We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny place with good beer and burgers”

The Burg Bar and Grill
Ranked #58 of 917 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery
GlobalTraveler
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tiny place with good beer and burgers”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I like this place. Good beer selection and a decent menu of burgers, Philly steak sandwiches, and a few Greek inspired selections. Most items are $8-$12 each. Draft beer selection rotates is very good (15 beers on tap). They seem to seek beers that are tough to source - Racer 5, Goose Island IPA, and some others. Burger was above average (Monday is $5 burgers with fries), fries are only average at best. Nice place - right next to the Hideaway if you're into live music.

Helpful?
Thank seaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    57
    19
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Pete FL
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We went on Sunday night for dinner. Place was busy, they have 50cent wing night and they were cooked perfectly! They have an array of hot sauces with was a definite plus. He got the Greek burger and said it was one of the best burgers he ever had! Fries were great too.
Loved the selection of beers. Nice bartender too, she was cool!
Definitely will be back again and again. Great ''bar and grill'' place...it's not a coffee house, go to Kahwa or the other dozen places in a 2 mile radius!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MustLoveCats03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE DOENS'T EVEN HAVE A COFFEE POT?”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our group ate there Sunday for brunch. We had a table outside, it was great, service great, waiter great, food great,
but, the place does NOT serve coffee.
SO, if you've had a great Saturday night-!!!-------- and on Sunday morning if you stop by there for brunch bring your own coffee
or walk it off.
The owner stopped by our table, and explained, he can not have a coffee pot in the restaurant, unless he formally opens up for breakfast early in the morning, (?) which he had not yet decided, so, until the owner (who Was charming and friendly) decides to "open up for breakfast"
he will not be serving coffee.
period.

A Sunday brunch with NO coffee??

....??? cuz the owner can not picture serving coffee for brunch, unless he is also open for business at some other hour for breakfast ? COME ON!!!!! Even gas stations serve coffee. It is the American drink of choice for before noon. And it was 11 am, and no coffee...painful.

makes no sense. at all. I think, a business CAN serve coffee, even if they do not open til 11am, I think, a business CAN serve coffee, even if they do not serve a full, entire breakfast menu at 6, or whatever was the nonsensical OCD reason the owner said he could NOT have a coffee pot in his restaurant.

sigh.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank blueJean33760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I eat here more often than I do at my own home.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Let's start by saying that The Burg is more than just a bar that serves food. Everyone is welcome here: Rays fans, locals from around the corner, gay couples, and even the occasionally loud South Tampan. Yes, the burgers are great, but do NOT overlook the best Greek food in the Tampa Bay area that is served in the form of addictive spinach pies and grilled pita drizzled with olive oil. The bartenders and servers are excellent people who sling great beers, wine and food, as well as making you feel like a local even if you aren't one. It can get crowded on game nights and weekends, but don't let that deter you -- there's always room for one more friend at The Burg!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyinParis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently great burgers & wings”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Always a great spot for lunch! I think they have really tasty wings (they can make 'em very spicy, too!). I like the selection of burgers and specials, too. It's not all bar food, either. Good salads and healthier options. Nice comfortable place with good atmosphere and selection of beers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Manos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Burg Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Burg Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing