We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value of all st pete”
Review of Bayway Inn

Bayway Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayway Inn
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best value of all st pete”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I come to area for biz often. Have stayed at several places but this is by far best deal around. Clean rooms, great service, awesome pool area with tiki huts, central to all. Beaches a 2 min drive, downtown st pete 5 min, great restaurants in area. Very quite & peaceful. And with the kitchenete i had it made it that much better. Great rates for what you get and area. My new place to stay when in st pete.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    1
    1
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

First off, this motel is across the street from the former Knights Inn (which is now the Flamingo Hotel). I stayed one evening in May 2013. I'm impressed with this property because they make the effort. It's not perfect, but they try. The entire property is kept clean and in decent repair. The pool area is very attractive and there is an attached but separate upper level sundeck, also.

They offer two rates; for regular room or room with fridge & microwave. I opted for the regular rate. Because of another review of this motel on TripAdvisor, I arrived early to request a room on the pool side. I cannot now recall the specific explanation, but apparently poolside rooms have the fridge/microwave option, so I paid the higher room rate. When I entered the room I saw that it was NON-SMOKING and went back to the front desk. I was assured that it would be okay as I was only staying the one night. Asked for ashtray and was told housekeeping would provide one.

The ashtray was delivered, I believe, by one of the owners. She had ashtray in hand but seemed reluctant to hand it over. She explained that they had no smoking rooms available. I explained that I'd only made the reservation the night before and smoking rsv was confirmed.
I got the ashtray but didn't appreciate the guilt trip.

I would definitely use this property again but ONLY after confirming that regardless of which rate I pay (regular or fridge/micro), I can still get a room opposite the pool. If I am correct, management puts smokers on the side opposite their pool in what amounts to the most inconvenient rooms they have available. That kind of discrimination I can live without.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tr0picana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed the night of March 12th. We started looking for a hotel rather late and this was the only one around the area for under $100, we paid $78 and the quality was not great, We thought it must be due to spring break but the manager said some sort of convention, but who really knows. Seemed clean enough. NO bugs. Beds werent all that comfortable, but firmer than most. No breakfast, and did have free wi-fi. BEST PART OF THIS HOTEL IS IF YOU ARE GOING TO SHELL KEY OR ST. PETE'S BEACH YOU CAN JUMP ON THE CAUSEWAY FROM THIS HOTEL, IT IS RIGHT THERE!!! PERFEFT FOR US.

Room Tip: If you are going over to see shell key or St. Pete's Beach the causeway is right there, really c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skelley1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

We have been staying here on our yearly trips to the St Petersburg area over the last 8 years. Never had an issue until now. The hotel has changed hands a couple times over the years but generally clean, quiet, close to shopping, close to the beach. This visit we only stayed one night. Initially upon going into the room found some fruit flies. My husband was woken up at 2 am by a 1 inch roach crawling up his leg. We found one more huge roach before checking out in the early morning hours. It will be last time we ever stay here. Advice: stay somewhere else.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I have stayed many times at the Bayway over the past four or five years and have found it to be adequate. Fixtures and furniture may be a bit outdated, but the bathrooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the mini fridge sufficient for our drinks and snacks. I stayed there a month ago, and what a disappointment. I was put on the 'ghetto' side (the North side) and the game definitely changed. The room was a wreck. No mini-fridge at all. A disgusting stain on the carpet. The door didn't shut / lock properly. I found roaches in the bathroom. The sink only had hot water. I did mention the roaches and lock to management. They did not seem very concerned. I am not sure I will give them my business again, although I will be returning to St. Pete next weekend. Other posters are correct, seems like some drug-dealing is going on, and generally a degenerate atmosphere. Too bad b/ c it is reasonable and until last month I found it adequate. If you do go make absolute sure you are on the Pool side of the building, in order to avoid that bad atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoisLane_S17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I think alot of drugs are being sold there and ghetto people hanging out all day kids running around hair weave everywhere got people standing around acting ghetto and looking you up and down like they never seen someone before I guess because we didn't look like a ghetto hot mess like they did cars with loud music playing you can't even hear the TV our rest its very ghetto and people smoking weed and that's sad because it can really be a great place its family owned and they have it looking nice to bad ghetto black folks who don't know how to act lives there

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelledax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#28 of 42 in St. Petersburg
180 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
209 reviews
6.3 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#18 of 42 in St. Petersburg
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
758 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#23 of 42 in St. Petersburg
110 reviews
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayway Inn

Property: Bayway Inn
Address: 4400 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4549 (Formerly Knights Inn)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayway Hotel St. Petersburg
Bayway Inn St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing