We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Wedding”

StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht is a sleek and stylish 113-foot ship. It is the newest addition to the StarLite Cruises fleet and the most desired vessel in Tampa Bay. This fully modern vessel offers unparalleled atmosphere and remarkable views. The vessel’s star quality and enticing menu combine for an extraordinary dining experience. The StarLite Sapphire can accommodate up to 150 passengers for any type of function. We are a short distance from the Don CeSar Hotel, Tradewinds Resort, Sirata Beach Resort, Alden Hotel, Postcard Inn on the Beach, Sunset Vistas, Bilmar Hotel, Crystal Palms Resort.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 29 July 2014

From the initial phone call to the actual wedding to disembarking off the vessel, everyone was very professional and extremely caring. The food was absolutely fabulous and every guest commented on the quality of the exceptionally well prepared food. The Captain who married us was the best, we loved Captain Scott Padeni. If you are looking to have a romantic night out or a big affair like us, I would recommend the Starlite Sapphire, you will not be disappointed.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarLiteFlorida, Manager at StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for celebrating your special day with us! We really appreciate your feedback and recommendation. It's wonderful that you and all of your guests enjoyed everything about the evening. We are looking forward to seeing you on your anniversary if not before! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dinner cruise"
in 59 reviews
"chateaubriand"
in 15 reviews
"stuffed shrimp"
in 9 reviews
"surf and turf"
in 8 reviews
"an appetizer"
in 7 reviews
"birthday package"
in 5 reviews
"window table"
in 4 reviews
"our server was very attentive"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful cruise"
in 4 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 8 reviews
"wedding reception"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful homes"
in 4 reviews
"boat ride"
in 7 reviews
"gulf of mexico"
in 4 reviews
"visiting the area"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 5 reviews
"captain scott"
in 5 reviews
Filter

272 - 276 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was married on the upper level of the Starlite and it was the perfect setup. The views were beautiful, the food was good and the servers were very helpful. The captain did a wonderful job with our ceremony. It definitely was a day to remember. The only problem we incurred was the upper level was very warm and the air never really got cool but downstairs was very cool.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Linda9244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarLiteFlorida, Manager at StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for celebrating your big day with us! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the ceremony and the cruise. We are very sorry there was a problem with the AC. Luckily, that has been fixed, so next time you cruise with us it should be perfect! Hopefully that will be soon! Congratulations on your marriage, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This "cruise" might be nice if some major changes were made, but as it was this was a huge waste of money. We went on the StarLite Sapphire out of St Petersburg and had dinner on the boat. There is the option to go on for just the cruise or for the cruise with dinner. I don't think most people who would opt to go for just the cruise itself would be happy. It stays within the bay, goes slowly along near the homes on shore for a while, then sits and goes in many circles before turning and going back. I understand that this calm water within the bay is better for those who are dining to be able to enjoy their meal, but if you go only for the cruise it would be extremely boring.

You would think, as we did, that it would be a nice evening and a peaceful way to enjoy your dinner out. Think again. The so called "fine dining" is atrocious! We could have gotten better food at Waffle House. We ordered the chicken spinachi, sea scallops, and the salmon. First they brought out appetizers which consisted of one shrimp, a rock hard piece of toast with dry crusty brie cheese and thick pasty blueberry stuff on it, a plain deviled egg, and some kind of bread with spinach in it. Then came a small salad with wilted, nasty lettuce. We were hoping the dinners would be better, but when they showed up they were not only NOT visually appealing, but the food was cold, overcooked, and in very small portions. You can see these in the photos I posted and this was exactly how the plates came to the table before we touched anything on them. Yes, they looked THAT bad. You could not even put a fork into the scallop without forcing it. The asparagus was limp, mushy, and rotten looking. The chicken was dry, tasteless, and looked disgusting. My twelve year old could have cooked better. The dessert that came at the end was a squirt of chocolate syrup in the middle of a plate, with a blob of something that tasted similar to cheesecake with a mandarin orange on top, and a stale cookie with whip cream on it. This is fine dining created by a chef??!! The entire meal was a disgrace. Near $100 for this trash they wanted to feed us. Not including the price of the cruise. We left hungry and disgusted.

Now, let me tell you about their entertainment. This consisted of some regular songs and some songs sang by the woman in karaoke style. The music is played so loud that you cannot even hear the person next to you or across from you without yelling. Literally yelling. Even worse is the speakers are blown and distorted. They sounded awful and it seemed she turned it up every time she sang like she wanted to make sure everyone on shore heard her. Everyone up top was complaining. Many people even tried to go outside to get away from it but it was just as bad. People applauded when it was turned off! When we tried to let her know how bad it was up there she got mad, stomped away, turned it down temporarily, then it went right back up shortly after. The music wasn't even enjoyable and only caused aggravation and headaches.

There is an outside deck where people can smoke, but I guess some people took this a bit too far since there were people smoking pot out there too. Can you guys not wait a couple hours and do this in your own place? There were kids out there!

The boat itself was nice and wasn't a rundown heap of scrap, the phone operators were helpful, and we got to see dolphins. Those were the only positives about the experience.

I think with a ton of improvements this could be a nice attraction, but the way it is now is just awful.

7  Thank IggysTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarLiteFlorida, Manager at StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your suggestions. We have been in business for about thirty years, and take great pride in our business and mostly the satisfaction of our customers. It is clear that you are not satisfied with your experience aboard the StarLite Sapphire, which is not what we ever want. If you could please call our Sales Office and ask to speak to our General Manager, he would love to make this right for you. 727.462.2628, We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Pleasant cruise. Enjoyed the views and fresh air. I wanted to wipe the smudges off the flatware, but my napkin was previously used! Got a new napkin and ordered the shrimp and crab appetizer. The waitress placed it on the table and it stunk! The one tiny bite I took of the shrimp stayed with me all day. I had to place the plate on the table next to us as we could not stand the smell. I think the shrimp or brown nasty crab stuff was bad. Chicken Cordon bleu was okay. I pointed out the fly in the salt shaker to the waitress but she turned it over and over claiming she couldn't see it. So be on the lookout for it; your salt shaker could be the lucky one! One lady at the next table returned her wine glass to the waitress because she had a fly in her glass.

2  Thank DragonfruitLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarLiteFlorida, Manager at StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide an enjoyable experience for all our guests, as well as prepare fresh and tasteful options throughout the cruise. It seems we have dropped the ball on this one, and we are very sorry. I have passed along your information to the General Manager, who would like to speak to you. Can you please call our Sales office at your earliest convenience and ask to speak with the General Manager.. make sure you tell him you are calling in reference to a Trip Advisor review. 727.462.2628. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had three adults and one child. The ship was very clean, and the table set up was nice. All the staff was very friendly. Our server was very helpful, and always kept our drinks full. The food was great! The bread was hard though. They take pictures when you first walk in, and then after the meal they set it on your table. The server will come back and ask if you want it....for $14.00. So don't think it is setting on your table as part as your admission fee. The entertainment was a lady singing. She was good. We got to see dolphins at a distance. It was a nice night out!

Thank Lanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarLiteFlorida, Manager at StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had an enjoyable evening on the cruise. I will pass along your comment about the bread. Overall, it sounds like you were satisfied which means we did our job. We are hoping to see you on board in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht also viewed

 

Been to StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing