We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer Please”

The Ale and the Witch
Ranked #3 of 58 Nightlife in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beer Please”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Great variety and dog friendly. A lot of local craft beers on tap and a friendly staff makes this a great place. Love it here.

Helpful?
Thank Qbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great selection of draft beers”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We like to hang out at the Ale and the Witch to sample good craft beers. The staff is very friendly and know their beers. Their bands on the weekend are very good and not your typical Jimmy Buffett crap you get at most beach bars, unfortunately it can be a little noisy on weekends. During the week the outside ambiance is not all that exciting as the bar is tucked in between some outdated 1970' office buildings. Overall though - this is a great place to meet up with friends. It has a great mix of people...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Awesome Bar”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I'm a regular here. The have an extensive selection of American craft beers and the staff is VERY knowledgeable about them, unlike some other places. Witch flights (4 four ounce pours) are a bargain.

They also have great bar snacks. Definitely try the smoked fish dip and the beer cheese dip (made from Cigar City Jai Alai IPA).

Live music every day is a bonus.

TIP: Don't go here and try to order a Bud Light or they will throw you out. :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rude and pompous bartender”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Nice location and atmosphere. Bar tender with the red beard is a compete pompous blank.... Arrived and trying to tell him my preference in IPA, stated that i needed to quit INTERRUPTING him. He wanted to convey his beer knowledge to me first. I was very put off and quite frankly, it ruined my evening. I thanked him and walked away. High regards for World of Beer though for which i visited earlier. I'll go back and sit at a table maybe later this week. I'm still steaming a little over this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank doc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Craft beer taphouse”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very good craft beer selection. Casual atmosphere. Good music on a Sunday afternoon. Very nice way to spend a few hours. I tried a four beer flight and it was all good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ale and the Witch also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to The Ale and the Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing