We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent two days in St. Pete at this hotel. It was a leisurely stay with our kids. Pool was heated to 82 degrees, gym was great, along withe the food and rooms. I highly recommend this hotel on your next stay in St Pete! Only downside was food/parking is very pricey, though expected at a place like this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    446
    165
    51
    28
See reviews for
328
603
51
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Vinoy is absolutely the best. About six months ago, I stayed at the Vinoy with my wife and three kids for Father’s Day. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to return for our next vacation, which turned out to be Christmas.

At first, I wasn’t sure we should take the kids to St. Petersburg for Christmas. After all, palm trees and sail boats don’t exactly fit the classic Christmas post card image. But, I really wanted to go back to the Vinoy. When I read, on the website, that the Vinoy’s pool would be open, and heated, I knew I could convince the kids to forego a more traditional Christmas setting.

In the end, we were actually able to have it both ways. The kids were able to swim in the pool on Christmas Eve. Christmas morning, they opened presents next to the Vinoy’s beautiful tree. After opening presents, they went swimming again. Then, that night, we walked through the city’s Christmas lights display, in the park right across the street from the Vinoy. I can’t imagine a better Christmas.

Once again, however, it was the people that made our stay a truly wonderful experience. As before, John Gernenz went out of his way to help me set up my reservations. When we arrived, there was a card from John in our room welcoming us back to the Vinoy on top of a tray of breads, cheeses, and gourmet cupcakes for the kids. My wife was so impressed that she said, half joking, “Can we just live at the Vinoy?!”

John Gernenz is the epitome of a professional. But, it wasn’t just the managers who made us feel welcome. We were made to feel welcome by every member of the staff. Despite the fact that they were working through the holiday, every member of the staff we encountered wished us an enthusiastic merry Christmas. Matt, one of the cooks at Alfresco’s, even came out of the kitchen to surprise my kids with some vanilla ice cream.

The Vinoy is an architectural masterpiece, inside and out. Built in 1925, it has history. Situated between parks on the edge of Tampa Bay, overlooking the Pier, it has location. It has a marina, a golf course, tennis courts and a spa. But, it’s the staff that makes it great; the attention to detail, the personal touches, the genuine friendliness.

When check-out time arrived, I purchased a stone plaque with a vintage post card image of the Vinoy painted on the front. As I reached in my wallet, my seven year old son told the woman behind the store counter, “My dad loves this hotel.” He’s right. I’ll be back with the family just as soon as I can.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessetgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us over the holiday. So glad that you and your family enjoyed the warm weather, palm trees and your stay at the Vinoy. I enjoyed your priceless story of your son pointing out your love of this property. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your return in the future. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Vinoy over Thanksgiving and truly enjoyed all the Vinoy had to offer. We particularly enjoyed the historical aspect and the buildings architecture. Our experience was off to a great start when greeted at the front porch by hotel staff upon our arrival, and the hospitality throughout our stay. It was a great pleasure enjoying cocktails at the front porch bar, relaxing at the pool lounge area, dinning at the hotel, and carousing around the lovely village of St Pete's.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Before our arrival I contacted the hotel's concierge to arrange for private transportation from the Tampa Airport to the hotel. I explained that I needed a vehicle which would accommodate a motorized mobility scooter. in just a few minutes time, my transportation needs were taken care of. After answering several questions on what our interests are, we were furnished with great recommendations for dining and sight seeing. Water front property, beautiful lobby, well furnished rooms, lovely restaurants and a truly caring staff ensures a memorable stay. I did not use the spa but it looked inviting.

Room Tip: Our room had a hot tub on the balcony - a great idea to relax and enjoy your privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Vinoy the first weekend in December. We could not have picked a better location for a quick weekend getaway. Every staff member we encountered from check-in, to valet to the concierge offered the most outstanding service. The heated pool was lovely during the day and the live music on the patio in the evenings was enjoyable. It was a pleasant surprise to discover a winter festival of lights occurring the same weekend in the park just in front of the Vinoy. The lights were beautiful. We had drinks and appetizers on the patio, everything was delicious. There are several great restaurants in walking distance from the hotel, but not much shopping. We did not have to get in the car all weekend. Definitely a perfect location for a short weekend getaway.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the tea garden which was very close to the lobby elevators. Our friends w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank npmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Living in the Tampa Bay area, I have always been fascinated by the Vinoy Hotel. I have gone there several times for dinner or drinks, but had never stayed there until late October. I spent one night there, but wished I would have spent the entire weekend. My room was in one of the newer tower overlooking the pool. The room was large and very clean. There were several events going on at the hotel, but you wouldn't have known it unless you were in the main lobby. Every one at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. I look forward to my upcoming stay in 2014.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I was here for two nights for business. I decided to take my wife along and I am so glad I did. The room was large and quite. I am a Marriott Gold Elite member and have come to expect good things from the Marriott hotel brand. I travel often to Washington DC and Miami and have become accustomed to the JW line of quality. Although not a JW the Vinoy measured up. The lobby was wonderfully decorated for Christmas and the hotel staff was warm and friendly. It felt like a museum and a five star hotel rolled up in one. The pool area was awesome! Heated water and extremely large with plenty of area to relax. My wife indulged in the spa and really enjoyed all it had to offer including her favorite spa treatment, the steam room. Defiantly coming back with the kid. St Petersburg downtown was also very enjoyable. Very comparable to Brickel area of Miami financial district. The park even had a manger scene (shocking now days).

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OutSidelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing