We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lizzandjerry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hollander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollander Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lizzandjerry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a wonderful, restful vacation location! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was great. Bar was fun to visit, music, trivia night, even has a new coffee shop. Hotel is close to everything. We walked, explored, wandered, and spent time talking and reading. This experience has been one of the best Christmas presents we ever gave ourselves! You should come, you'll love it as much as we did.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzandJerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    364
    76
    11
    11
See reviews for
185
642
81
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great food and drinks at the bar. Definitely have the breakfast if you are there on the weekends-well worth the $10. Stayed in a queen room, comfy bed and pillows, plus a table, three chairs, and flat-screen tv. Bathroom small and dated, but that's to be expected at an older hotel such as this one. Overall, a really great stay, and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Quaint Old Brick bldg. Very accommadating staff.Great rates. Nice bar, (21 Taps) excellant food, moderately priced.Shuttle to tranport you to museums, marina, Saturday Farmers' Mkt., although walkable.No in-room phone, so bring cell phone. Clean everywhere I looked.3 flrs., elevater,Additional parking being added during my stay.(Dec.4-10th,2013)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, al
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I haven't checked out yet, but the hotel was a pleasant surprise. Everyone is friendly and goes the extra mile to greet the guests. I was up at 5:30 and since everyone else in my party was was sleeping, I came down to the lobby to read. The coffee isn't usually put out until 6am, but the guy in the lobby made a special batch for me.

The restaurant/coffee house seems to be a pretty hip place with the locals. Last night, it was a happening place. It appears that you don't have to leave the property to go to a bar or restaurant, but if you do, downtown isn't far away.

Know what to expect. This is not a brand new luxury hotel. This is an remodeled, older property with lots of charm. Just as with an older house, there are certain things that weren't standard when the place was built. The double queen suite is quite large and has a full fridge. We have stayed at the Vinoy before, but wanted to try something new. The Vinoy hotel has a larger lobby and more amenities, but you will pay for them. This Hollander has standard internet (Vinoy charges $10/day) and breakfast is included on weekdays (not included in larger hotels). There is also no charge for parking at the Hollander. I think this will work just fine for us and I would come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Coffee shop it's great .. love Jeremy. .. The best coffee... karma coffee and for it's ny neighborhood place to be. Comfortable and local the service is fabulous. Come and have a cup. The sets are to die for. Tell the Dharma said so..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dharma890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

When we go to St. Pete to see the Red Sox lose--so sad, but when we go they always lose--we stay at the Hollander. Love this place. It has good energy and a great bar where Sox fans can drown their sorrows and Rays fans can gloat, but in a nice way. Excellent food, service, and entertainment as well. This IS the spirit of St. Pete: vibrant, a little funky, warm, welcoming, and fun. By the way, rooms with two queen beds are available if you call the hotel directly. My daughter and I are sharing a suite later this week.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msabsinthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

The most important thing to me is (at least a semblance) of cleanliness, and I think housekeeping lets this hotel down.

I'm just returning home from training in St. Petersburg, and a 5 night stay at the Hollander. I picked the hotel because of TA reviews, but I should have read the reviews more carefully to understand what the raves are about. Yes, the lobby and porch are interesting and social, and the hotel front desk is full of hospitable and nice people. (I didn't eat in the Tap Room, so I can't speak to it.) But, for me, those things aren't so important; being able to go back to my room after a full day of training and chill is. The hair on the towels was what bothered me the most; they were on every towel I used. I wasn't thrilled about the hairs I found on the bed sheets, on the sink, in the bath, in the fridge either, but after complaining about the towels twice, I just tried to suck it up. Plus, after housekeeping failed to make up my room on the second day, I was transferred to a bigger room, so I could see how solicitous the hotel staff was being, and I just didn't have the energy to continuously complain.

So, hospitable employees (really very nice and welcoming), and cheap rates (really cheap), but not what I expect in terms of cleanliness.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, General Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank You for your input, I do appreciate all comments.
I will follow up with housekeeping.

Thank you,
Nick Herring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#7 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Property: Hollander Hotel
Address: 421 4th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St.Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music Friday and Saturday nights. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy our Beautiful New pool and outdoor Bar area, with Cabana rentals available. $3 Craft Beer on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full 2 bars to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollander Hotel St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing