We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Quiet on Weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Quechee, Vermont
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not Quiet on Weekends”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

While the location is convenient and services adequate for business purposes, I cannot suggest this hotel for a wekend stay, unless you are part of a large group (wedding, anniverary, alumni) and willing to accept noise late into the night. As an "Elite" member my spouse an I were assigned a room on the top floor, which we assumed was a good sign, only to notice that were surrounde by rooms occupied by a wedding party, moving in and out of rooms, congregating and having fun in the hallway, slamming doors open shut. Making the front desk aware around midnight, we were offered a room on a lower floor, which solved the problem. But who wants to move in the middle of the night? Why did we get first a room surrounded by a party group. Other than that, the rooms are adequate for this segment of hotel. It is a renovated historical hotel, so do not expect a modern, fresh ambiance. Did not use pool or gym, but area looked ok for the size of the hotel. Unless you are in a hurry for breakfast, you can probably do better in a local coffe shop.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hene57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your stay here at the Courtyard St Petersburg. You should be able to have a quite night and we do our best to monitor the noise levels to make prevent such issues. I apologize that you were inconvenienced but glad that we were able to provide you with another room. I hope you will visit us again, and please feel free to contact me personally.

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    145
    57
    18
    10
See reviews for
82
125
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

During our stay in St. Petersburg, Florida we changed the hotel and ended up staying at the Marriot Courtyard, which we didn´t regret for one second. On the contrary, we can highly recommend this hotel, located in the very centre of St. Petersburg where you can walk easily to the American Stage Theatre, the Beach Boulevard, etc. Thanks to the director of Sales Ryan Tarrant we had a wonderful time as he helped us with getting to the beach, recommanding a restaurant, shops or whatsoever. And that even during the busy time of the Sunscreen film festival in St. Petersburg!
We also loved the possibility of having a coffee in the morning at the starbucks cafe where you can also order fresh juices or milkshakes.
Last but not least we enjoyed using the Marriot Courtyard shuttle buses to get to any locations too far to walk with our favourite driver Victor!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaCapulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and recognizing our Director of Sales as well as our the great service you received from our driver, Victor. We are pleased to have them as representatives of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next year!
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stood here a year ago. I was not as bad as people make it sound. Nice place is you staying local attending a wedding at the beach not to far from there. I really like the room and bed was pretty good compare to other hotel so give it a shot stay with them nice place

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for giving us your recommendation. I hope you will come back for another visit and enjoy some of the great attractions and events in the St Petersburg area.
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The staff at this hotel are first rate. The hotel was clean and very well appointed. Very near yo vibrant night life and easy access to ball bark. Try breakfast at apropoes on central....outstanding meal at a great price...french press coffee

Room Tip: Its a city location so upper floors are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimb0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are fortunate to be located so close to many area events and restaurants. Thank you for your comments!
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
277 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I stay in a lot of Courtyard's and this is definitely an average minus. The bed was hard and the air-conditioner blows directly on the bed. It sounded like a jet engine and blew very cold air directly on your head. I woke up every time it happened. With the thermostat on the other side of the room it happen often and then it would get warm on the bedside. Parking is not free and it is a little expensive. Next time I will probably find something a little further out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brackjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg downtown. I am sorry to hear that it was not to your liking. I understand the AC was of concern, and I apologize that we did not address your concerns while you were here. We certainly like to take care of any issues as quickly as possible. We are as well as all of the hotels in the downtown area, real estate challenged. With space in short supply it is necessary for us to use the services of an outside valet company to manage our guest vehicles which does have a charge attached. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwater
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was my third or fourth stay at the Courtyard Marriott. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel recently underwent a renovation of the lobby and their cafe area, and it looks great. The cafe was nice to have as an amenity - the food was a little pricey ($9 for basic breakfast), but the convenience was appreciated, as I was staying with a group and we used the morning breakfast time to get together and plan what we would be doing that day.

The hotel is very close to downtown St. Pete, with lots of shops, entertainment venues and restaurants, and there is a free shuttle which will take you around the town.

As I was working pretty flat out, I didn't have a chance to use the amenities - such as the pool and exercise room, but I was very happy with my stay and am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljmansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our property and we liik forward to your return!
K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I expect more from a Marriott. The hotel wasnt very clean and was rundown. It is located in a shady part of town and I didn't feel safe outside of the hotel. The walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbors T.V.
I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 424min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay with us at the Courtyard St Petersburg. We do have challenges in the operation of a historic hotel. I am pleased to share that we are confirming our plans for corridor and guest room renovation that will be taking place later in the year which will give all the rooms a fresh and updated look. We enjoy being part of the downtown community and are within 4 blocks of the major attractions and restaurants.

K Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#16 of 42 in St. Petersburg
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 300 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2802
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing