We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the best ribs I have had”

Fred Fleming's Famous Barbeque
Ranked #396 of 894 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1,182 reviews
956 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Some of the best ribs I have had”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We decided on a takeout order from this place based on a recommendation. The ribs were amazing--everyone loved them. They were tasty and the meat so tender and almost fell off the bone even though they were a dry rub. The sauces---you have several choices---were spectacular. The sides were good as well--macaroni cheese, cole slaw, potato salad, barbecue beans. This will be our go to place for barbecue in St. Pete. Next time we will try the pulled pork and pulled chicken. There are a few tables for sit down eating. The staff is very helpful and accommodating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
227 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Voted Best BBQ in World 2Xs”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Great place So glad they are back. Do not confuse vFred's with the place across the street. Nw corner of 4th st and 44th Ave n. a must for B BQ

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
265 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

When this was across the street (now Lucky B's) it was really good. They retrofitted this old bar, but it is small, cramped and just not as good as it was in the bigger place. Price seems to have gone up too

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Pete FL
Level Contributor
162 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Average White BBQ”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I've read the past reviews and I am dumbfounded by the high praises. Do you people not know about good SOUTHERN BBQ? This is definitely not southern bbq as one reviewer put it. I choked when i read that. Anyways...The son is nice and took it over after his dad passed. Definitely cutting corners here nowadays. The only things good here were the meats....brisket and pulled pork. Good, but not Great. The sandwich buns were too dense for my liking.
The mac-n-cheese was delicious ONLY because its Stouffer's brand. Coleslaw wasn't pre-made...i hope. Canned apples, canned green beans and i'm assuming canned beans. No collards or cornbread sadly. Nor anything fried. I'm sure their smoked sausage would be/ is Hillshire kielbasa. Ugh. This is no way, by any means great bbq. You can do the same at your house or maybe even a bit better if you have any inkling on how to cook.
The wings are smoked, so when they came out to the table the skin was soggy and drenched in sauce. Tender but the fatty soggy skin kinda makes me regret eating them. Blue cheese dressing was bottled Kens. ugh.
All sauces were decent, but was hoping the sassy bbq was a bit hotter.
The rootbeer was labeled as if it were their own....very tasty...bubbly and crisp! I would recommend getting that to drink.
If anything, if they want to survive...they need to put more pride and time into the food and make more things homemade!
True bbq is still best made by dem folks!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MustLoveCats03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“AMAZING. And I'm VERY picky!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Fled Flemings is absoloutely amazing. My kinda restaurant! Everything about them is perfect, and I would especially recommend their pork sandwhiches!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fred Fleming's Famous Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Fred Fleming's Famous Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing