We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Nicest Park We Have Been to.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort de Soto Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
670 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“One of the Nicest Park We Have Been to.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a great place for kids and adults. It's clean and beautiful. There are gorgeous views every where. The water is clear and the beaches are pristine. Rest areas are nicely maintained and there is fishing from the piers. A fine way to spend a day a more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARJACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    62
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
88
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I camped in a tent with my son. The camping area was free from debris and had been raked prior to our arrival. We had a nice view of the water. The bathrooms were super clean and had hot showers. Believe all the comments about the raccoons. I think they are beautiful animals. We did NOT have food out of the car, but while lying in my tent during the daytime, a big one decided to check me out by looking in the doorway about 2 feet from my face. He left quickly when I screamed. I will still go back again. The staff are friendly and attentive. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferS0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Second time visit to the campground. We stayed 3 nights. Raccoons are a major issue, but this time we were prepared, and bought a spray from Outdoor world (fox urine), it worked pretty well, but not perfect. Keep all food, candy, out of the tent. One raccoon killed a kitten, very traumatic for my niece. Great for watching sunset, relaxing, riding bikes. Hot water was a problem one of the days, i.e. water was warm. Clean bathrooms. We went during season, and apparently, the cleaners are fellow campers who are staying at the campsite for a few months. Campsites on the water are nice, however, each time we went (around February) there was significant wind, so not too enjoyable. If you don't mind dogs, the water view in that section did not seem to have the same problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We just spent 6 nights here, and was extremely pleased. Very large roomy sites, many on water. There is a campground area for people with pets, and one without. The sites are well maintained by volunteers. They all have large clean picnic tables, and charcoal grills. Bathrooms are fine, and there are washer/dryers available, if working. Bike/walking cement paths that go to the beach, large dog park, dog beach, Ft. De Soto, piers, boat launch, gift shops, camp store. etc. Wonderful vegetation around the campsites making them private.

Room Tip: Make reservations about 6 months in advance. But you can try anytime, because of cancellations you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessicadez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We had camp site 28. Beautiful site on the water. Shower rooms were clean. Campgrounds kept very clean. Just beware for the raccoons. Very aggressive at getting in your coolers and your car. Had to set very heavy objects on coolers to keep them out. Overall a great place. Fished at the pier near dog beach and caught a bunch of pin fish.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwflocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful campground with a gorgeous beach, incredible sunsets, polite park rangers... The whole deal! It has miles of bike trails, kayaking, fishing, swimming, a dog beach, and great restaurants nearby. Clean bathhouses and a camp store are convenient. At $38 per night for a site on the water you can't go wrong!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have rented an RV several years now from Florida RV in St Pete, and have SOOO enjoyed staying here. It feels as though you're far away from everything, but you're really not. We have some favorite sites that we like overlooking the water, and have enjoyed fishing the area...great speckled trout, redfish, even pompano once!
Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank savvysavorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
5.4 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
4.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
667 reviews
5.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,294 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
606 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort de Soto Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort de Soto Park Campground

Property: Fort de Soto Park Campground
Address: 3500 Pinellas Bayway, St. Petersburg, FL
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Fort De Soto Park Campground Hotel St. Petersburg
Fort De Soto Park Campground St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing