We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Price .. Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
444 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good Price .. Good Hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We always try to stay at Hampton. But the really downtown one was just a bit more than we wanted to pay. This Hampton was just a couple of miles from downtown, a little closer to the beaches, and was very clean and nice. The rooms were good sized, they were quiet, and we got a good sleep both nights we were there. We ate at restaurants in St Pete on the gulf,so the location of the hotel meant that it was easier to drive there. But it only took 10-12 minutes to drive back downtown, so it seemed pretty ideal to us. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    201
    120
    56
    43
See reviews for
231
216
45
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

Oh boy...this was NOT good. The neighborhood is scary. Be sure to lock your car and bring in all your belongings. The staff was wonderful. They were so nice and polite. I think we are just accustomed to a different class of hotel. This hotel appears to be old and tired. The elevator and hallways were dirty. My husband made the mistake of walking in the room barefoot and he said the carpet was 'sticky'. I wouldn't take my shoes off after that so I have no clue. The room smelled musty and we think there may have been some water damage at some point. The ceiling looked like it had a bad repair done in the past. We were so uncomfortable with the cleanliness and location that we called another hotel in the area and actually moved. I've never had to do hat before. This is NOT the typical Hampton.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fireflyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srewy, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
The carpet in all guest rooms and in all guest public spaces is 5 months old. The carpet may seem dirty, but I acn assure you it's not . The design is a light color on one side and a dark color on the other side. Our carpet is new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
232 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I agree with the other recent reviews. I travel weekly for work and mostly stay at Hamptons. I booked a King Study which are normally pretty spacious rooms. Well this one was a standard size room with a desk that was about 6 inches larger than normal. In that king "study" the desk chair was wooden with no wheels...like a small dining chair. The room was smaller even than most Hmapton's regular rooms. The room had a sofa, but if there was a bed in there you wanted to use, I doubt you could have unfolded it to fit in the room. The furniture was outdated and the hall carpeting just awful. While I didn't use it, the pool area looked very pretty though it is on the main road.

Now the area. I am a woman travelling alone for work. So I become a bit wary when what I see from my hotel room directly across the street in big neon letters is sign that glows "pawn shop". I did not feel comfortable driving alone even through this area at night ( and of course night is now 6PM in the summer) to get dinner. Yes there is stuff nearby, like a Wendy's next to the pawn shop, but I did not feel comfortable going to those places alone.

The breakfast was good except this is the only Hampton I have ever seen that did not offer Robust Coffee in the urns. They did have the baked cookies in the evening, and the "to go" brown bag breakfast.

I was scheduled to stay 3 nights, but checked out after one.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendmehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srewy, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Petersburg, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and I regret your disappointment. We are remolding our guest room decor and lobby. We will take your feedback into consideration as we improve our property look. Please let us know if you have any other comments or suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed here on November 17 and it was the third time I've stayed at this property. Unfortunately things seem to have gone down hill a bit since my last visit. The room had a distinct odor of bug spray (better than bugs) and the shower didn't appear to have been cleaned last couple of go arounds. There was mildew in the shower, hair everywhere and the curtain was pretty dirty. The headboard also had chunks of wood gouged out of it. BUT, as always the staff was very friendly and they graciously allowed the runners a later check-out. Might try the other Hampton next time though.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rlpkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

I travel for work every week and regularly stay at Hampton Inns. The property unfortunately is not up to the average standards of Hilton. I checked in, the lobby staff were friendly but there was this overwhelming smell of floor cleaner that was over powering. I went to my room, #211 and was disgusted. There was food crumbs all over the floor, looked as if it had not been vacuumed in some time. The window had this film on it that you could not see out off, windex, not a dificult concept. Also the bathrom had mold on both the ceiling and in the shower. I did not feel comfortable even sitting down on the bed because of little black specks on the duvet. I immediately called Hilton to change my reservations. I left after less than an hour, that is how bad this property was. The whole place was extremely dated and aged as well as not maintained. Would only suggest staying here if all other hotels are booked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
319 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have stayed here before & will stay here again. This is a very nice hotel. The staff, from Kim, Melissa & Jessica at the front desk to Nancy who looks after the breakfast room, all are very friendly, out going & helpful. The breakfast has quite a variety of items: 2 or 3 hot items that vary daily, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, apples, oranges, bananas to name some.

The rooms are very spacious, clean & comfortable. The pool area is very nice & spacious with many lounges for sun seekers.

Room Tip: This hotel is on US19 so you might want to keep this in mind when choosing your room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onehappyretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
2.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#27 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Petersburg

Property: Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Address: 1200 34th St North, St. Petersburg, FL 33713-5434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#13 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Petersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing