We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent. A Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cappy's Pizzeria

Cappy's Pizzeria
Ranked #128 of 894 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistent. A Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We are at Cappy's about once every two weeks since they opened five years ago. From owner to staff, everyone greets you warmly, and you know you are in a place that succeeds because of the energy of the people who work there. Our favorite is the large New York Thin Crust, 8 slices, usually with sausage or whatever we choose from the long list of toppings. The calzones are excellent and can provide a good portion for two people. The Greek salad is terrific. Owner Ryan Hess understands quality, and what it means to be part of a neighborhood. A great family spot, and the large square table in the back often has a birthday or other family party in progress.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Chicago style pizza”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We are seasonal residents and we recently 'discovered' Cappy's in St Pete. The atmosphere is nice with a chalkboard for you to sign in when you arrive and trivial pursuit cards on the tables. The Chicago pIzza is excellent. Go for the Cappy, or the pepperoni and sausage. The Cesar salad is good as well. The only issue is they are not open for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank JStewartFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great salad and pizza!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for dinner while on vacation. There were 3 adults and 1 child in our party. My son had the cheese bread which was really good. The adults shared a large Greek salad and large NY style pizza - half pepperoni and half The Cappy. We all raved about the Greek salad which had tons of feta in it. The pepperoni side of the pizza was our favorite. We had enough to take some home and it reheated well. Really great place and it was super affordable too. My husband rates it among the best pizza he's had. Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best in the Bay”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

First of all, remember that food reviews are very subjective. That said, here is why Cappy's is the best around for me (and I've tried them all). Their dough has a nice crunch on the bottom, yet still maintains a good chew. It is the perfect balance between the ultra thin crispy and the thick and doughy pan. Next, the sauce tastes like fresh tomatoes and is very light. The cheese is some of the best with a perfect melt without being gummy or overly chewy. We generally get pepperoni, sausage, onions, peppers, mushrooms, and black olives. With just a sprinkle of red pepper flake and a dash of the parmesean, it makes a perfect slice. Oh, and don't forget the garden salad with the house dressing...YUM. Cheesy bread makes a nice starter. In St Pete, it is a laid back joint in an old house....very casual. Super delicious food with smiling, attentive service (especially Jenny!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogfather96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun Pizza Joint”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I tried Cappy's after reading about it on Trip Advisor. There was a small wait for a table inside; there are not a lot of tables inside but I appreciated that they kept the separate rooms of the old bungalow home. Once we were seated there was a small wait for the server come over take our drinks and food order; but our waiter apologized and there was not another issue with timing. The menus are cute, on old record covers, and they have both Chicago and New York style pizzas. We ordered a small pizza of each since my husband was in a Chicago mood. We enjoyed a beer and played trivia pursuit while waiting for the pizzas. My husband says the Chicago style pizza was not as thick, nor as full of toppings, as one you would get in Chicago. It was a good pizza, but don't expect it to be 100% authentic. My NY style pizza was excellent. I had bacon and broccoli on mine and it was delicious. I could rave about it for the rest of this post. Overall we both enjoyed the food and will be back again. Once we have cooler weather we will take advantage of the outdoor seating and bring our dog as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krisppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappy's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Cappy's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing