We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special little spot to cool off and relax”
Review of Sunken Gardens

Sunken Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.98*
and up
St Petersburg Segway Nature Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Special little spot to cool off and relax”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are fans of the botanical gardens and this one truly delivers small easily walkable packed with beautiful plants and trees and flowers birds the royal palms are some the tallest I have ever seen. The massive live oak is a marvel if you just think about it from a pure physics perspective. How does it stretch those enormous branches so far from its base and not fall over? It's beautifully draped with airplanes, ferns, bromeliads and vines of all type making it not just a tree but an ecosystem. Takes about an hours to leisurely stroll around and it plenty shady with lots of hidden seating under cool arbors and little grottos with fountains filled with flowery Lillie's and giant koi. Don't miss the spectacular Chilean flamingos prancing about with their fiery coral plumage and ebony beaks.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    508
    158
    28
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I expected more.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived when the weather was threatening. They told us our money would not be returned if the weather stopped us from seeing the gardens. Luckily, in 45 minutes we saw most of the gardens before the skies opened and thunder and lightening forced us to return to the main building.
The gardens are lush and tropical. However, very repetitive. I expected more flowers and a place to purchase plants. Not there!
If you have chosen to have children, it's a terrific place for them. One the other side of the main building is a HUGE place to investigate with interactive children's activities. And be warned this place is a summer camp children's mecca. Most stayed in that center I just described. Check coupons for some discounts in local magazines or papers. Seniors also have a lower fee. We found a buy one get one coupon! That made the value better for our 45 minute average experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eslmavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples, fl
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Like the facets of a small jewel, these gardens offer new vistas and delights at every turn in the path. If you prefer vast views and formal plantings, please look elsewhere, but if you enjoy discovering and savoring things, this is the place for you. You can watch the koi in several ponds, examine plants of all kinds closely and at length and, yes, there are also some tropical birds and elegant flamingos for people who want that. There are lots of shady benches where you can sit and just enjoy the silence. A wonderful, peaceful place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

a bit dissappointed - some areas were not very well kept and signage of plants were far and few between. I did like the flamingos and exotic birds

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SWGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walking with nature”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This garden was seriously worth every penny spent, it was beautiful..offering information about some of the plants along the way and done up with smells throughout. The birds are just an awesome addition as well running into a kookaburra and some amazonian parrots that talked and sung about.

It was amazing after raining too, the scents were all very fresh and the air smelled so brisk, the only downside would be that it gets humid because some parts of the garden are thicker and not as shaded. Bring a hat, and a hand fan or something :) even bring a lunch and sit for an afternoon (I wish we had thought to do that)

They also had a groupon for an awesome deal for admission 2 adults, dunno how long for...get em quick!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sch0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunken Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Sunken Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing