We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Third

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Inn on Third
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The two owners welcomed us with big smiles. They offered a glass of wine or a beer that they called happy hours. They make you feel at home.
The hotel is very cute and the rooms just the right sizes and clean. If you need to find a place to eat, they got a book of recommendations with menus of restaurants that are near. Its very well located (near central ave)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you very much for your very nice review. You enjoyed your stay with us, which shows us all the work and passion we put into our inn is well worth it.
We hope to welcome you back soon, until then we wish you all the best!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn ~ Downtown St. Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    174
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
89
280
44
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

i selected this place on the internet due to needing an inexpensive place to stay after a concert. this place by far fulfilled that need and more!! the place was not only inexpensive, but friendly, comfortable, clean, quaint, family-oriented, and great location to walk to downtown st. pete and bay area. the family greeted us at the door and provided us with wine for evening happy hour and nice selection of continental breakfast items in the morning. i highly recommend staying here!!

Room Tip: room choice would probably be based on bed size. it is an older building so sleeping can be slightly...
See more room tips
Green Features: there is a sign posted in the bathroom about conserving use of towels and washing detergent/water use. furniture appears to be finished antiques and holiday decorations were made by the family (children). simple, low energy use (no elevator).
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank militabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Greetings to you and thank you for your awesome review of our inn! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It has certainly been a pleasure welcoming you to our inn and hopefully we get the chance to welcome you back soon.

All the best to you and Happy Travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn ~ Downtown St. Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed here with a girlfriend for one night while in town for a concert at Jannus Live. When we arrived we were shocked that Brian was there waiting to open the door for us, while Stephanie waited at check-in with a friendly smile. We were instantly comfortable! Check-in was effortless. The owners live on the premises and told us that any time of night or day they would be there for our needs. We were informed that there was a happy hour (two hours, actually!) with one complimentary glass of wine, and $2 for each additional glass. And free Wifi (which we did not use). The antique furniture here had me swooning, and this has the feel of a historic inn (don't know if it actually is!) The room was very clean and was the perfect size for us (two twin beds for two single women for one night) and the AC was more than adequate. The room also had a fridge and television. We went to happy hour and had our free wine, plus plenty of extra $2 drinks before heading out to the show. The venue is a super easy walk from the inn, and we felt safe and comfortable the entire time. The price was right, and the owners (and their adorable children) made it that much more special. Would love to stay here again! No pool or fitness center, but we didn't want or need that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffodillymeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you, thank you for your wonderful review! Our response is long overdue, but we've been super busy, which is good. Today I will play catch-up with all the reviews we haven't responded to since the late fall.
With this said, we are so very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. The inn is indeed historic, built back in 1937. A few things are still original, such as the tile floors in the bathroom and the bath tubs as well. Happy Hour in the evening is a perk everyone seems to enjoy to the fullest. It presents a great opportunity to meet and mingle with the other guest.

Once more, a heartfelt thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us this past fall.

Happy Travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had never been to St Pete and the need for a layover before a long flight back to Asia presented an opportunity to visit the city whose many attractions include the Dali Museum. That and some terrific restaurants. I came across this hotel while trolling for places to stay that were downtown and close to attractions without the need to driver. America's Best Inn met all the criteria. The bonus was that it was a family run hotel, something rare these days. It's a bit like dining at owner operated restaurants; they are often a cut better than the others. We were greeted by Stephanie and her able assistant, little Nina. I had been staying at various chain hotels on this trip and there is nothing wrong with them. But a personal and relaxed greeting on arrival is a little special. The lobby and breakfast room looked homely, the room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great and happy hour in the evening we thought was a great idea (even if we missed it as we were dining out at an excellent nearby restaurant). I plan to spend a little more time in St Pete and I will definitely return to this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Only two floors at this hotel so ask for a ground floor room if you don't like climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddykhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Wow, thank you so very, very much for your wonderful review! We all, including Nina, are happy to hear you enjoyed your brief stay at our inn so much. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again on your next trip to Florida!

Wishing you all the best and happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Historic Inn updated; lobby is cozy and atmosphere is friendly. Nice rooms with fridge, wifi, breakfast, and Happy Hour wine. Personal touch with friendly owners. Good location and reasonable pricing. A really great value in a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florala98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate you choosing to stay at our inn and your time in writing the review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The first thing this hotel's owners tell you is "The rooms are small." They're right. But those rooms are also super-clean and comfortable, and the facility is run with pride and friendly personal service. We were in St. Pete to attend a Tampa Bay Rays game. The next morning, we had a (complimentary) breakfast with fans from both teams, and the hotel's young owners joined us for a fun conversation about the game. We weren't there at cocktail time, but they also offer guests a free glass of beer or wine to start cocktail hour. It's not fancy, but this hotel is a unique facility for people looking for a clean, inexpensive place to call home in the nicest section of St. Petersburg.

Room Tip: There are two floors and no elevator. If you have mobility issues, you might want to ask for the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertB768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of our inn! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Yes, our rooms are small, and we will always be honest about this. But like you said, we believe we make up for it with wonderful service, clean and cozy rooms and a boat load of great atmosphere! Hopefully we will get to welcome you back next season or even sooner, as St. Petersburg has many great events happening over the fall and winter, too.

Wishing you all the best!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very European feel, friendly environment, clean and comfortable. Staying again for another visit. We love all these things, better then swank and impersonal. Keep up the good work. They offered a nice continental breakfast and in the evening wine, but unfortunately we were always out during their "happy hour". Room had small refrigerator that was helpful.

Room Tip: If you are older and have difficulty with stairs, request 1st floor. Close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012bjb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Greetings to Texas and thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear that our inn was just what you were looking for and you therefore had an enjoyable stay in St. Pete. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.
Until then we wish you all the best!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important information: Starting mid July 2015, our hotel will be called "The Inn On Third". It will be the same owners and innkeepers as the last 10 years, so you can expect the same great service and hospitality as in the past. We look forward to welcoming you! Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 Minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn
The Inn On Third St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing