We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place”
Review of Trip's Diner

Trip's Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Family Owned Diner
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Trips for breakfast regularly for months now. We love it! Food and service are excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    117
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Grits”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I identify as Southern (that's with a capital S, y'all), so when I heard a rumor that the grits at Trip's were amazing, I had to check it out. Short story: They are. Perfect consistency, texture-- probably because they're stone mill ground and slow cooked, just a hypothesis. Add to that delicious bacon, fluffy eggs and a pretty good quality cup of joe, and I'm a happy camper. Oh, and the waitstaff is quick and friendly, atmosphere and decor cute and clean, and the prices are low. Jackpot!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Godlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Top 3 Breakfast in St. Pete....don't miss the bacon!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We are always in search of a great breakfast spot, something not easily found in St. Petersburg. We recently found Trip's Diner. Don't let the name fool you, it is a nice family restaurant, and a bit more than a diner in its decor. We sat outside in August...normally a bad idea in St. Pete due to the heat, but for an early breakfast, you are in the shade on the west side of the building, and it was very nice around 9:30 a.m. Street noise can be a bit loud, but not too bad.

We ordered a standard - 2 eggs over medium, cheese grits, toast and bacon. It was superb. The eggs were done properly, and the cheese grits were out of this world. However, the thick cut bacon was the kicker. It was meaty and full of flavor. It may have been the thickest bacon I have ever had. If you have ever been to Biscuit's Cafe in the Portland, OR area, it was close to that. Some of the best bacon ever in a restaurant.

Trip's is definitely on our shortlist for go-to breakfast joints in St. Pete now.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krutec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
370 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“OK Breakfast but Nothing to Rave About”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoy going out for breakfast more than dinner. It seems that restaurants can ruin a dinner experience far more than breakfast, for whatever reason.

We are in the process of moving back to St. Pete after being gone for 15 years so exploring new places and decided upon Trip's based on the reviews on this website.

It was OK, but nothing special. We like places with "extensive" breakfast menu selections and felt they fell short on that. Kissin Cuzzins, Village Inn, and Kopper Kitchen rate far above Trip's in our opinion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family breakfast”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

The table wait took a little long but it was worth it. Tripps diner is a great place. The food was great the service was average the atmosphere was great. But overall Tripps diner is rated to me from 1-10 Is 45 and the star rating out of five is 6

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roque a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trip's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Trip's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing