We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greasy and nasty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pei Wei Asian Diner

Pei Wei Asian Diner
Ranked #437 of 894 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Greasy and nasty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Don't go there. Food is swimming in oil and the brown rice is undercooked. I tried it more than once. Last time the food was not edible.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SASTPETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is one restaurant that has taken a wrong turn. My wife and I used to go here a lot when they first opened but the last two visits have been nothing short of terrible. The food has gone way downhill and the service is non-existant! The side bar has been out of everything including tea, lemons and even silverware. Tables have been left dirty and getting someone to even acknowledge you is impossible.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank camshoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pick meals with less salt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Half way between sit down eating and pick out what you desire to eat from a menu when you walk in. Actually very convenient. Some meals have a lot less soy (salt) it you ask.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lewis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
246 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Traveling to the Far East was as far as my neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great food, great price in a casual sitdown environment. Love the Chai Tea and the many other goodies that Pei Wei has to offer. If you have been to PF Changs...it has similar items (Not the same menu) at a fraction of the costs. we joined their online club and get deals sent directly to our email inbox. So save a airfare ticket to the Far East and travel to your nearby Pei Wei...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
413 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great food for a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Caramel Chicken is fantastic. So is the Kung Pao. The combination dinners are a good value. The restaurant is nice. I had a coupon for a discount which they would not honor because your order had to be placed on-line. Since I was from out of town, I had no way to do this & know the exact time I would be there to pick it up. I thought the manager could have been a little more flexible about honoring this. One recommendation I would make to all Pei Wei restaurants is that most diners would like to finish their appetizer before the entree is brought out. Pei Wei seems to bring everything at once & to me that defeats the purpose of having an appetizer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pei Wei Asian Diner also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Pei Wei Asian Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing