We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and classy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have been here a few times now on business and every time I stay I have a wonderful time. This Hotel is an old school hotel with upgrades but from the outside it still looks like a 1920's high class hotel. You are right next to a marina and lot's of shopping and dining right outside the hotel. A few years back the town of St. Petersburg spent a few million dollars on improving their Downtown area so I would suggest you go outside and see how nice it is just to walk all of the surrounding area, most of the roads behind and around the hotel are still Brick roads.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

They really did a great job of redoing the vinoy ! I lived in st Pete 38 yrs ago & the hotel was deserted & boarded up . Hadn't been used in years ! So glad someone came in & did a makeover ! Lots of original things used ! Lots if history !
Price was great for a one nite vist ( take in a ball game )

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorygirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Vinoy in St. Pete while attending a swim meet at the aquatic center in downtown St. Pete. Once again this hotel does not disappoint. The historic building is beautiful. The staff goes above and beyond to be courteous and helpful. One of the bell hops even remembers my kids from the last few times we have been there while in town for swim meets and always wishes them luck and encourages them. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The new tower with the balconies offers beautiful views and while affording privacy to sit and relax on the balcony. Large bathroom and closet too! The beds are comfortable. They also have activities for the kids. Friday night included a movie by the pool and root beer floats. The pool is beautiful with a waterfall you can go behind. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The tower rooms have a balcony and are closer to the parking garage and you self park. It makes it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the moment you drive up to the property til the moment you leave, all staff are focused on the customer experience. From the auto valet, to Front desk staff ( especially Michael), to wait staff, to pool staff, etc, the associates understand the concept of gracious service.
This hotel is a historic property and has the vibe of a bygone era. A few minor disconnects but definitely worth a return visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My fourth stay May have been the best. I like when they restore the classics. The rooms are modern but they saved the wonderful veranda. I do not usually spend much time in hotel bars but the veranda is a great place for a slow drink and some people watching.

Room Tip: The bay view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank neald58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have a destination wedding in St Petersburg & stayed at The Vinoy. We loved the location, the Verandah was relaxing - pool palatial, food yummy & overall our visit was memorable.


  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were greeted well, with bottled water at check-in, always a plus in Florida. The rocking chairs, on the veranda, make for a lovely evening; and the cocktail waitress was attentive, even in a very busy (under-staffed) atmosphere!
Here are the Vinoy disappointments.
1. The bathroom was VERY small. Can't remember having this small bathroom in any hotel, ever.
2. We were gone from the room from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m., and the room was not cleaned. Management called that evening, but did not offer to bring fresh towels, toiletries, etc.
3. Wifi costs $10 per day!
4. Worst eggs Benedict of my life, including the English muffins, which were more than half burned.
As a business person, I would say replace half of the meet-and-greeters in the lobby with waitresses on the veranda and housekeeping personnel.
Ending on a positive note, the hotel has a small snack/newspaper shop. While they didn't have a bottle of milk to sell, the shopkeeper did offer me a to-go cup of milk. Perfect! Bless her for her thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJRuchotzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Greetings from the VInoy, and thank you so much for your honest and fair review. I loved seeing all the compliments regarding the staff's service to you even during a busy time. Our staff aims to please so I will be sure to share your comments with them. I know they will be happy. As for your room not being cleaned in a timely manner, I do apologize. While that is an isolated situation, it is certainly inconvenient. On your next visit, please ask for a different type of room so perhaps the bathroom will better fit your needs and do join us in our lobby where the WIFI is completely free. Your constructive criticism is well noted, and I look forward to a future visit from you so you can let us know how we are doing. Safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,891 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Address: 501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £174 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing