We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Service Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollander Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hollander Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Stellarton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Service Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days recently (May 2 & 3). From the moment we walked in until the time we left everything was excellent.
The staff are all sincere and superb. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed.The Hotel provides Live music. The food was great with an interesting menu.
Ideal location, exceptional value, flawless & continuous service, ample parking... ...everything!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Let them know if your plans are. They will provide you with the most appropriate room for your need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamienF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    355
    74
    11
    11
See reviews for
181
619
79
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My dad was in town visiting a few weeks ago and he stayed at the Hollander. He's a big fan of walking everywhere in cities, craft beer and personalized service with attention to detail: so as you can imagine by the title of this review, they really nailed it on all counts. Their staff goes above and beyond to not only make you feel welcome, but make sure you're enjoying yourself and really having a great experience. The nightlife is vibrant and this place is always packed with people who look like they're having a great time too. They also have a shuttle for all guests of the hotel so you don't need to have a car there to travel to museums, the ball game and really anywhere downtown, which is super convenient. I must say that before he stayed there, I hadn't really visited the Hollander for anything else except one cocktail party- but now I'll definitely be going back because of the service and quality. Love it and recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful experience. Upon check-in, Mike greeted us with open arms. He stated that if we needed anything, just call upon him. He even gave us his cell #. The hotel provides in-town transportation so we took a ride via oversized golf cart to Ferg's, a sports bar adjacent to Tropicana Field to watch a few innings of the Tampa Bay Rays vs. Cleveland Indians game. Happy to say, Rays won!! On Sunday morning, we enjoyed the all- you- can- eat brunch with freshly made omelets on the oversized terrace. Also enjoyed the best Bloody Mary ever!! If you are looking for clean and affordable accommodations in downtown Saint Petersburg, this is the place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevievegaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Hollander Hotel for 2 nights in May 2014. The lobby is so cool and really takes you back in time. The front porch has a large overhang which is nice for shade. Very comfortable seating on the porch but probably needs to be replaced in the next year or so.The on site Tap Room restaurant breakfast buffet is not to be missed. For 10 bucks you can have fresh made omelets, French toast, eggs, fruit, Danishes, bacon, sausage, etc. Check is was so pleasant, Michael is fantastic!! We had King suite #241. Mini kitchen with stove, oven, micro, mini fridge, sink, coffee maker and minimal utensils. Overall the room was large and functional. Care was not taken in remodeling. Very careless painting, cheap cabinets, haphazard tile job, overall the room felt like a old Florida beach hotel. Did not match the feeling you had coming into the lobby. Cleaning was not perfect. Toilet had hair and dried urine in the back area. A/C was great, blew very cold. The location is fantastic for the downtown area. Pleasant walks to Beach street, maybe 10 minutes. They have a trolley service that will take you downtown as well, very convenient. WiFi worked fine, beds were very comfortable and did not hear street noise too much. There is really no reason NOT to stay at Hollander and we would again.

Room Tip: Bring your own bikes!. They have bike racks on site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanabedutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saff City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We needed a bed for just the night as we had organised to see a game at Tropicana Fields and then had to be in Dunellen the following morning. We booked the standard room which was clean, fresh and comfortable and and felt so much better than the usual soulless hotels we have stayed in, in the past. The guy who checked us in was warm and welcoming. The hotel has loads of character and feels good. We were so sorry we weren't staying longer. We most definitely will be looking to go back, and for longer than one night. We could walk too and from Tropicana Fields too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIAN ROCKS BEACH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

A group of us who live on the beach, just 30 minutes west of downtown St. Pete, just feel the need to escape the sun and fun every now and again and spend a weekend in the city. (To most this seems backwards, I know!) Originally, my husband and I were booked at a “chain” hotel for a rate so high it was approaching Manhattan-hotel status. Then, I stumbled upon The Hollander. At first, I was reluctant to take a chance on a relative unknown but all the reviews I read online were nothing but stellar. It turned out to be a great find and I was thrilled I cancelled our other reservation! Zak and all the folks at the front desk were so gracious. Other friends in our group staying at other hotels, on their boats, etc. migrated to our hotel in the evenings to enjoy a snippet of Old Florida and the live music in the lobby pub. Even the rain couldn't dampen my mood: I sat the big front porch for hours, reading, people-watching and just daydreaming. Oh yeah, and eating a gooey brownie from their amazing coffee shop. The room, while not lavish, was comfortable and clean but the overall experience was outstanding. These words come from someone who is more than cautious about trying hotels out of the mainstream: YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NANCY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, NY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I spent one night in a Standard Queen Room at the Hollander Hotel.

Room 308 was clean and comfortable. The room has a small refrigerator, microwave oven, TV, ceiling fan, air conditioner and coffee maker. We slept very well. We didn’t hear any noise from the street or the other guests. The WiFi in room 308 was excellent.

The bathroom is small. The water pressure, exhaust fan and lighting (above the mirror) were very good. There were dirty water marks running down the tiled wall near the sink. The tiles around the sink need to be cleaned.

The staff at the Hollander Hotel were courteous and friendly. Parking is free when rooms are reserved through the hotel’s website.

Good value. Pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Property: Hollander Hotel
Address: 421 4th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St.Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music Friday and Saturday nights. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy our Beautiful New pool and outdoor Bar area, with Cabana rentals available. $3 Craft Beer on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full 2 bars to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollander Hotel St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing