We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommendable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort de Soto Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure to spent 2 nights here. Paid in advance and check in was very quick. Free wifi close to reception. Site was huge, just a bit tight to park. We had a beachfront site and the kids enjoyed walking around in the shallow water and watch the numerous birds. Bath house very clean, washing mashine worked perfectly fine.

The closeby Northern beach is a gem. We went to the far end of the parking lot, where there is lots of shade on the beach.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank lasenza31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    63
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
91
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great campground! Beautiful sunset from our waterview campsite. Facilities and grounds are well-maintained by park staff... And the dog beach is off-leash, which our dog really enjoyed. Moreover, the other visitors and their animals were well-behaved.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank keljam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had the recent pleasure of spending 2 nights at this beautiful location. The campground is impeccably maintained and the shower and bathroom facilities are clean. We were lucky enough to spend a lovely day at the beach and Mother Nature provided stunning sunsets both nights we were there.

Our site was on the seawall side and our neighboring camper's young son caught a lot of fish right from their campsite; bring your rod and reel. I would highly recommend this campground for families.

Unlike other reviewers, we did not have a problem with the raccoons. Also, if you are an RV'er, be advised that there are not sewer hookups at the individual sites, although there is a dump station at the campground.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Springs
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This RV park is absolutely gorgeous. The sites are huge. The palm trees are thick. The bike trails are extensive and well maintained. The beaches are beautiful and there are lots of them. This park is so popular that we couldn't get two consecutive nights in the same site,so we switched which was no problem. We should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nelson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
676 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a great place for kids and adults. It's clean and beautiful. There are gorgeous views every where. The water is clear and the beaches are pristine. Rest areas are nicely maintained and there is fishing from the piers. A fine way to spend a day a more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARJACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I camped in a tent with my son. The camping area was free from debris and had been raked prior to our arrival. We had a nice view of the water. The bathrooms were super clean and had hot showers. Believe all the comments about the raccoons. I think they are beautiful animals. We did NOT have food out of the car, but while lying in my tent during the daytime, a big one decided to check me out by looking in the doorway about 2 feet from my face. He left quickly when I screamed. I will still go back again. The staff are friendly and attentive. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferS0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Second time visit to the campground. We stayed 3 nights. Raccoons are a major issue, but this time we were prepared, and bought a spray from Outdoor world (fox urine), it worked pretty well, but not perfect. Keep all food, candy, out of the tent. One raccoon killed a kitten, very traumatic for my niece. Great for watching sunset, relaxing, riding bikes. Hot water was a problem one of the days, i.e. water was warm. Clean bathrooms. We went during season, and apparently, the cleaners are fellow campers who are staying at the campsite for a few months. Campsites on the water are nice, however, each time we went (around February) there was significant wind, so not too enjoyable. If you don't mind dogs, the water view in that section did not seem to have the same problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
5.4 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,568 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
978 reviews
5.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,109 reviews
6.9 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,362 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort de Soto Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort de Soto Park Campground

Property: Fort de Soto Park Campground
Address: 3500 Pinellas Bayway, St. Petersburg, FL
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Fort De Soto Park Campground Hotel St. Petersburg
Fort De Soto Park Campground St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing