We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent with minor reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent with minor reservations”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a top of the line establishment and I found the facilities to be excellent and the staff, regardless of who they were or what capacity they were working in to be just terrific. The location is great too!

However, for such a famous hotel, I did find some minor irritations. The bathroom door was warped on the bottom. No big deal. The iron in the room was an inexpensive lightweight brand, called Voyager. Trying to freshmen up some of my slacks and shirts was a tremendous chore with this cheap plastic toy iron.

I ordered a steak, $36 dollars from room service and it was dry, cool and fairly tasteless.

The "Business Center" is two computers, one printer and one fax. They charge you for everything. About $6 for 15 minutes time on the computer, and $1.38 per pager to print, assuming you can get the printer to print. I was charged for about 6 pages which never printed.

None of these are deal breakers. Just minor irritations.

If it wasn't for these few minor issues I would have awarded five stars.
They do have other computers and printers where you can print your airline boarding pass for free.

Room Tip: I do not think there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    450
    166
    53
    30
See reviews for
335
609
51
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Long weekend, thought it would be fun to stay overnight at the beautiful Vinoy not far from home and just chill! This building has a fabulous history, major renovations and is a mere stroll from lots of St. Pete eateries, drinkeries, and museums. It is smack dab on the basin and has nearby parks for strolling. What it didn't have was our room ready on time! We waited over an hour, getting a comp drink for our troubles. I'll admit the extra martini made me feel a little better as we moved into the newly refurbished lobby and watched the Rays game in the cozy sitting area that felt like a nicely appointed living room. Our room was ok, but like other parts of the hotel, not meticulously cleaned, a towel was left on the balcony, smudged mirror, and we killed 7 mesquitos in the bathroom. With an extra hour for cleaning a room I expected better. I got a wonderful rate through the Historic Hotel site which prompted this stay as the regular rate is rather high. This was Sunday before Memorial Day-there appeared to be a few weddings going on and the pool was loaded with kids and families. To me this is not really a young family location, the pool is too small accommodate fathers encouraging their kids to jump into the pool right next to others and it felt a bit like a tiny theme park pool. The pool staff was very friendly and appeared to be working hard to keep up with things even as the sky darkened and the wind started picking up and tossing the umbrellas which were taken down quickly! We scampered back to our room to get ready for dinner! All night I heard a TV droning from some other room...could not tell exactly where or I would have called front desk to complain. The views and the balcony rooms are really nice and I still need to get into Marchands as that room is beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura7Clearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Vinoy. We certainly appreciate the positive feedback as well as the constructive criticism. Both help us to learn and grow. Please know that your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments in an effort to focus on the areas that you pointed out. While we certainly tried to prepare in advance for a very busy holiday weekend, it sounds like there were certain circumstances that we might have made improvements to. I do apologize for any frustration and inconvenience you may have been caused. When your travels bring you to this area again, please contact me directly so that I can ensure that we provide a more positive stay for you. Thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For years this historic hotel sat abandoned on one of the greatest pieces of land in downtown St. Petersburg. In recent years it has been restored to its original magnificence. All rooms are great, dining and common areas are wonderful, and it's a great place to lay back and enjoy walking to downtown attractions or using the resort amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaBackroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here for a conference for a period of 5 days and this was an excellent hotel and event space on all levels. A unique and interesting property unlike most in Florida. A lot of history and charm to be found here and only steps from Tampa Bay and Downtown St. Pete. If you aren't tied to the beach and looking for a luxe and romantic getaway, wedding location or conference spot, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
After spending five days at a conference here at The Vinoy, you certainly experienced all aspects of our resort and therefore your raving review certainly warrants credit. I appreciate the newly found confidence you have in us and was pleased to read all of your positive comments. Thank you. I hope you will have an opportunity to return to The Vinoy in the near future to explore more of what we have to offer here and in the area. So much to discover! Hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Overall it was wonderful. Was a fantastic stay to where I could go on and on. Only thing is, the room need atleast mini-refrigerators. We pay good money to stay there. A fridge is necessary. But loved our stay there

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V-dro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Architecturally interesting and fun-great restaurant options, close proximity to downtown St Petersburg activities. Pleasant and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and spacious rooms. Some areas a bit dated.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pvillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Vinoy for a conference & it is a beautiful hotel with a lot of charm. My room with a king bed was tastefully decorated & the bed was comfortable. My view left a lot to be desired but I didn't request a certain view at check in so that's my fault.

The room wasn't cleaned until late in the afternoon but I was in meetings for most of the day so it didn't bother me. The food was phenomenal & the employees were very friendly. The location is great & within walking distance of some great restaurants, shops & museums. The Dali museum is definitely worth exploring.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,285 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing