We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Nice view and a very friendly staff. Was not able to take in all the amenities but everything looked great. Very clean and very convenient to where we were going. Will keep in mind for our next visit to the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    184
    117
    57
    58
See reviews for
197
175
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just a perfect weekend...My wife and I traveled to St Pete to visit my large family of Brothers and Sisters...How do you plan to entertain 15 to 20 people....Well, I invited everyone to meet me at the Nepa Tiki Lounge Bar. It was so perfect...the deck of the bar overlooks Tampa Bay..plenty of tables and chairs...The appetizers and other food served was just outstanding with no complaints. The next day we invited members to come swim in the two pools or play tennis...we took a ride on a four person bike which was a first to me...We had breakfast in the Periscope restaurant both mornings and it was great..We were picked up at the marina by my older brother who took out for an excursion on the ocean and the bay...saw purpoise and many pelicans, and sea birds...We really didn't even have to leave the resort but did visit the Salavore Dali museum...St. Pete downtown is really very new and very impressive....looking forward to going back....our room was perfect and we sat out on the balcony with a tropical tree landscape....bed were very comfortable and the room was very clean..Dan

Room Tip: room 116 had a very nice small patio with a tropical landscaping view...very private location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the Magnuson Hotel! We have a very relaxing atmosphere here and the view is so beautiful! Please come back and see us again. Room 116 is waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Magnuson Hotel for a business trip. The staff was very nice. The amenities and restaurant were decent, but the rooms were gross. We actually had a baby roach crawling between our sheets, which my husband video taped. The toilet tilted to one side if you didn't sit on it just right. It's the kind of hotel room that you don't take your shoes off and walk barefoot on the floor. Not a place I would ever choose to go back too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank RCboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
First allow me to apologize for the cleanliness issues in your room. We maintain a housekeeping staff that is trained to provide a clean room, including vacuuming each day, for all of our guest. We are going to review our procedures with the room inspectors to insure compliance with those cleaning standards. We also maintain a ongoing pest control program and have provided our pest control company the information you supplied to ensure strict compliance.
Thank you for the thoughtful comments regarding the friendliness of our stuff as well as the amenities the hotel offers. We hope that you will give us another try if you return to St. Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is truly an oasis. It's beautiful location is supplemented with A lively raised bar on a small beach. The night we stayed, there was a beautiful wedding on the small beach. We were treated to live entertainment. In the evenings you can enjoy a view of the Sunshine Skyway bridge illuminated. About 2o minutes from downtown and the beaches, it is very convenient without paying a surcharge. Two pools on well landscaped grounds, it is an older Hotel, used to be a Holiday Inn, but well maintained.
We were given a room with a Bayside view, without having to pay extra. When we looked out the window it felt like we were on a cruise, so close to the water. Decent restaurant but limited menu. Only ate breakfast there. It was convieniet to drive downtown or to the beaches for greater choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 300 section. that is the detached unit on the bay/marina. These have best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimpare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove. We do have a beautiful property here. We are so happy you enjoyed it. The view of the Skyway Bridge is incredible. Also the sunrises are so magnificent. Come back and see us all soon! We enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent a week at this resort and in October it was verrryyyyy quiet. There were more staff than guests. The rooms are dated as well as the tv..... No flat screens. The channel selection is poor too .. The staff is very nice and the food good. The grounds were very nice and manicured. Two pools, jacuzzi, shuffle board, game room, fitness center and outdoor bar. There was the smell of the seaweed that washes up each morning but having read the previous reviews I was prepared....I brought lavender oil and put it on Kleenex around the room.. It was very relaxing.. But beds are hard hard hard and pillows are lumpy from being laundered so much... Still good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We hope you get to come back and visit us soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Overall it was a great stay! Everyone was so friendly. The location is VERY convenient to everything! We went to a concert at the amphitheater, visited friends in Treasure Island and spent a day in Pass a Grille. Location is prime for all that you could want to do!

Service - friendly, quick check in. Full of information on places to go and things to do. They answered all of our question and gave great directions!

Property - two pools and a hot tub. Well maintained with lots of chairs. Beachfront on the bay along with a great walkway around the property. Lots of little spots to stop and relax. The views are amazing! The property is older but well cared for. There are many scenic spots to stop and relax.

Room - the rooms were clean and spacious. We upgraded to a bay front room. It was clean and had alot of room to move around. We had amazing sunrises that you could see from bed!! The outside area had little benches, lounge chairs and tables/chairs to spend time enjoying the outdoors. There was a fridge, microwave and coffepot that were all in great working order.

Food and drinks - the dining was really good - super breakfast!! There is an onsite bar that is right on the bay. Good music, laughter and fun time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room on the bay if you can! It is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We have a beautiful property here at the Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove. We are all so happy you enjoyed it. It's very relaxing and tranquil. Our guests have had the pleasure of seeing manatees and dolphins in our marina! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I spent two weeks at this hotel-August and I will never go back. There was a huge cockroach in my first suite; I told the front desk at 8am and when I returned to the room 2 hours later the very large cockroach was still walking around my shower. The front desk staff moved me to a new suite (for people with disabilities, which I told them I am not disabled) and after one night a large cockroach was again in my bathroom. This place smells like rotten eggs (sulfer) most of the time. Also, the food here was absolutely horrible; the wings were thick with batter and the grilled cheese was more like plastic cheese. I am not a fussy traveler and I have visited Mexico and Cuba many times with no cockroaches and excellent food. I absolutely do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennymclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience in Florida. We dislike Palmetto Bugs as much as you do. These insects do not like living indoors but can indeed fly into rooms as doors are opened. We have asked our pest control to treat the outside area so that we can discourage a repeat visit. Our Canadian visitors are always intrigued by the various differences nature throws at Floridians.

Our chicken wings are always served "naked" (without batter). We purchase some of the meatiest wings available. These have become a favorite of locals and tourists alike. If you had batter on your wings, they were not prepared or served here.

Florida is a great place to visit and live. Being positioned right on Tampa Bay and occasionally having to deal with the smell of seaweed is challenging and beautiful, all at the same time.

Thanks again for your comments and allowing us an opportunity to reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
4.1 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
1.4 mi away
Flamingo Resort
Flamingo Resort
#31 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Property: Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Ln S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4901 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing