We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a 6 week stay - the good and bad”
Review of Coral Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Reef Resort
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“After a 6 week stay - the good and bad”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have been staying at the Coral Reef Beach Resort for over the past decade. We recently finished a 6 week stay and would like to comment from an interval (time-share) owner`s perspective.

The Bad

The Coral Reef is not an exclusive time-share complex and rents rooms as a hotel. During our stay, on three separate evenings our family were required to approach “hotel guests” after 3:00 am to quiet down. The reason for this, security staff for the Coral Reef ends at 2:00 am. On two of these occasions, the room was filled with high school students who were drinking under-age and with no adult supervision. The worst part was walking out onto the balcony in the morning and seeing/smelling vomit from the late-night escapades.

Nearly everyday for six weeks, people (not guests) were observed driving their cars into the Coral Reef parking lot and then walking to the beach. Numerous times people would jump into the pools or use the hot-tub at the Coral Reef on their return from the beach. The parking lot is seldom monitored by security to restrict parking to registered guests/owners or to check cars that are parked for permits.

On other occasions, non-guests would walk onto the property from the beach and use the pools. A couple of times, families (non-guests) spent 3 - 4 hours using the pool facilities. Being a guest for an extended period of time allows us to state that this was not a one-time occurrence.

WIFI within the Coral Reef Resort is limited and the signal is inconsistent. Often you are required to take your laptop/tablet to the pool to get a solid signal. Your other option is to go to McDonald’s down the street. In 2013 when EVERYONE provides free WIFI, why is it that this resort cannot send a stable signal to all the rooms.

The Good

The location and what the apartments have to offer are the primary reason why we purchased time-shares at the Coral Reef. The resort is directly on the beach and you are within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants, and gift shops. A short drive will take you to several options for shopping. The complex has two pools providing plenty of space for both privacy and groups.

The 1 and 2 bedroom apartments have nearly everything to live comfortably. The kitchen is fully stocked with cookware, utensils, and dishes. The only thing that needs to be upgraded are the televisions, which they have been doing on a need-be basis.

This year we have seen a noticeable improvement in service by all of the staff at the Coral Reef. They are engaging, friendly, and complete their duties with efficiency.

The facility has undergone several upgrades over the past several years that have improve the living experience.

Closing Comments

The fact that non-guests regularly “crashed” the Coral Reef facilities indicates that it is an accepted practice in the community.

We can understand the need to increase revenue through room rentals, but consideration has to be given to the owners who have purchased time-shares and pay substantial yearly maintenance fees. These security/safety problems can easily be fixed with leadership, increased hours/patrols by security on the week-end, and active monitoring of parked cars in the parking to confirm they have a parking permit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank NSRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    65
    40
    15
    18
See reviews for
62
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great location. Condos are a bit out dated and small, but we rented through Redweek.com so we were able to get the condo for 750.00 for a week. It was clean and the location can't be better. We were on the sixth floor with a GREAT view. The only downfall is the elevators are super slow and small. Pool area is nice. If you stay here, be aware that you do not need to buy repalcement toilet paper or wash your towels. There is a daily towel exchange on the third floor. You can also get toilet paper here. They do have a room cleaning service once a week that is included in your stay. Don't stay in the condo next to the elevator. There is a loud motor noise all night long in the bedroom. You think it won't keep you up, but it does! Even still... We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the condo next to the elevators and ask for a bathroom with two sinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJSChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Coral Reef for a week during the first week of April 2013. It was very spacious and clean. Staff were very accommodating. Only complaint is the lack of privacy since the balconies are also the hallways. Lots of activity and lots of children/families. If you don't want kids...don't go there! Cold pool was a great escape since most kids were in the smaller heated pool. Great convenient location. We would certainly return.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLARION IOWA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

dont understand all the comments concerning the pink building,it does not effect the coral reef at all,which we found to be clean,lots of ammenities,courteous staff,and a nice resort,which we would definitely go to again.Cant find anything negative to say about our experience at coral reef.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MARC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Don't let the abandoned pink building in front scare you away. It looks pretty rough from the street, but this is a really nice place. I'm glad we had that warning, as we arrived at 1:00 in the morning, and it was a little creepy until we drove around back. In the daytime, it's not all that bad. The management told us that they hope to have something done with it this year. The lobby is a little hard to find, especially at night, but I called ahead and the guy gave me great directions. Another precaution: the lobby is not open 24 hours, so be sure to check the hours or call ahead if you're not planning to arrive during the day. They can make appropriate arrangements.

This place is beautiful. It's right on the beach, the staff is amazingly friendly, the pools are wonderful and spacious, and the rooms are nice; the one bedroom was a perfect size for 2 people; it might be a bit cozy for four, but they do have a sleeper sofa. I loved having the kitchen, and the dishwasher was a fantastic plus. We had a pool view, but it still had a great view of the ocean. The only thing I would have liked was a private balcony, instead of having people walking in front of the big living room window. But the windows are tinted, so it's not as easy to see in as one might think.

We definitely loved this place, and plan to return. Kind of wish they'd keep the abandoned hotel, only to keep this place our hidden gem. :)

Room Tip: Call ahead if you're not going to arrive during office hours, so that they can make arrangements...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The condo we had was very clean and spacious. We had a two bedroom with two baths. Views of the ocean from shared walkway-balcony, but we did not feel like opening the slider to share our lives with the other guests (spring break partners and smokers. The kitchen had the basics, but not really sufficient for good cooking. It was fine for breakfast, snacks and simple meals. The king bed was a bit hard and left me sore. Small TV with basic cable and HBO, but no channel guide. The complex has nice pool sand hot tubs and access to the beach. There is an ugly pink deserted hotel that adjoins and runs along one side of the complex. Staff was pleasant and friendly, but get what you need during working hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NobskaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a nice place and priced well for what you get but they need to be a little better managed. The rooms are large and updated with granite counters, tile floors, new living room furniture. The 2 bedroom model has 2 full baths and large kitchen and living room and they are great, with great views. No food on site, but you can walk to a few restaurants and beach bars. Best beach in Florida. Pool is heated but the cool pool is not, and its ice cold-but again a good manager could fix this easily.

However, there is not TV's in both bedrooms, the TV in the rooms is from 1985 or earlier, and the place has no wifi unless you drag your electronics and sit at the pool or under the router at the office. Not acceptable for 2013 unfortunatey and sad that you have to go to McDonalds to use your wifi device.

I think with this location, this price and better manager this would be a great hidden value!

Room Tip: Choose a two bedroom on the 3rd or 4th floor for the view, but if a one bedroom choose the gulf fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Resort

Property: Coral Reef Resort
Address: 5800 Gulf Blvd, St. Petersburg, FL 33706-2252
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coral Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Hotel St. Petersburg
Coral Reef Beach Resort
Coral Reef Resort St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing