We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very proper property with an excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very proper property with an excellent staff”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at the Vinoy during a recent trip to St. Pete, and found it to be a very special property. It has been renovated in the last 10 years or so, and really brought back to a sense of grandeur. The room was relatively simple, but comfortable, and the staff ensured we did not have any unanswered questions. The breakfast buffet was in a dining area with hand painted murals and a nice bar area in the center, which was nice, but the actual selection of food could have been a little more given the price. All in all, this will be a hotel to consider for a future trip to St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    458
    172
    56
    31
See reviews for
338
623
53
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
301 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We normally do not stay at such high end resorts but it was definetly worth it. The staff was totally dedicated to doing whatever they could for us. The tower rooms with balconies were perfect except for 2 monor issues. Room 372 had a bathroom door that is warped or someting, it would not close at all. The other issue was the king bed comes with a queen top sheet which is not easy to share between two adults...and we are small people. Highly recommend staying here in view of negative reviews of other nearby hotels in downtown.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the tower, with balconies. If you can afford it, get a first floor room with a jaccuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAMAPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocoee, fl
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We ran the Women's St. Pete half marathon and stayed at this hotel. Samantha the desk clerk was extremely kind and friendly. She was helpful in the check in and out process. House keeping was great too. They brought everything extra we needed and even included some extra towels that we didn't. The pool area was beautiful and the poolside good and service were exceptional as well. I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lotsofopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is an old "pink palace" Florida hotel (similar in style to Don Cesar on St. Pete Beach). The rooms in the older part of the hotel are a bit small and are beginning show their age. Rooms on the back of the hotel overlook AC units ... thus some noise. The rooms in the newer tower are better with more updated bathrooms and larger room spaces with balconies. The big, heated pool and the exercise area are great (and complimentary classes are a nice touch). The prices for buffet breakfast is very high; a "grab and Go" breakfast on the verandah works at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: If you can get one in the new Tower (from the 1990's) the bathrooms are more up-to-date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Location is perfect, hotel staff is excellent, and the lobby cafe offers many delicious food & drink items! However, my room was very tired looking, and overpriced. I went to enjoy some spa services, and was quite pleased, especially with massages from Paul and Christine. The foot ritual treatment with Katie was outstanding. The quality of the services and their professional providers more than made up for the lack of a spa environment. The Vinoy magazine found in my room states "opulent day spa and salon" ... I only noticed two treatment rooms towards the rear of the salon and two in the fitness center, around the corner from the spa and where you'll find the showers, steam, sauna, jacuzzi and lockers. Very inconvenient for guests and not conducive to relaxation. Never the less, you will receive great treatments.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpio11365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was nice! I loved the view of the bay. The only thing that would make it better is if it was on the beach! (Which you just can't do! ) Super close to a ton of restaurants and again the view of the bay was amazing. The hotel restaurant was also good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditzgrl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey after your visit to the Vinoy Resort and Golf Club. We appreciate your kind words and are so glad that all went well during your stay. Please visit us again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

we refer to places like the vinoy as BOD's. big old dumps. i'm here now in a tiny room that smells slightly of mildew thinking about the many ways the management squeezes extra revenue out of the guests. parking, internet services, drink prices, meal prices etc. do yourself a favor if you visit st. petersburg and investigate the new boutique hotels here. the vinoy is not a good value.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing