuccino for Julie! Afterwards, we got in the pool and borrowed bikes to go around town. We got numerous comments on how cool our bikes were from random strangers and that was very fun! We had a great time and we will return very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njfantastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our hosts were extrordinarily pleasant and helpful. Our questions were answered thoughtfully and our room and bathroom were beautiful. The beds were scrumptious as well as the breakfast. Thank you to Wilder and Bill.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greedymother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergarden Inn at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergarden Inn at the Bay

Property: Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Address: 126 4th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your private oasis on over 1/2 acre in the heart of downtown. Steps away from Beach Drive shops and restaurants, fabulous museums, exciting sports venues, picturesque waterfront and marinas. Watergarden Inn at the Bay offers gracious accommodations and warm hospitality to travelers who enjoy privacy and comfort. 14 unique rooms & suites from Luxurious to romantic. Lounge by our pool or a private garden spot. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watergarden Inn At The Bay St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing