We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old-school in St Pete”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old-school in St Pete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Make no mistake: this is no modern hotel. But if you're looking to get away from the cookie-cutter experience of staying in a faceless, corporate-designed monolith, you might really like this place. Right at the edge of downtown St Pete and (at least while we there) very peaceful inside and out. As you'd expect from a vintage hotel, the rooms are small, but we felt cozy and homey. Personal attention from the onsite owners sets this place apart.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Greetings from sunny St. Pete! Thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your visit to St. Pete as well as taking the time for this write up. Come visit us again soon! Until then we wish you happy travels.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    174
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
90
285
44
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Jacob and I always stay at America's Best Inn when we visit St. Pete, about every two months. When there have been no rooms available, we have changed our travel dates rather than stay anywhere else. Brian and Stephanie have become family to us, and the Inn, our second home. An essential part of the St. Petersburg experience, you will not find a warmer reception, a lovelier place to relax in, nor a more genuine couple than our hosts. A stay at America's Best Inn is my personal pick for the number one spot in "The Top 50 Things To Do in St. Petersburg". See you in a couple of weeks, guys! Karen King

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chabadgirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Sweet, sweet Karen, thank you so very much for your beautiful review! The pleasure is always ours, welcoming you to our inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon until then take care of yourself and tell Jacob we said hello!

Stephanie & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

And all of this for the right price. If you're looking for a very friendly, clean and accommodating bed and breakfast feel, this is your place! Brian and Stephanie went out of their way to not only ensure our stay was a great experience but they went out of their way for the guests we had visiting as well. The Inn is very quiet yet there is an opportunity to mingle with other during the continental breakfast (very good) or the happy hour (1st beer or glass of wine on them, one dollar after that). There were a lot of travelers from Europe staying there which led to some very interesting conversations. If you prefer privacy, you have that too. This place is a "must stay" if you are in the St. Pete area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time for this write-up. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Until then we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The owners Brian and Stephanie make you feel right at home the moment you walk in their door! If you're looking for a quaint place to stay right in the heart of the downtown scene you've come to the right place. Thanks for the wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esinclair2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Sunny greetings from St. Pete and thank YOU for the wonderful review! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to St. Pete. Until then we wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kersey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This little inn was charming! It was convenient to the waterfront, restaurants and our destination of Bradenton. Our room was small, but lovely and comfortable - just as described on the website.
The owners were friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. The continental breakfast and the happy hour allowed us time to meet other guests and relax before beginning our busy day and winding down at the end. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-and-Deb-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our inn and your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our inn in the future.

Until then we send you sunny greetings from St. Pete!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This little inn nestled in downtown St. Pete is charming! It is conveniently located just blocks from the waterfront and lots of attractions and activities! We loved that it is in an old building with modern conveniences. The owners are so accommodating and nice. We felt like family right away.They have a snack and wine "Happy Hour" daily and a great little breakfast as well. the prices are a great deal and we loved not being in a big chain hotel. We had a lovely stay and look forward to returning there again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Greetings from St. Pete and a heartfelt thank you for your great review. We appreciate you having chosen to stay with us and for taking the time for this write-up. We too look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in May 2013 and what a welcome we had, it was like going to stay with friends rather than booking into a hotel.

We stayed there as we were going to see the Rays and it was within walking distance. We had a key as we were late back so no problem there.

We were made to feel very welcome and the rooms we had were clean and homely. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hyggehygge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Sunny greetings from St. Pete, FL to the UK! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our inn us last spring and had a great time in St. Petersburg. GO RAYS!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#7 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 20 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Social, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn
The Inn On Third St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing