We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St. Pete”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very convenient to many shops and restaurants. Right in the middle of the action, but it is still quiet. Get a room on the second floor with balcony. Beautiful hotel with welcoming staff. Great breakfast choices and a surprising happy mini buffet with beer and wine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl J, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    281
    54
    20
    13
See reviews for
278
327
53
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great location, great room, great amenities, great breakfast! This hotel borders a nice park that is the only thing between the hotel and the bay/waterfront. Rooms are clean and well appointed and decorated. Nice outdoor pool on the 2nd floor, and a decent fitness room (although a bit small). Breakfast is what I expect at Hampton Inn - hot & cold foods (omelettes are a nice touch) are kept filled and are quite good. I've stayed here twice now on business - 8 nights total - and will be coming back here every time I'm in St. Petersburg!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl J, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We appreciate your patronage and loyalty to our property. We look forward to being your "home" while on business in St Petersburg. Thanks for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great experience, looking forward to staying there again in the future. Close to many different venues of enjoyment in the downtown area. Too bad the pier is not open anymore. CHECK out the diversity of food options and boating. Rent boats, wave runners, paddle boards right down rhe street at lottoboat.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl J, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the review. You are correct, there are many different ways to enjoy the water in close proximity to the hotel. Or you can take a 15 minute drive and relax on the beach at the Gulf of Mexico. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you like Hampton Inns, you'll enjoy this hotel. It is clean and provides all the comforts of a good Hampton Inn. The happy hour is a nice bonus. The location can't be beat. Lots of shopping, restaurants, entertainment within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank FamTravAgnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl J, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Compact and accurate assessment, in my opinion. Thanks for sharing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn in July 2014 for one night. I booked online mid-afternoon for the same day. The front desk staff was friendly. The lobby, halls and room were very clean and pleasant. The decor is modern and contemporary. I toured the hotel when it first opened 11+ years ago (when I was in wedding planning), I think it's already had a renovation.

Location was fantastic. We actually walked from to and from a location near the Trop. A little long in sweltering July, but do-able.

The breakfast was great as reported by my husband, I was up too late to enjoy. The desk staff easily accommodated our late check-out request. Our stay was short and we were unable to use the pool, though it looked inviting.

The room and bed were comfortable. Our king room had two windows - one overlooked the pool and the other to the west towards Central Ave. Our only complaint was that housekeeping was noisy in the hallway in the morning as we tried to sleep in.

Overall, it was a great value and we'd easily choose this property again for a short or longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank EcoStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl J, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. The hotel has been completely renovated, although we are only 11 years young. The hallways in 2011, the lobby in 2012, and the guestrooms in 2013. Our ownership group has always been committed to providing a quality product and I am glad you noticed. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We visited the weekend of August 8, 2014 for a sporting event. The location is perfect -- right in the middle of downtown St. Petersburg. We walked to everything. The service from the valet (all parking is valet) to the front desk and housekeeping was wonderful. We received genuine "hellos" from everyone.

The hotel itself is clean and nicely appointed. We've stayed at other Hampton Inns that were not as nice as this one in terms of fixtures. The food at breakfast (included because it's a Hampton Inn) was one of the best I've had that's included.

The front desk went above and beyond for us. We arrived early and they let us into our room right away. Our infant daughter had a rough night (teething, new environment) and we decided to cut our stay by a day and drive home. We fully expected to pay for the night we cancelled, but they didn't charge us! They also offered us late check out because the decision was last minute.

My husband and I strongly recommend the Hampton Inn Downtown St. Petersburg for its location, service, and amenities. We will definitely stay there if we're ever in St. Petersburg again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennyKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl J, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Whenever possible, we will try to accomodate a guests request and/or specific need. We try to be very flexible and every employee is empowered to go the extra mile to deliver exceptional service. Thank you for posting and we will look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel has the best location in St Pete. Every year my children and I come here for a swim meet. Easy to walk to restaurants, shopping & ice cream I feel very at home here. The Duvet and sheets are White and clean. Beds are comfortable. Love it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl J, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We appreciate your returning to stay with us every year. The swim meets at North Shore Pool and other venues are a very important part of our business mix and it is nice to hear from a satisfied customer. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
744 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3914
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing