We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captures the Feeling of St. Pete”
Review of Hollander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollander Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Captures the Feeling of St. Pete”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

You are going to love the location, the front porch and the bar/restaurant. The rooms are a bit dated but we were able to overlook most of that. I would recommend that they pre-cool their rooms as our room was well over 100 degrees when we entered and window-mounted a/c units only cool so fast. If they would put a modest amount into room updates this would be rated higher. But, don't confuse this with a luxurious 4 Seasons hotel somewhere else. If you want a spa-like room, this is not your place. If you want a place that makes u feel the history of St. Pete, I would try it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    374
    78
    12
    11
See reviews for
196
667
82
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We love older properties that are well-maintained and The Hollander fits that description- very cool older building, retro in style. The staff is fantastic, without exception!

The location is convenient to the waterfront and downtown areas, although we didn't feel like we would be comfortable on foot LATE at night. Early evenings there seems to be enough activity that there wouldn't be any problem. It is close to an urban center, so be informed of your surroundings and location.

Our room was on the third floor, in the back, very nice and quiet. The bed and pillows were super comfortable - always a concern. NOTE: There are NO phones in the rooms, so keep the hotel phone number handy if you need to call the front desk. There is no ice machine - you must go to the lobby and they get it from the kitchen, so plan ahead. Really nice lobby and sitting porch on the front. The Tap Room restaurant was excellent and the cocktails were amazing, too - we ate and drank there several times over the two nights/3 days.

The only disappointment was the bathroom supplies & hot water. One hand towel, two small bath towels, and two washcloths, with only bar soap and Pantene shampoo & conditioner. For $150 a night, we expected something more (although it is not listed as an amenity on their website). The hairdryer was one of the best we've ever come across though. As an older property we understand hot water can take some time to 'arrive' - it took running the shower for five minutes or more to get a hot water. Once hot, it was very hot! The bathroom floor was older (probably original) small tiles and was not very clean - needed a really good scrubbing.

Lighting adequate, but not great, and there's no light in the walk-in closet. I used the WIFI while there, for business - sometimes it was seamless and worked great. Sometimes I couldn't get a page to load no matter how many times I tried - even at 1:00 a.m.

All in all, this is a fun, relaxing place to go and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - third floor away from the street, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandbfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Would definitely suggest to anyone, visiting St. Petersburg, to stay here. It's with in walking distance of many places to visit. The food was great. The room was great. Again everyone we came in contact with was very pleasant and nice to help with any questions we had on where to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

loved this place! Nice bar and buffet downstairs.old building but very clean..we got there to go to the trop to watch baseball.free ride to ballpark.when we checked nnin there was no parking but they said thats was ok and let us park in the breezeway..very nice people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NORK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were looking for a Hotel that was different, we found it at the Hollander the ambiance was just what we thought it would be. We loved the feel of the history and enjoyed the modern amenities. We were staying there to attend some games at Tropicana Field. My only complaint was the erratic schedule of the pick up by the shuttles (Golf Carts) after the games. The staff were friendly and efficient. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse N Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is not your typical five star hotel but I would not stay anywhere else when visiting downtown st Pete. The staff genuinely wanted you to have a great stay and we felt right at home. Also very wallet friendly. We felt like we we're staying at a guest room in someone's house rather than a hotel. My husband and I were there for business so it was perfect for unwinding after our meeting at the bar or walk a couple blocks to great restaurants and bands. The rooms were old but the cute vintage feel made it worth it! Coffee at the cafe was amazing too! Only thing that it's in a little sketchy neightbhorhood but it's downtown so that what we expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShakesPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

stayed for baseball game, can't say enough good things!!! porch fab with tables for eating couches for lounging, lobby is grand! décor and furniture, wood, everything about it you can tell thought was put into it. very historic. staff is ssoooooo friendly and accommodating, rooms CLEAN!!! every corner has something special , 3rd floor has a great sitting area with sofas, chairs tables, tv.....lobby has a jazz bar (not really noisy in room) coffee and pastry shop attached, great cannoli's, full brunch with omelet bar and everything else $10!!! close walking , free parking, shuttle not just to bus pick up for the game, but right to the stadium!! you can tell a lot of locals frequent for the food and jazz....very good sign! love love love this place, I want to be a squatter here

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
8.0 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Hotel

Property: Hollander Hotel
Address: 421 4th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful new boutique Hotel 0.3 Miles from the city center of St.Petersburg. Downtown and all it has to offer is just a stroll away. Come and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and hotel. Live music Friday and Saturday nights. Best music in town. Blues/Jazz/Pop and more. Relax and enjoy our Beautiful New pool and outdoor Bar area, with Cabana rentals available. $3 Craft Beer on Tuesday night. Get a massage in our spa or enjoy the in house coffee bar "Common Grounds" with a different specialty coffee every morning to start your day. Breakfast served 7 days a week. We also have a full 2 bars to satisfy your every need. At the Hollander we aim to please, and if you read our reviews you will see that our guests believe we are succeeding. Come home to the Hollander on your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollander Hotel St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing