We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, Class & Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Beautiful grounds in a great location. The room was large with two queen beds, a desk and a separate area with two chairs and a table. The bathroom was also a good size with double vanities and a separate toilet area. Plenty of space in the room which is nice when traveling with kids. The beds were very soft if you like soft beds. It felt great when we first laid down but we are not used to very soft beds so we didn't sleep well. The curtains blackout any light in the room which is great but makes it difficult to wake up in the morning since you don't realize it is daytime. We were on vacation so we didn't mind. The hotel has a nice pool area with two hot tubs and the the pool has a waterfall. We traveled during the week so it was not crowded. The hotel is close to restaurants and shops, and we enjoyed reading about its 90 year history, which made us appreciate the architecture around the massive lobby. We did not try the hotel restaurants as we prefer trying local eateries. Very happy with our choice and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CYWhite2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel, and staff! Ally our host, was superb at check in, very friendly and sweet. Went out of her way to explain the benefits options available to us during g our stay. As a gold elite, we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite, with 3 bathrooms, 5 balconies, and 3 separate living areas. Beyond and above service. Thanks to all for making our weekend special.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rmardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel, great staff. Went beyond what was expected of them, and at check-in Ally was a superb host, and was very excited about us and the presidential suite! Our room was not ready, so we were upgraded to the presidential suite, which was freaking nice with 5 balconies overlooking the different scenes of St. Pete.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Beds are amazing. Was there with a large group for wedding. All said the same. Service was excellent, from reception, waitstaff, etc. I'm amazed how people are so picky when writing reviews. I'm sorry I didn't look for cracked tiles! It is perfectly situated-abundance of restaurants and sights within walking distance. I look forward to a repeat visit.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Treated very well from beginning to end.Bathroom has no fan so plan on having the mirrors foggy.The a/c works well but need to set very low to get cold.The location is great, plenty of great places to eat in walking distance. If you plan on parking there, the cost is $15/day for self parking and $20 for valet, add $13 for internet (up to 5 devices) plus about another $25 in assorted taxes. Pool is gorgeous and service there is excellent, no shortage of towels or chairs, drinks were reasonable as well. Gym is clean with plenty of equipment, overall the hotel is a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

What a pleasure it was to read your review about The Vinoy and how you were treated well from the beginning to the end. Your detailed information and hints for other guests were appreciated. In addition, I did want to mention that we have plenty of street parking surrounding the resort which is an option for parking as well. As for the internet, we love to encourage our guests to join us in the lobby area / lobby bar where internet is complimentary. Great way to engage with other guests or just spend time in a nook reading or working on a laptop. Thanks for enjoying all that we have to offer here. It sounds like we may be welcoming you back in the near future, and we certainly look forward to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Vinoy Fri Aug 8 & 9. Hotel is excellent. Great location, atmosphere and service. BUT the restaurant is run by incompetants! Sunday morning at 10:30 am we went down for breakfast. The entire - very large restaurant was almost empty - yet - we were told there was a 40 minute wait for a table (the hostess was nasty). She tried to tell me that there were reservations for all the tables. There were at least 50 empty tables. We were told we could go to the bar and order from the menu (despite a bountiful buffet with food just left to spoil). The bar was packed and the bartenders was beside herself. There were 2 waiters in the entire restaurant and they were running around. We were served in the bar and left at 11:30. I have pictures. NO ONE ever arrived to sit at any of the tables. The entire restaurant remained empty. Many people were simply turned away. Shocking. I contacted management and was given the lie about the reservations. Clearly management has no idea what is going on.

Room Tip: You want to stay in the Tower is you can. Best views and comfort. I have a picture on Facebook of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NativeTUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I found out this Hotel was built in 1925 during my visit. The architecture both inside and out reflects that, without feeling dated or stale.

The entry and lobbies of the hotel are absolutely stunning. There is tons of outdoor seating. There is a beautiful lobby and bar inside. On the weekends there is a great crowd and vibe. That alone gives this hotel the "Cool" factor.

Service wise we found the staff to be incredibly accommodating. I would absolutely come back to this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette R, Manager at The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

It is always nice to welcome guests who have an appreciation for old-world charm and architecture, as it appears that you do. We like to consider ourselves "historically hip" combining the beauty of our legend with the new amenities and accommodations that we offer. Sitting on the veranda has a highlight of so many guests as they take in the morning sunshine with a cup of coffee or watch the comings and goings of our late-night guests over a cocktail. I love that you want to return and hope that we are able to welcome you back to our resort in the very near future. Hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.1 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
8.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club

Address: 501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-2620
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £151 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy
The Vinoy Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing