We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family resort. Great pool and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Reef Resort
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent family resort. Great pool and location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here three nights. We had a two room/ two bath hotel. One room had a king bed and the other room had two twin beds. We also had a foldout couch and had seven people total.

While the price was higher than we wanted, $270 per night, the kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need including a blender, coffee maker, and toaster aside from all silverware and plates.

The room is cleaned every day, the bedding is replaced every other day, and the towels are replaced on the opposite days. This is a timeshare so we understand that the services are not going to be like that of a hotel.

The two biggest disappointments are that the sign is very small and you will most likely drive past the entrance, and the toilet paper is loaded upside down! Aside from that, I have a hard time being disappointed in the property.

There are two pools, one warm and shallow for the kids, and one bigger almost like a lazy river. There are also three hot tubs that are always exceptionally warm.

Should we return to St. Pete's beach, this will be one of the first places that I look to stay upon my return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarriottBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    62
    40
    15
    18
See reviews for
59
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in this resort from March 22, to March 29, 2014. The resort is clean, we had an ocean front room, beautiful view. The room was a one bedroom room with a small kitchen, small living room and dinette and a bathroom, good enough for two people. They come only once a week to change the linens and towels, but you can switch clean towels everyday at the towel service window on the 3rd floor. The sofa chair is a little old and dirty. The resort has a a few hot tubs, and two other pools, one was heated. The downside is that there is nothing to do except pool and beach, unfortunately we had bad weather, so the beach was out most of the time. It would have helped if there was a restaurant, maybe a game room. Also there no bar at the pool. I'm not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbarrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Have stayed here a few times now since finding out about this place a little over a year ago. Very nice accommodations and staff. Grounds and rooms are clean and well kept. Location is great in the heart of St. Pete Beach. These condos are right on the beach with easy access to gulf, as well as 2 beautiful pools and 3 hot tubs! Picnic tables with grills have just been added as well. I have recommended this place to at least 2 friends that have stayed here as well and they both had wonderful experiences. Check out this hidden gem next time you visit St. Pete Beach!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Lainn Menning:
We arrived at 9:00 pm The signage was so bad we drove by two times, two little wood signs 3' tall. We finally found the place then couldn't find the office, Had to walk through a tunnel to get to the office. First impression on entering the room was furniture was old and dirty. Woke up the next morning, went to make breakfast and there was mouse droppings in the cupboards. Opened the dishwasher and a mouse ran out from under the machine. My wife went outside and found a staff member to help catch the mouse. and they said that's all just a mouse you should see the rats that run around here at night. We will never stay there again. The only up side was that they refunded our payment before we went to another resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lainn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent a week here and found the property to be spotless, immaculately cared for grounds and pool area. The room was basic furnish but clean and pleasant . The staff could not have been nicer, especially Michelle in housekeeping who smiled each and every time we met up! Perfect location to walk the beach and to walk to area restaurants. Don't miss Snappers across the street!.

Room Tip: Ask for "upgrade to ocean front room at the least upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianneland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Small, clean, retro condo right on the beach..a great location..needs some upgrades - i.e. mattresses, pillows, televisions, couch. Really great swimming pools. Is close to a lot of great places to see. Shell Key is a must. Some really good local eateries close by. Would definitely recommend, but hope some furniture upgrades happen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

First impressions of the Coral Reef are not great, with little signage to indicate you have arrived, and an abandoned portion of the resort at the front half of the property. The parking lot of the villas includes a rear view of the abandoned units, which also circle around a large portion of the pool.

However, once you look beyond this, it is a nice place to stay. We chose the Coral Reef Resort through an RCI timeshare exchange in order to be close to Tampa and Clearwater. It was a great location for day trips to Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and the Clearwater Marine Aquarium. We also loved being on the beach, and nearby Fort Desoto is a must-see. The pool at the resort was huge (obviously meant for the larger resort before part of it was shut down), a good temperature for September/October, and great fun for the kids. With 8 and 9 year old boys, we don't sit around much on vacations, and even got in some kayaking at Fort Desoto and deep sea fishing at nearby Pass-a-Grille. There are wonderful restaurants in the area as well. We did not miss not having a restaurant on-site.

We have stayed at many condo/timeshare communities over the years. This is definitely a more laid-back experience. There are few activities offered by the resort...basically a couple of ice cream sundae bars and meet the owner type of activities by the pool. This didn't bother us at all. I did miss having a washer/dryer in our two-bedroom unit for washing beach towels (there are washers/dryers in the taller of the two buildings, but I didn't want to have to carry our clothes/towels over and have to keep an eye on them). I also missed having a workout facility and a DVD player in the room (you have to rent them at the front desk). But, the units were nice and very well stocked as far as dish utensils go. They do offer a free midweek cleaning, which was very thorough and much appreciated.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at the Coral Reef. It was a great location and we had a wonderful week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJS_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,804 reviews
0.1 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Resort

Property: Coral Reef Resort
Address: 5800 Gulf Blvd., St. Petersburg, FL 33706-2252
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Hotel St. Petersburg
Coral Reef Beach Resort
Coral Reef Resort St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing