We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollander Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hollander Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We loved this place. Super friendly staff, clean and cheap! This location is great too. So easy to get to. Once we parked the car we didn't need to drive it anywhere we went. We plan on staying here again. On and did I mention Trivia night? What a hoot. This is a great local hangout with a lot of color.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    355
    74
    11
    11
See reviews for
181
619
79
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This place is really cool if you can look past the older building and minimal amenities. The bar and porch are really cool, seems like its the place to be on a Friday or Saturday night, but it doesn't get too packed. The staff was very very accomodating and friendly, and the restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was excellent. Its not too far from Beach Dr. where all the nicer restaurants are and its very close to the Mahaffey theatre and other places of interest. The only thing I had issue with was our room. You can tell the plumbing is very old; there was very little water pressure and the shower is nothing to call home about. Everything was very clean, but very outdated. All in all, it was a good stay, considering we could look past the minor things and the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Higher floors will probably be less noisier. Pick a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

If you like thin walls, small bath with leaky faucet, inadequate lighting and only one nightstand book here. Didn't sleep, people stumbling drunk and fighting enough that one guest opened her door at about 2:30 p.m. and yelled "be quiet!"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jauntingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, General Manager at Hollander Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your comment. Our Hotel was built in 1933, so we may not be as sound proof as some of the newer Hotels. We do have 2 nighttime security people on staff, and a phone call to the desk could of taken care of the noise issue. The Day you stayed with us, We did have to wedding parties in the Hotel. We wish you Happy travel's and safe journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Warm, historic retro feel...reminiscent of days gone by when folks actually cared...entire staff asks, answers, and facilitates with smiles which makes everyone happy! Enjoyed great times on the verandah with reasonably priced cocktails surrounded by an eclectic array of guests equally pleased with their stays! This place more than gets it...create a clean, warm, and uplifting experience...not real hard, but certainly hard to find! This is our spot in St. Pete and forever will be! To top it off Wendy will be glad to run you through town on her pink golf cart with big laughs! We can't say enough great things about our multiple stays and we always look forward to getting back...the Hollander only enhances our little getaways, to the point where we would drive the 2 and a half hours just to hang out for a night! Keep it real Hollander, keep it Right!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My friends and I have stayed here twice now for concerts and can't wait for the next time! The rooms are comfortable but the bar and front porch are to die for! We spend the mornings drinking mimosas and Bloody Mary's on the porch. A great stay. Thanks Hollander!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

What a gem! We stayed at the Hollander Hotel for two nights, and were entirely pleased with everything. The food is delicious, and reasonably priced. The drinks are strong, and roughly 20 tasty microbews are offered on tap. Every employee was happy, chatty, and helpful; from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the restauarant/bar staff. The room was very clean, with a very comfortable king bed and full kitchen. Charming decor inside and out, coupled with a fun-loving collection of guests made for a simply wonderful experience. We had a difficult time peeling ourselves off the porch after checkout, and will be back! Soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here during the prep for our destination wedding in St Pete. It's ideally located, close to everything. The hotel itself has much charm and for a boutique (read: old) hotel its pretty well kept and pretty clean. I got the room through a third party provider/special deal and found upon check in that the requests I put through that company did not make it to the hotel. One request was for a quiet room - within a matter of hours in a completely sold out hotel the sincere front desk clerk found us a smaller but quieter room, which made me very happy. The front porch was a blast - we met so many people, many of whom seemed to have always been there. Literally MOST of the people we met had been staying there for MONTHS - thats quite a testament to the cost and comfort of the place. I would mos def stay here again.

Room Tip: if you dont want noise go for a room on the top floor - the floors are wooden and even though we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Property: Hollander Hotel
Address: 421 4th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St.Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music Friday and Saturday nights. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy our Beautiful New pool and outdoor Bar area, with Cabana rentals available. $3 Craft Beer on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full 2 bars to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollander Hotel St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing