We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Several friends had recommended the Renaissance Vinoy as THE place to stay in St. Petersburg and we are so glad they did. Our experience was perfect--from the greeting by the valets (dressed as a 1920s golfers) who parked our car to the young woman in the gift shop who offered to mail a letter for me at checkout time and everything in between. In fact, from the moment we walked up the steps to the huge veranda spanning the width of the hotel's front facade, we felt as if we were stepping back in time to a more gracious period, the only difference being this hotel offers all the modern amenities.

Our room was spacious and contained a very comfortable king bed from which we could watch the large flat screen TV or the gorgeous view of the harbor through the wall of windows. The bathroom was also large, modern, and equipped with a rain shower along with plenty of towels.

We enjoyed a glass of iced tea on the aforementioned veranda and later on, after a walk around the surrounding area which includes many shops, restaurants and museums, we relaxed there again with a pre-dinner glass of wine. We ate dinner in the main hotel dining room ( there are 4 from which to choose) and it was superb, especially considering that the chef needed to accommodate my husband's dietary requests. Service was flawless. Ditto for breakfast the next morning.

Because we could only stay one night, we didn't get a chance to try many of the hotel's other amenities--gorgeous pool, fitness facility, tennis courts, spa etc. This is a true resort, right in St. Petersburg. The single most outstanding feature of this hotel is the courteous attention to detail provided by the expertly-trained staff. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizajane47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    457
    172
    56
    31
See reviews for
337
622
53
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We recently spent a weekend at the Renaissance Vinoy Resort - February 28 & March 1, 2014. It was amazing. The hotel has old, classic and classy charm, but has all the "modern" amenities. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the location is great. We parked the car on Friday and did not need it again until we left on Sunday. Some of the near by restaurants are also great. We walked everywhere - which is something we enjoy. Do not miss the pool or the outside bar. We look forward to going again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Springs, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband booked a stay for us at the Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club in St. Petersburg. We checked in at 4:30 p.m. hoping to take a short nap before dinner, however, there was a loud hammering and scraping noise coming from the room on the floor above us. Hoping that it would stop, we tried to wait it out. Finally at 5:30 p.m. we went to the front desk to ask if there was construction going on in the hotel. We were told that there was no construction and they could not understand what the noise could be. We asked if they could look into it. When we returned to the room at 8:00 p.m. all was quiet.
We had a room on the bottom floor because we wanted a private hot tub. When we booked the room we were not aware that the hot tub is open to the surrounding area so there is no privacy when you are in the hot tub. As we were sitting in the hot tub, a man and his dog walked into the grassy area, about 15 feet from where we were sitting and the dog "did his business." Personally, I expect a better environment for $400 a night. As far as the room goes, it was nothing special. I have stayed in nicer rooms for 1/4 of the price. The room was huge, but it was all just wasted space as other than the bed, two nightstands, a dresser holding a television, a desk and a single armchair with side table there was no other furniture so unless you want to sit on the bed, at the desk or in the single armchair to watch television or read you are out of luck. In the bathroom there was a shower but no bathtub and every time we used the shower, the bathroom floor flooded even though we made sure that the shower curtain was inside the shower.
There were only four "single bulb" lamps to light the entire room which, unfortunately was inadequate for the size of the room. If you were sitting right next to one of the lamps you could read, but you needed to be right next to one. The air conditioning was also inadequate for the size of the room. We set the thermostat at 65 degrees before we left for dinner, but the room was still uncomfortably warm when we returned and never got better. The area around the hot tub had algae present which made me wonder how clean the hot tub was and there was obvious chipped paint on the wall of the patio. At one point, we wanted to use our computer, but to log onto the internet you had to pay a fee of almost $10. You would think that for the prices the hotel charges they would throw in the internet for free. They also charged us $20 for valet parking, although we parked ourselves. However, after my husband showed our parking garage ticket, they did change the charge to $14, the price of self-parking. They also gave us a $50 credit because of the dog incident, but even at $350 this place was way overpriced. We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not choose a hot tub room if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb12561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Guest satisfaction has always been and continues to be our number one priority here at the Vinoy. As you can imagine, I was sorry to read of your disappointment during your visit here. This is certainly not what our guests typically experience so if you could please contact me directly, I would love the opportunity to discuss the comments that you mentioned in more detail. I also want to provide feedback to the team here as we are always striving to be better and ultimately the best. It is important for me to regain your confidence so I look forward to your call. My number is 727-824-8028.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous, and the staff is amazing. The location is convenient to the Museum of Fine Arts as well as many other things. Both restaurants at the hotel were great. The 3 Little Pigs sandwich at Marchand's is delicious, as well as the chicken Caesar at Alfresco while lying by the beautiful pool. They have wonderful gas lamps surrounding the outdoor lounge so you don't even get chilly in the evening. I am still in awe of the vastness of this hotel. Their security is second to none. I forgot my key card and my ID was in the room. I jumped through all kinds of hoops to get into our room, but was so grateful for their carefulness. This hotel is a must stay at least once in your life.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noleman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Vinoy Resort and Golf Club for your most recent family getaway. It sounds like you enjoyed so many of our amenities here, most especially our food! Our culinarians are so talented and have been recognized many times over for their creativity and amazing ability to prepare dishes that are beyond incredible. Your comment about our wonderful Security Department was also appreciated. Sometimes guests are not as understanding, but it was good to know that you recognized why we ask for identification and other questions before allowing a guest into the room. Thanks for your support with that and for pointing it out in your review. I will be sure to commend our team on a job well done. Please visit us again, and if I may assist in any way, feel free to reach out to me. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Vinoy is a exquisite historic hotel. We were received warmly and efficiently and taken to our room by a verrry helpful bellman. We used the food service on several occasions, mostly breakfasts and evening cocktails. The bar/veranda and patio areas were exceptional. The food and drink were fine, the service generally excellent. We booked a room in the original building with a view which was lovely. Some might like the newer building as the rooms had balconies but we'd stay in the original building again. There were nice amenities in the room, though a bit dated and no Ipod doc. There were excellent linens on the bed. Housekeeping was ok. We loved the location of the hotel as we could walk to many local St. Petersburg venues and enjoyed the drive through their lovely historic neighborhood. We’re so glad the Vinoy was saved and renovated years ago. We are happy to recommend it highly to others.

Room Tip: Our room (543) faced southeast with a lovely view of the marina & bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrails7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
What a pleasure it was to read your review of your most recent stay at the Vinoy Resort and Golf Club. You touched on so many highlights of staying here including the prime location; the friendly service; the history and so much more. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future, and if I can be of any assistance in making that happen, please feel free to reach out to me. We are happy to hear of another satisfied customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel was beautiful. Nice to stay in a hotel with so much character and history. Lots of outside sitting areas overlooking the bay and marinas. And in the best location to visit the downtown arts district and great restaurants all within walking distance. The Chihuly sculpture in the lobby was fantastic! There was also a beautiful and quite large park that ran along the water on the bay side that was scenic and relaxing.
The staff was very friendly. If I had any complaints at all it would concern the service at breakfast which always seem to take longer than necessary. A property I certainly recommend and will stay at again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Our history is so much a part of who we are here at the Vinoy, and it is always refreshing when guests appreciate that. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us whenever you have the opportunity. I do apologize that your breakfast service was slow. I know how frustrating that can be, so I am sorry for the inconvenience. I'm glad to know that it wouldn't change your mind on returning and hope that you do so in the near future. Thank you for your time in writing such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Overall, the Renaissance Vinoy Resort is very nice. I reviewed the positives and negatives.

POSITIVES:
• The Vinoy is located in a very eclectic location.
• The Vinoy has a very nice, vintage appeal. Beautiful inside and out!
• The Vinoy's property is very beautiful.
• The staff (front desk, valet and housekeeping) is very nice and courteous.
• Room service and housekeeping is very efficient.
• VALET: Quick service.
• The size of our King room was larger than most hotels. It included a desk, couch (w/ sleeper), and chair.
• Two decent sized closets.
• Very good selection of TV channels.
• The bathroom is very large.

NEGATIVES:
• BEDDING: I would give this a "Fair" rating.
1. The bed needed to be replaced.
2. By today's standards, it was old technology
3. Poor pillows
4. Queen sheets seemed too small for the mattress
• ROOM AMENITIES:
1. Since we paid $240/night, we felt that Marriott should include free WiFi in the room.
2. Not enough drawer space.
3. Power: (a) There aren't enough receptacles in the room for two people in today's technology (night stand and desk). (b) All receptacles need to be replaced because the holes are too loose for our device plugs. (c) In addition, the power seems to fluctuate. Perhaps the voltage is too low.
4. Cordless phone needs to be replaced. It wasn't working properly. When this phone rang for a wake-up call, we could not answer it.
5. Both peep holes were scratched up and need to be replaced. This prevented us from seeing anyone outside the door. This is not very safe.
6. A microwave and refrigerator should be included in the price of the room.
7. Our room had a very nice balcony, but it overlooked the roofs of the other buildings (you see A/C units and trash dumpsters).
8. Our flat screen TV picture quality was grainy on most channels, perhaps because of a poor signal.
9. The bathroom fan is very noisy and old and should be replaced. It doesn't dissipate the steam even when the door is wide open.
• HOUSEKEEPING: Overall, this gets a very good rating. However, one maid either rushed through sheet changing or had a difficult time with ours.
• Noisy A/C units from other buildings next to our room.

OTHER POINTS:
• The elevator is very small, as if guests back in 1925 (when this hotel opened) were smaller.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSWAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing