We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Curb the Over-Hyped Reviews, Please"”
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Indianola, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Curb the Over-Hyped Reviews, Please"”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Factually, this hotel is run by a delightful couple who live on site, but that does not account for the gushing exuberance of many reviews. "Grubby, threadbare, and worn" describe the abused furniture, carpets, and well-aged bathrooms, although the bedding and linens were clean. Breakfast is cello-wrapped, convenience-store-quality bagels/muffins and boxed cereal with bananas. The hotel is quiet and felt safe. Just check your expectations of a magical gem of a B&B and expect instead a homely, serviceable, much-used, quirky Floridian hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluegrassBayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your honest review. Of course we are excited to receive so many great reviews but we welcome honest criticism as well. With this said, we'd like to take the opportunity to respond to your comments:

Our breakfast selection is limited to prepackaged items due to licensing regulations by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation. In order to serve items without the packaging we would be required to have a commercial grade kitchen and unfortunately we do not have the facilities to accommodate one. All of our items offered are brand names, such as Kellogg's Cereal, Sarah Lee Bagels, Quaker Oatmeals, Philadelphia Cream Cheese, teas by Lipton, muffins and danish by Otis Spunkmeyer, etc.. We believe we serve a nice selection, considering it being a continental breakfast.

To touch on a few other things in your review: We are continually working on improving our inn. A big project is taken up every summer during the slow season; a new exterior paint job as well as the newest technology door locks in 2012, new guest room carpeting in 2011, lobby renovations in 2010 etc. and our hallways are scheduled to be redone the Summer of 2013.

We are aware that a few of our antique furnishings are in need of some tender love and care. Brian refinishes individual pieces as our schedule here at the inn allows. We do not want to buy run of the mill box furniture store pieces to replace something antique with great potential because of some discoloration and scratches to the surface areas, as this would take away from the unique character of our inn.

Last but not least, we have received so many wonderful reviews simply because of the great service and uniqueness of our inn and gained many return customers over the years because of who we are: a 2-star inn with plenty of charm and innkeepers who care.

We do thank you for staying with us, for your time reviewing our inn and wish you happy travels in the future!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    176
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
92
296
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I just want to add another voice to the abundance of positive reviews on this hotel. We spent three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owners are friendly and very helpful, the place and rooms are charming and it is close to everything downtown.

I would highly recommend Americas Best Inn in St Pete, I would imagine we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you, thank you, and thank you again! We appreciate your review so very much and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to St. Pete.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I chose this place based upon the very positive reviews on TripAdvisor and being #1 under best values and it did not disappoint. It definitely looks more of an Inn than a hotel. Very convenient location to downtown, easy walking distance. Nice breakfast variety and friendly wine or beer complimentary in the evening. Very nice owners. Excellent pick.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Another wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time for this write up, it is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to our inn in the future, until then we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My friends say that i'm a bit of a hotel snob. I love good deals, clean rooms, and great customer service. I found all that and more at Americas Best Inn. Not your typical chain hotel or B & B, but in a class all of it's own. Although we live close by in Sarasota, my husband and I love visiting St. Pete, and now that we have discovered this hidden gem, we look forward to many more trips. Spent the evening drinking wine and talking to guests in the living room/lobby and actually met the mother of a dear friend of my son from France! Such a small world and an incredible home like feeling here! Thanks again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. As always we are happy to hear from our guest, especially if they enjoyed their stay with us as much as you have. Come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel is a welcome change if you are used to using chain hotels. The owners live on site and are there to greet you on arrival and there is a friendly atmosphere throughout. The rooms are comfortable and include all amenities including Wifi. The hotel is in a central location with restaurants and shopping within easy and safe walking distance. A supermarket is about 4 blocks away as is the "corniche" up to the pier where there are ample restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaydad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we'll get to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a very relaxing stay with a large group of friends. Really gives you the B&B experience in a big city. The owners were fantastic, and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. They also took special care to get to know the group and provide recommendations as the weekend went on.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eightonesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your sweet review! We enjoyed having you all and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to St. Pete.

All the best!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was my second time staying at the inn. The owners, Brian and Stephanie, live on site and are most gracious hosts. The inside is charming and Victorian.

The rooms are small, but perfect. They are simple, efficient and spotlessly clean. The hotel is centrally located in a nice neighborhood (surrounded by churches), only a few blocks from Publix grocery store and about 1.5 miles from Tropicana Field.

Brian took care of calling us a taxi to ride to the baseball game - he made it effortless for us. We rode the free baseball shuttle back to 2nd St., only about 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

Breakfast is decent with coffee, juice, milk, fruit, cereals and pastries. It's nice to sit out on the front patio with coffee in hand and feel the cool morning seabreeze and watch sunrise.

The best part is the value of this hotel. Less than $100/night smack in the middle of St. Pete with spotless rooms and wonderful owners. Give it a try -- you will come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FL_Adrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
You are a sweetheart! Thank you for adding your wonderful review here on tripadvisor. It was a pleasure welcoming you back and having your uncle experience his very first baseball game ever. Yes, it was a loss for our Rays, but it made your uncles first game so much more exciting as "his" team, the A's, won. I am all for a great experience, so the Rays loss that night didn't hurt as much. We'll see you in the fall!

All the best!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#24 of 42 in St. Petersburg
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 20 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Social, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn
The Inn On Third St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing