We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Bayfront for a night when we went to a Rays game. I had previously read some negative reviews of this hotel, and was pleased to find out those reviews were wrong. We were greated warmly upon arrival by the bellhop outside. The desk clerk was extremely pleasant on check and explained all the amenities. We were also surprised to find we were given a suite. It was next to the elevators, but did not interfere at all with our stay. We were able to signup for the shuttle to the Rays vs Angels game; be dropped off at gate 3, just a short distance from our seat. While waiting at the hotel for our trip time Scott came by to visit with us, making sure we had everything we needed. An outstanding young man. The shuttle driver, Marc, was pleasant as well while he made numerous trips to the stadium. My one suggestion is to have an additional shuttle or two running to pick up guests afterhe game. We exited the stadium around 11pm and had to wait for Marc's fourth trip back to pick us up at 11:30-11:40pm. We were the last two people waiting for pick up. Overall a very enjoyable stay and will do it again next year when going to a Rays night game. I will take my car to the game though so we don't have to wait so long inan unknown area the has no security presence.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveprophet, General Manager at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear RichM53,
I am very pleased that you found the Hotel and staff met and exceeded your expectations. The Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront was honored to be your host and glad that we could play a role in the overall success of your stay. Thanks and have a great day!

Dave Prophet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,642)
There are newer reviews for Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This wasn't as bad a Hilton as some reviews stated. They have definitely tried to dress up an older Hilton and at times it seems like lipstick on a pig. Bathroom was really small in regular room with some significant moisture related ceiling damage and rust ALL over towel holder in shower. Also, shower handle was about to come off and the one hotel phone in my room died for reasons unknown.

Staff was great and very friendly. The entry foyer and general area is well done in the rehab. Great location in St Pete and you can park and walk most places from here.

Overall, I think I'd stay here again when coming to St Pete as I am a Hilton fan.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Frodo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveprophet, General Manager at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Frodo B,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Your comments about the friendliness of the staff and appearance of the public areas is much appreciated. As I am sure you noticed the guest rooms have been completely renovated. The bathrooms are next to be renovated which will address some of the concerns you noted. We look forward to your next visit and serving you!

Dave Prophet,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We actually won a night's stay and Ray's tickets as part of a charity auction. The hotel was beautiful, a great location (with free shuttle service to Tropicana Field), VERY friendly staff - everything was top notch! We had a beautiful view of the bay from our very clean, comfortable room and also enjoyed the Executive Suite. A great view from there too - we actually watched the Tampa Bay Rowdies play while enjoying great appetizers and cold drinks. We had a fabulous experience and will for sure be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank flgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveprophet, General Manager at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear flgoose,
Congratulations on winning the night's stay and Ray's tickets! Your kind and gracious comments regarding the Hotel facilities and the exceptional service and attention you received from the entire staff are greatly appreciated. We look forward to your return!

Dave Prophet,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

On holiday in Anna Maria, like to take in a game when we are in US.... Wasn't aware of rays package, asked can we upgrade when we arrived, No...why? Because you have prepaid through another site(Booking.com) wasn't told about shuttle,only realised because there was a list for it....surely if we couldn't upgrade , then ,"did you know there's a free shuttle/ also we can do a breakfast deal for you.... Hotel didn't appear busy( Monday night) ,we would have been more than pleased with that.... Family room for 3, one coffee cup and one shower gel....
On a positive when we mentioned this,was quickly rectified, the shuttle to the game and return was great and Starbucks was fine for breakfast and location was ideal but it's the little things that would make you want to return( or not)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichH851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveprophet, General Manager at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear RichH851,
Thank you for taking the time to respond and share your experience. It is through such candid feedback that we continue to improve upon our product and services. Unfortunately when a reservation is pre-paid through a third party, we do not have the ability to alter the reservation. I am happy to hear that the staff was quick to respond and rectify any concerns to ensure you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Dave Prophet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband as a gift rented a suite at the Hilton as a romantic gift. When we found out suite next to elevator we requested to be moved and still would pay for the suite we told no the hotel was full but since we were on the 11 th floor we should be able to deal with noise. It was horrible so much I went to the lobby at 2 am the elevator never stopped from weddings the Red Sox being in etc. etc. there response was they would offer us Hilton points how about a nights sleep we left next day disgusted. All folks do not rent suites unless you wish to ride the elevator noise. Will never stay again park bench would have been more comfortable. The staff were inexperienced and no manger to be found. Hilton gets a big fat f and We wasted over two hundred plus dollars for crap.
They used to have 2 shuttles, now good luck catching a ride...

Room Tip: Go to Marriot
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveprophet, General Manager at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear PaulM,
On behalf of the Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you endured. A sold out situation can make it very difficult to move rooms, however we do try everything possible to accomodate our guests. Please feel free to reach out to me directly. 727-894-5000

Dave Prophet,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I checked in check in was easy front desk was very polite courteous give me directions to the room give me a great room with a view I took a shower after a long flight the drain was plugged went down to the front desk mentioned it to them, went and got some lunch got back from lunch drain is fix room is clean nice place recommend it highly

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveprophet, General Manager at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Jim K,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront for your stay. Our front desk is very welcoming and they strive to give impeccable service to every guest. I am very pleased to hear the issue you experienced with the drain was resolved in a quick and efficient manner. Make sure to stay with us when your travel plans bring you back to the St Pete area.

Dave Prophet,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a fun filled Baseball weekend to watch the Tampa Bay Rays vs. Red Sox. We booked the Baseball package which included $20 worth of Rays bucks to use on food, drinks, beer or merchandise at the stadium, breakfast for 2 and shuttle to the game. I was very disappointed in the shuttle because if you didn't check in early and register for the shuttle the only time left was when the game started. We thought about walking the 1 mile to the stadium from the hotel but a staff member told us about the free trolley baseball stadium shuttle that was on Central Street just 1 block away. It was way to hot to walk that anyways and not worth paying a taxi cab in traffic for a fare that should be $6 but they would charge you more. Bathrooms were small though.The hotel did surprise us with a sweet gift upon arrival of Cracker Jacks, peanuts and a hand written note welcoming us to the hotel and to enjoy the game. Overall we had a great experience at the hotel and recommend it, it is close to downtown St. Pete and some great restaurants.

Room Tip: High floors have a great view of the marina and rooms further away from the elevator are great too...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveprophet, General Manager at Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Gabriela M,
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. Your feedback is appreciated and instrumental in helping us consistently improve. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the special gift and it helped make your stay memorable. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Dave Prophet,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtow...
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Address: 333 1st St. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-4342
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £120 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the downtown St. Petersburg waterfront district from Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. This hotel in St. Petersburg, FL, is conveniently located in the heart of downtown St. Pete within walking distance of many cultural attractions. Unwind in the spacious hotel rooms that offer striking city views. Enjoy free Wifi and treat yourself to coffee in the comfort of your room. This hotel offers an on-site Starbucks, a heated outdoor pool, fully equipped fitness center and on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Hilton Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing