We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is - which isn't saying much”
Review of Flamingo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked an overnight room at Flamingo Resort in St. Petersburg. We’d stayed at the Flamingo once before but it had been a least a couple years back. They have a directly web-based reservation system and the room rates are quite reasonable ($69), but as the old adage goes “you get what you pay for”, and boy does it apply here!

As requested, we were issued a king room (#173) on the ground floor, facing away from the pool, unfortunately this room was nothing short of disgusting and let me tell you why: The stale musty smell hit you in the face the moment the door opened. The carpet, which had to be 10+ years old, was so stained and so horrifically filthy that it was difficult to determine what color it was; clearly it hadn't been cleaned, or even swept, in quite some time. We had a can of Lysol spray in our car and although we emptied it into the room, the smell was just too much for it. The toilet paper was on the floor since the bathroom didn't have a function dispenser and the two room towels were extremely thin, they felt like sandpaper. We put our bags on the bed and walked to the pool bar for a drink. While we sat there we were able to watch the cleaning folks “clean” 4 rooms within a short distance of our table. What we found interesting (but not surprising) was that they didn't have a sweeper or broom on their cart.

Completely disenchanted at this point, we walked back to our pre-paid room only to watch a couple cockroaches scramble when we walked in. That was it, we packed our bags and made a reservation down the road. We did stop into the front desk and told them in a polite way why we couldn't stay as planned and the gal behind the desk said, “thank you so much” – she couldn't of care less.

Flamingo, it is what it is, but that’s not much. Enjoy the night life it offers but we strongly recommend spending a couple bucks more to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Flamingo, it is what it is, but that’s not much. Enjoy the night life it offers but we strongly rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CAMellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was unsure when I read the reviews for this resort, but decided to go anyway. I was pleased with the experience. The rooms may need updating, but mine was clean and good sized, overlooked the pool. I was concerned about the music being too loud, but found it to be acceptable and not really a bother, slept well. The staff was great, anything that was asked was taken care of. Hanging out at the bars turned out to be a good time, closed the one bar down a couple of times just hanging out and talking, there was really no attitude, employees and guests were all talking, even thought they were doing rounds or looking into other issues, they always took time to chat if approached. I felt comfortable from the beginning. Thanks to all for a great week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffery T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle C, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thanks for your feedback, we're glad you had a good time. Plans are in progress for remodeling our rooms. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great staff, clean room, and overall a fun time! It's really an entertainment complex than just a hotel, there's bars and night clubs on the property, a performance space, and they have DJs playing music poolside on the weekends where a lot of the locals come to dance.

Room Tip: If you stay during a weekend and you want quiet in your room during the day, request an outside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle C, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you Jason! We all enjoyed having you come up and stay with us. You are an amazing DJ and we look forward to having you come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Totally had a blast last weekend at Flamingo for their 'Hot Leather Weekend.' The Social Area hosted by the Tampa Leather Club was awesome on Friday & Sat. nights and the water maze on Sat. and dunk tank on Sun were a lot of fun. The Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence were there all weekend and dunking them on Sun was a hoot! As always, the tea dance was a blast with an amazing DJ! The staff was friendly and it was also great that they got in the dunk tank for some fun too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brenda_Cothern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle C, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

So glad to hear you had a great time! The dunk tank was a blast, it was something different and we will definitely be bringing it back. We look forward to having you guys back in September!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A great concept but needs to have more detail to become successful. On July 4, my partner and I decided to spend the weekend at the hotel. We arrived early and the reception told us we can enjoy the pool. Actually, anyone can enjoy the pool without being a guest or paying a day pass - this is a plus. Our room smelled terrible. The keys didn't work. Had to walk twice to the front desk to get new keys. Our room telephone never worked and was never repaired after numerous request. Room carpet was filthy and the room needs a a complete overhaul. Housekeeping forgot to clean our room and at 6 pm had to walk to the reception area to have someone send us towels. We waited 35 minutes to be acknowledged at the restaurant before we got menus. Then it took 40 minutes to get our food. The hotel advertised a BBQ on Saturday July 5th - never happened. We asked several employees and they didn't know anything about the BBQ that was advertised on the website. I will not return nor do I recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex19652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle C, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for voicing your concerns, we value your feed back and are diligently making progress in all fields. We understand our locks are outdated and the keys get demagnetized easily and were working on bringing in all new locks. We are also working on remodeling all of our room and taking out the carpets. We have brought in a new housekeeping team to assure that you are serviced and the rooms stay clean. We are in the process of bringing in a new food and beverage manager who will improve, not only the quality of our food, but also train our serving staff to better serve our guests. We have hired a new marketing manager so mistakes like that won't happen again. We hope you can return in the future to see the improvements we are in the process in making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Fun place, Sunday T-dances are always a good time! Food is so-so, nothing great, rooms are a bit sketchy! They are really dated and dirty. Fun place to go for drinks/dancing but I would stay someplace else. Watch your tab/bill though...we are over charged more often than not. They need to get rid of the gross carpet, old TVs and full size beds. Updates updates updates needed if they want to compete with other places and become a full resort and not just a club.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle C, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your input. We have brought in a new chef that will be expanding our menu and bringing in more desirable food. We are in the process of updating all of our rooms in order to make them more contemporary and also help with the cleanliness. We have also upgraded our POS system which will help streamline our credit card system and eliminate guests from being over charged. These changes will help us become more than just a club but a complete resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I don't know where to start. Ok, the room, our room was disgusting, blood stains on sheets, walked on carpet and turned souls of my feet black. Carpet had mashed in stains an d debri. Food in drawers from last person and used condoms under bed which got my briefcase filthy from dirt and dust. Felt very unsafe late at night as strangers roaming the halls peeping in rooms. Food was ok but servers acted as if they had better places to be. Bartenders over pour, are rude and worst of all us being in the bar business was stealing right in front of us. Front desk was unorganized and improperly trained to handle guest or situations. We had a stranger open our door and three am and inform us we were in his room after we were in there for two days. Front desk just brushed it off and told us we were suppose to have checked out. Showed my paperwork where we prepaid for 5 days at which point they said so sorry. What kind of Mickey mouse operation is this place. Bathrooms were disgusting and you could not use them without some loser trying to proposition you or leer at you. Vending machines took our money, ice machines didn't work and there were flies n some liquor bottles. Beware of this place.

Room Tip: My tip would be to go to Georgie's alibi and only attent tea dance at flamingo. Drink from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle C, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We have already began the process of updating all of our rooms. We have also brought in new management that will be able to supervise our housekeeping staff and inspect all rooms before they are rented out. We are in the process of hiring a new food and beverage manager that will supervise our servers and bar staff alleviating the poor service and theft. We are improving all aspects of our resort, including the new vending machines we now have. Please continue to come in and see our progress as we upgrade Flamingo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
4.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Hotel
Crystal Bay Hotel
#15 of 43 in St. Petersburg
63 reviews
4.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
199 reviews
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 43 in St. Petersburg
790 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,796 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4552
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO LGBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEX. Just minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 128 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill, 9 On-Site Shops, 6 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Glo Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo Main Bar Night Club, complete with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Blu Theater Players Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest LGBT Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering daily entertainment, great food & drinks, and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one priority. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends, make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg
Flamingo Resort St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing