We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat Winner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Repeat Winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

If we don't like a restaurant, theater, hotel, inn, whatever - we don't return. This was our 3rd trip to the ABI in St. Pete. Brian and Stephanie are wonderful hosts; Inn is central to St. Pete and we can walk everywhere. Our main suggestion to others "If you want something, ask!". Extra blanket, extra chair, more coffee, use a laptop, need some info, ASK! They are wonderfully responsive and helpful. Ate well, slept well, had fun.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    174
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
89
280
44
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

This was a very reasonably priced hotel close to the CBD of St Petersburg - and only a short walk to a number of reasonable restaurants and bars. The owner of the hotel was very hospitable, and gave us a number of suggestions on things to do. The hotel itself is a bit dated, but this added to the homely feel, and both the room and bathroom were clean. The rate included a complimentary continental breakfast, and free WiFi and parking was also provided.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for your honest review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our inn. Yes, it is a bit dated here and there, but we are constantly updating, painting, redecorating etc. while trying to keep the old charm and feel of the inn. This is what we are and strive to continue to be: an affordable escape from the run of the mill, cookie-cutter hotels which there are so many of. We hope to see you again on your next trip to St. Pete. Until then we wish you all the best and happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples, fl
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

If you want to be warmly welcomed and have help with all your requests and needs and problems, no matter what they are, make your reservation today.

If you read the reviews, you'll hear that the rooms are small. Well, mine was just fine. Room for a very comfortable queen bed, a large dresser, desk and chair and rocking chair, mini-fridge and two bedside tables. Everything was spotlessly clean and fresh.

I can't say anything nice enough about Brian and Stephanie. Nothing was too much trouble and they were endlessly helpful. They make their guests feel like part of the family.

If you're going to St. Petersburg, you will find this hotel a great home away from home, and I do mean HOME.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review and I do apologize for taking so long to respond!
You obviously enjoyed your time with us and it goes without saying that we look forward to welcoming you back to St. Pete. The fact that you felt at home tells us that we are doing things right. We strive to make our inn a home away from home for every guest and enjoy what we are doing.

Sincerely,
Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dry Tortugas National Park, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

My fiancee and I were in town for a Better Than Ezra concert at Jannus Landing. We were very pleased with our stay here. Awesome location right downtown St. Pete. Can't beat the free parking, and you can walk to everything. Brian and Stephanie do an awesome job keeping this place up. They are very knowledgeable about the area. We're glad we stayed here and I doubt we could have had as good of a time had we stayed anywhere else. We will definatley be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deep_South_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed here to reduce the cost of our overall trip of 2 and half weeks in the states. We splashed out on expensive resorts and a couple of times stayed in a cheaper hotel for a few days to bring down the overall cost of the trip.
So the B&B on first impressions when you come in is a lovely old antique type building. Greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful landlord. The room we got was small but was expected. Bathroom tiny but had all we needed.
Breakfast was cheaply done so we used to get our own fresh fruit and use their yogurts.
St Petes itself I didn’t think had a whole lot to offer. But we used it as a base to go to Ellenton Premium outlets, Tampa and Clearwater. If coming here specifically to see St Pete’s I’d say keep going.
So overall hotel was grand but wouldn’t have me rushing back.
Also on our last day, room wasn’t serviced. But think it was an honest mistake and we got fresh towels from them when we got back anyway.
Bed was soft but surprisingly we slept fine on it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us!
We do appologize that your guest room wasn't serviced on one occasion and agree that it must have been an oversight on our part.

Concerning our continental breakfast buffet, it is considered an extendend cont. breakfast with many more items offered than typical (such as bagels, waffles and juice, just to name a few). Mostly throughout the US a continental breakfast consists of bread, jelly, maybe some patries and coffee -that's it.

St. Petersburg itself has lots of sights to offer: world class museums such as the Salvador Dali and Museum of Fine Arts, The Chihuly Collection, many great art galleries, Sunken Gardens (a beautiful botanical Garden), many wonderful waterfront parks with cafes, unique shops, the Downtown Trolley tour etc.. St. Petersburg is not famous for amusement parks and shopping - we'll leave that to Orlando, but offers it's own unique experiences for visitors to discover.

Enjoy your future travels and maybe one day we will have the chance to welcome you back to our inn!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn ~ Downtown St. Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying in this gem over the weekend. From the friendly, informative and down home staff, to the art and book filled hallways; I felt that I was staying at a sophisticated aunt's home. The rooms were cozy, clean and very comfortable and the hotel (or Bed & Breakfast?) is in a very convenient part of town. I can't wait until the new Dali Museum is opened in January next year, we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arisphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Thank you so much for your positve review on Tripadvisor.com!
We greatly appreciate the time and effort it took and are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much!
Brian and I are looking forward to wecoming you back soon - maybe for the grand opening of the new DALI Museum?

Have a wonderful fall and Happy Halloween!

Stephanie Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Hotel owners brilliant-informative and attentive. Relaxed atmosphere. Able to walk to all sites and restaurants. DEfinitely deserves previous good reviews and would stop again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1961-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important information: Starting mid July 2015, our hotel will be called "The Inn On Third". It will be the same owners and innkeepers as the last 10 years, so you can expect the same great service and hospitality as in the past. We look forward to welcoming you! Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 Minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn
The Inn On Third St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing