We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I retreat to the Vinoy a few times a year for a "stay-cation" to enjoy the wonderful restaurants and beautiful scenery in downtown St. Petersburg. This year we booked a Bay View room for Fourth of July for our entire family, to include two young children. What an amazing experience. I called ahead and asked for a good angle to view the fireworks (held in the Bay just outside the hotel) since I wasn't sure how long my children would last. Our room was perfect and my children had their best Fourth of July ever. Room service breakfast was timely, delicious and plentiful. The staff was helpful, caring and did whatever it took to ensure we felt special. We will stay again and again.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WJA604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    465
    175
    56
    32
See reviews for
342
632
54
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Vinoy for the first time as a weekend getaway and were blown away by the historic beauty of the facility and by the level of gracious service by the entire staff. Everyone from housekeeper to bellstaff smiled and said hello anytime they passed you in the hallway, and if they saw you looking as you needed assistance in the slightest, they were quick to offer help.

We loved the pool with the cute lounge flags you could raise anytime you needed service, and the food throughout the hotel was excellent, if a bit pricey.

The Vinoy is the perfect venue for enjoying St. Petersburg's re-emerging waterfront and downtown. We would highly recommend it if you're looking for a special getaway.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main hotel, which has been restored. Although the rooms may be a little smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My office held a function here a few weeks back, and boy was it a disappointment. To start off the day, there wasn't enough parking for even half of our office. People were forced to find parking on the street, at the park, anywhere that wasn't the hotel. Valet was no help here either, simply telling us everything is full - thanks, we figured as much.

After a late start due to the parking situation, "breakfast" was provided. This consisted of warm-ish coffee (in dirty mugs or a paper cup), some odd pastries that were still half frozen, and an assortment of not-so-fresh fruit. There was a wait staff in the morning refilling the water on the tables and clearing our breakfast - most of which were semi-friendly.

By lunch, things just got worse. Food was buffet style in three stations, no problem - we serve lunch at work this way, we got this. But as all 300+ of us started lining up in whichever line was closest - we were promptly YELLED at by staff to move. "YOU CAN'T ALL STAND OVER HERE - YOU ALL NEED TO MOVE AND PICK A DIFFERENT LINE. YOU'RE IN THE WAY!" Friendly, right? Perhaps your hotel staff should have planned this out better...?

Once we all got our food, some outside seating was provided with a couple umbrellas, but every single umbrella wasn't even near a table. As lunch was wrapping up, more wait staff was bouncing around snapping up people's plates - whether they were done or not. A friend sitting next to me had gone to the bathroom and left half her meal on her plate. I had to defend it with my life, 4 different exceptionally rude ladies tried to snatch it up, rolling their eyes at me when mentioning she was not yet finished. One even said "This is ridiculous, either she is here or she is done."

Another small complaint is that none of the valet/concierge/staff knew where anything was located in the downtown St. Pete area. You're supposed to be the most well-known hotel here, and none of your staff can tell me which way the museum is?

I will NEVER book a room here, or refer this place to anyone. Poor, rude, and unhelpful service for every aspect of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ucfknights12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Ucfknights 12,

We are sorry to hear about your dissapointing experience here at our Resort. We would like the oppotunity to further discuss your experience with us in more detail at your convenience if you wish to do so. Please contact Tim Reuther or Mark Richardson at our main hotel number (727) 894-1000 during normal business hours. We do apologize and we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely beautiful historic hotel and decor and rooms reflect it. Beds were the best part, very comfortable. Service is what you would expect from a hotel like this. Pool area was very nice with a waterfall. Food and drinks overpriced but you expect that at a Resort of this type. Located in great walking distance for restaurants and bars also along the water. But, overall nothing amazing stood out. Would probably stay elsewhere for the price next visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tnbk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Tnbk2009 so great to hear the comment about our beds, we couldn't agree more. We always enjoy hearing about great service (hoping that's what one would expect :) ) On another note we regret that we missed an opportunitty to help you discover something new and exciting. We take pride in getting our guest out of the hotel and helping them see what St. Petersburg has to offer. If we ever get the chance to have you back please let our Navigator know you are up for great discoveries and we can customize a list of activities or sites to see while your visiting our city. Thanks for staying at the Vinoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful and it's in a great area, close to the Salvador Dali Museum, the Chilulily exhibit and some great walking areas. The room we had was average, nothing special. My complaint was that they really nickle and dimed their patrons. We were there for a wedding at the hotel, so we received a discount on the room which was very nice, normally over $300 per night. But parking was $20 per night, coffee was $3.50 for a small cup, our lunch at the bar was $92.00 before tip, and the clincher was paying $12.95 per day for internet! Wow, can you say chitnzy.

The wedding venue was beautiful and the reception area was great. I just thought the hotel needed to be a little more considerate with their prices. All of the staff, bellmen, valets, check in, restaurant staff were very nice, no complaints. This is a corporate thing, don't charge for every darn thing. Would a free cup of coffee and complimentary internet really hurt your bottom line? Hampton Inn doesn't have a problem, and they give free parking and breakfast, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Shiska thank you for sharing you stay with us and we hope you had a great time at the Wedding. Many of our guest enjoy the proximity of so many great exhibits and museums in walking distance, it's part of what gives St. Petersburg its charm. Sorry you didn't feel the value for you stay, when you come back for another visit please be sure to check out our Alfresco pool side restaurant. It has great fare and portion sizes are great with lunch entree prices rangeing from $9 - $18. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our trip to the Renaissance started on shaky ground. We arrived on a Saturday and the hotel was a disaster in terms of parking, attention to guests etc. because there was a wedding and half the rooms were booked by the wedding party. My husband is a lifetime platinum with Marriott so we expected to get a room with a view of the marina but we did not get one. There was no bottled water in the room either and for a resort property that charges high rates it was not what we expected. On Sunday the hotel redeemed itself. We were staying for almost 9 nights and were working from there while my kids were in a camp. They moved us to a smaller but water view room which was pretty. They dropped off water and soda's and even got us a small fridge. I got really ill during the trip and one day my husband went and packed me a toast and coffee from the restaurant below (so continental breakfast on the go). My husband had a video telecon and they allowed him to use their business facility for it. Overall they made up for what started out as a poor, overly priced hyped property. Area around is beautiful with a lot of nice restaurants. Nice walk around the water and lots of quaint little shops to explore. Overall a good stay in St. Petes. I had stayed at the Lowes Pink Palace hotel on St. Petes beach on an earlier trip, this hotel is much better than that one. It is not on the beach but the location and environment of this is much better.

Room Tip: Water facing rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The cultural center of St. Pete for 100 years, the refurbished Vinoy has been, and still is, the place to celebrate very special occasions. From it's outstanding location overlooking Tampa Bay and downtown St. Petersburg; its gardens, pools , and tennis courts, and fine classic rooms in the main building or spacious balcony rooms of the Tower...This is the place to be,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,553 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing