We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renaissance Vinoy - A Historical Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Renaissance Vinoy - A Historical Charm”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I've stayed here a few times and each time, it's a dream.
The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
The beds are dreamy and you just melt into sleep after a busy day of swimming, or sightseeing!

The atmosphere is great - by the marina (bay) with comfortable couches, tiki torches and casual relaxation.

The pool is fantastic - lots of towels, you can get sunscreen if you forget (even swim diapers!) and noodles.

This is a historical hotel and the chance to stay here really propels a vacation experience. I love the architecture, the inside decorations, furniture and theming.

It is a highlight and I would definitely return.

The food is outstanding and the convenience store (bakery items and coffee) is perfect!

Room Tip: I stayed in the main tower. Very nice to overlook Marina at night. In the wings, there is a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    471
    179
    57
    35
See reviews for
353
646
55
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lovely historical and elegant hotel. I appreciate the way the remodel preserved the beauty of the times when the Vinoy was a seasonal hotel. Our room was in the original part of the hotel and it was great; spacious, clean and a nice view too! Our bell hop reported his favorite rooms were in the "new" wing, but we were very happy with our location.

The 4 stars versus a 5 is due to the valet service as well as the service at the hotel restaurant/bar Marchand's. Just not up to the level of the 4 Seasons we have stayed at. Still a beautiful hotel in a lovely location and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is one fantastic resort and the folks running it know what customer service means. I cannot say enough great things about the way they helped make our weekend special. From the time I booked and even after I stayed, it was clear that I was in gear hands.

If you are looking for a great resort that is located in the heart of St. Pete and close to so many things to do, this is the place for you.

If you are looking for a great steak, try Fred's Steakhouse in the hotel. I would rank this up there with the best and it is a great place for an intimate dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I spent three nights at the Vinoy for a romantic getaway and it was perfect! The hotel was renovated but it still has the old 1920's charm. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were offered a special deal at check in, and they easily approved a late check out. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The lobby is beautiful and has a nice lobby bar. The pool was great and heated! The location of the resort is ideal. We didn't have to use our car for the entire weekend. Great restaurants, bars and museums are in walking distance. I definitely plan on returning!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What an historic treat situated right on the water! When we arrived, we were greeted and treated like royalty! Our rooms were fantastic and perfectly suited for our needs and wants. The beds were delightful! We took a little history tour of the hotel and marveled at the Chihuly chandelier in the ballroom! What a spectacular sight! We only live about 20 minutes away, but enjoy a periodic getaway to this grand hotel! The only slight drawback....we planned to have a family brunch on Sunday morning in the hotel, but it was $70 per person. Ouch! So we walked across the street and had a wonderful brunch there.
We will definitely come back! So many things to see and do in Downtown St. Petersburg!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Over Christmas week, we ducked out of family obligations for a night away at the historic Vinoy. It is a lovely property, and all of our interactions with staff were great. Rooms in historic properties can vary significantly. We were in the historic portion of the building, in a 5th floor room with a king bed. The size was large relative to other Renaissance properties we've stayed at. And, of course, the furnishings were similar (up to date, tasteful, comfortable bedding, clean room). The bathroom was up to date, pleasant, and clean. Robes are always a nice touch!

What nearly ruined our stay was the music from downstairs! Unfortunately, this is a property that nickles and dimes you on things, so I had gone downstairs to the lobby for the free wi-fi (rather than pay $10-15 for in-room wi-fi). That alone bugs me, but then the music in the lobby was so hard to take -- kind of hipster club music, which was really out of keeping with the property, and made sitting in the otherwise lovely surrounding on the front porch (or in the weirdly decorated lobby) unpleasant. So I finished up my business and went upstairs to escape the music only to find that the bar downstairs had a live band playing from 5-7. Thinking it was just the crappy lobby music that was somehow making its way to our room, I called the front desk. When I learned that there was really no escape or way for them to turn the music down, I decided to "grin and bear it", but it was an extremely painful stretch of time waiting for the music to stop. PLEASE PLEASE spend your next rennovation dollars on soundproofing the windows in the historic section so future guests don't have to suffer.

Once the music stopped, the hotel instantly transformed into the gem that it is.

The illy coffee available at the little shop in the lobby is great, and at least one barrista knows what she's doing (one of my lattes was superb, the other just okay).

We opted for the breakfest buffet, which is rather pricey, but jam-packed (with things like omelets and waffles to order, smoked salmon, lots of fresh fruit). The price is comparable to a similar buffet at a nice Carribean resort, so not out of line for what you get, but not a bargain, either. Also, the lovely restaurant offers ala carte options for reasonable prices. Only drawback at breakfast was slow service for anything that relied on waitstaff (slow to take order, get coffee, get made to order items, get check).

One other note to corporate Marriott: why do you insist on making the Renaissance properties decorate their lobbies like southbeach clubs? The decor is jarring to me, and I would much prefer that this unique properties be allowed to decorate their lobbies tastefully and individually in keeping with the overall theme of the hotel.

We hope that we'll be able to stay at the Vinoy again and try out some of the amenities (pool, spa, etc.)

Room Tip: We stayed in the original building on the 5th floor in a bay view room. The room was lovely. Only dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fude4thot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Everyone at the Vinoy, staff and guests, were so pleasant and friendly. The staff was very accommodating and my favorite thing was that the heated pool was a wonderful temperature, even on cooler days. We had a lovely room and also enjoyed the top notch health club facility. Can't wait to come back another time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSnow241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,614 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 41 in St. Petersburg
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing