We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY”
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“GREAT STAY”
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this homey, friendly hotel. Brian and stephanie are wonderlul hosts and guides to the local places to eat and visit. They are most engaging and really, you you feel at home here. Also a nice continental breakfast and wine in the evening. Will definately stay here again when we come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    178
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
93
296
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Flying from the UK to Tampa for some winter sunshine, we wanted to spend the first few days in nearby St Petersburg before embarking on our three week tour of Florida. We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very comfortable, clean and prettily furnished with antiques. Brian and Stephanie are excellent hosts and their two children are sweet. We enjoyed our time in St Pete and the only disappointment with the whole holiday was the weather - where was the winter sunshine? We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

January '09' was such a great stay that we decided to do it again in Jan '10'. Brian and Stephanie even remembered us! We got the same room and slept like dead logs (again). Stephanie even let me flirt with her (10 month old) daughter! We got excellent advice on places to eat, walk, and enjoy the area. Easy walk to church, groceries, library and the Pier. Stephanie handled all the reservation stuff and everything went like a good swiss clock. My wife says Brian is a Florida hunk (what is that?). What an outstanding couple. Somehow they improved on the weather and the Vikings beat Dallas. We should have stayed another week, and the Vikings would have won at NO. Oh well; we heartely recommend this Inn and plan on being there next January.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Long story short, Brian is the man. He was very very accomidating, he helped us with directions, helped us with our room and we even had our car die and he said he would wait for AAA for us while we went and ate.

The guy was so damn nice I wanted to hug him, I think he would of played cards with us if we asked him to.

He had a happy hour going durring the day to watch football with free drinks/snacks and he even stayed to hang out with the guests.

I have never been treated so well at a hotel, this guy is almost like another friend on a trip. I cannot speak highly enough about Brian the owner and his hot german wife (sorry Brian).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILD0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2009

The owners of the lovely hotel really do care to make the stay a pleasant one for their guests. The rooms are clean and charming and the owners are nice and helpful. They really know their city and can give great advise on where to go for fun or great food. The famous St. Pete pier, the waterfront, and great shopping are also near by.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We stayed here before in 2006 for over a week when we were in town to get married on and they were absolutely lovely then. We had such a brilliant time staying with them that we were thrilled when they told us they could offer us the same room we had for our honeymoon! They were such friendly hosts that we we felt like we were part of the family and rarely wanted to leave. They had loads of great ideas on places to visit and things to see that we were always busy! And being able to come back in the evening and share a glass of wine with them was a perfect way to kick off the night. We'll definitely be staying again and look forward to many repeat visits.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unicornfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Brian and Stephanie were wonderful hosts! They made us feel right at home and went the extra mile in service. The rooms were a little small, but were adequate and quiet. The breakfast and evening snacks were greatly appreciated. The location is great, we walked around town some and ate at several restaurants nearby. We will definitely stay there again with our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 41 in St. Petersburg
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#24 of 41 in St. Petersburg
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 20 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Social, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn
The Inn On Third St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing