We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Business Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very nice stay for a one day/night business meeting. The hotel is very open and extremely beautiful and the rooms were wonderful with a nice big real king size bed. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. Enjoy the stay each time I am here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smackie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    452
    167
    53
    30
See reviews for
335
612
51
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a beautiful grand old hotel, located right on the water. It was constructed a loooong time ago, but don't worry the rooms are updated and spacious. The only things that really show the hotel's age are 1) elevators are SMALL 2) you end up doing a lot of walking to get from your room, to the lobby, to the parking garage...but that's really not a complaint. Because of these 2 factors, if you have any sort of physical restrictions (like using a walker or wheelchair), make the desk staff aware when you make your reservation and plan to utilize the valet service.

Parking was $14 a day with in and out privileges, valet was maybe $20-30? Compared to Chicago, Baltimore, DC, or anyplace in California, I felt like we were getting a huge bargain! The gym is PHENOMENAL!!! They have a private spin studio and regular spin and aerobics classes available, as well as free weights and cardio machines. Gym use is included in your stay. There's a spa, a shop, several restaurants, and a nice rooftop pool with a waterfall and sundeck which overlooks the bay full of yachts. At the entrance to the hotel are outdoor couches shaded by umbrellas during the day and heated by fire pits for evening.

Rooms were nicely appointed and plenty large. Bathrooms were good-sized and nicely refinished with the toilet in a separate room. In many old hotels, there's a chronic issue with being cramped but that is not the case here. The hallways were oddly cold...like mid-60s. All the rooms seem to have a nice view too. If you have children...you might ask them to REMOVE the "automatically charging fridge" prior to your stay, so your kiddos don't rack up a huge bill. If you need to store formula or something in the fridge, you'll have to request a different one.

Location is fantastic. You can walk to restaurants, bars, and parks. There is a running/biking trail along the water that many people were using throughout the day. The drive in and out of the property takes you through historic neighborhoods and we enjoyed the architecture of both the hotel and the surrounding homes.

All staff members were friendly and helpful, the property is stunning inside and out, and I highly recommend it. I cannot speak to the golf course or marina as we are not golfers and don't have a boat. The one offering which is lacking is a weekend brunch buffet...that would've been the icing on the cake. The restaurant, Marchand's, does offer brunch it just wasn't on the epic scale we were expecting. Since this is a resort property, there is no executive lounge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fullyloadedtercel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Unbelievable in depth and acrros the board training of all personel. It is a pleasure to be able to want something, asked for it, and then receive it within a acceptable time period. This hold \s through the whole hotel and golf club.Accomodations are superb. Cleanliness is as good as could be wanted. Pool area is a joy and self parking is a huge plus. The only down side is the formal dining room. Very much over rated and big disappointment. Quite expensive and nothing to warrant the expense. Nothing.. All oin all, Go and enjoy a fine hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEEEMBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We went to the Vinoy for a romantic weekend. We did not know that there was a huge car show going on at Vinoy Park. Thankfully, we arrive on Saturday and the show wasn't until Sunday. Had we arrived on Sunday, it would have been a disaster. The driving and parking around the hotel were a nightmare on Sunday. The hotel itself was really great. We stayed in the original building and only criticism we had was that the air conditioning made the room feel humid. I would really like to see the hotel invest in a dehumidifier. The service was very good. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the huge front porch and enjoying the breeze and view of the water.

Lastly, the hotel gym is one of the best I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a view toward the front of the hotel. The view of the marina is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stay at the Vinoy almost every year to escape the MI winter, visit family and enjoy the art and culture of the lovely, revitalized downtown St. Pete area. This year I came down for Art in Bloom weekend at the MFA St Pete. My room was wonderful, quite large, with a view of the Bay. The pool is lovely and the gym and tennis facilities are great. Everything you need is within walking distance, so no need to rent a car. The Art in Bloom luncheon was served at the hotel and was excellent. My only minor complaint was that the margaritas at the bar tasted more like a Tom Collins than a margarita, order the mojito instead. The staff is always friendly, from check in, housekeeping, coffee bar and pool side service. I stayed from March 5-10 and enjoyed every minute. Kudos especially to the housekeeping staff! I had a problem in the Spa where nail polish was accidentally spilled on my slacks and they credited my account and made it right and were extremely helpful and gracious. The spa is very nice and I wish for the sake of the staff that more took advantage of the nice facilities. But the hotel has a lot of conventions and business travelers who are there for meetings only. Even though the hotel is always busy, the rooms are very quiet. I much prefer this hotel to the ones on the beach. Beach Drive is great with all the new restaurants. Head over to the beach for the day and then come back the the Vinoy - a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a2realhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
It was a pleasure to read your review of all of the highlights that we want our guests to know about the Vinoy including comfortable accommodations; incredible Health Club; clean facility; convenient location to cafes; museums; shops; tennis; friendly staff, great customer service, etc. And the list goes on and on. Being a repeat customer, you are well aware just how important our guests are to us, and we appreciate your loyalty and patronage. The Art in Bloom yearly event is certainly one that draws a large crowd of happy patrons. Thank you for being a part of that wonderful cause. We look forward to providing you with a big warm "welcome back" to the Vinoy on your next trip here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
387 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for a business conference and found the hotel architecture and decor to be tastefully interesting. The grounds, with the exception of having to walk amongst the cars to get from the hotel to the sidewalk out front, were beautiful. The staff we encountered were polite and attentive. Upon arrival we were told our room was not yet ready and it was recommended that we upgrade to a bay view for an extra $30 a night. Well, we took the bait (and the room) but after reading the other reviews am left wondering if this is a standard practice to unload the higher priced rooms. While the room did have a bay view, it was also across from the elevator and rather noisy. All in all, this was a very nice hotel but a little overrated. Would we stay again if in the area? Certainly but definitely wouldn't opt for an "upgrade".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Vinoy Hotel is wonderful! We spent a week at the Hotel . Everything was perfect! 5 star pampering! View from our balcony was breathtaking! We stayed at the hotel in April a great time for Florida!

Room Tip: Make sure if you want the view ask for a room with a balcony on the water side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandymilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing