We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't wait to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were passing through the area on the way to New Orleans so we decided to stay at the beach for a night so we book a studio at the Sandestin. We arrived late only to be sent to the opposite side of the highway to get check in (a couple of miles away). The check was with an unprofessional staff that were more like a group of noisy hotel guests then the actual staff. The person helping us had to ask them to keep the noise down. Then we were given keys, garage code an pool wrist bands.....Then we drove back to the other side of the roadway pulled into the garage which was full!! Seriously.......then the room. GROSS. Stained carpet, stained bed skirt old furniture and bed If it wasn't 11PM on a weekend night I would have been out of there. Needless to say we left first thing in the morning. It was nothing like their website. I will never go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

nyer_9

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin. We apologize you were not satisfied with your accommodations during your stay. Please know what you experienced is unacceptable and is being addressed by our Operations team. We want all of our guests to have wonderful, memorable stays with us and we are saddened we failed you. We do hope you will try Sandestin again in the future when you are in our area. Please feel free to contact me directly at executiveoffice@sandestin.com when making your next reservation.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were actually staying at Tops'l but were considering purchasing at Sandestin. One of our major concerns was beach space. Jared answered all of our questions and put our concerns to rest. He was so polite. We wound up putting an offer on a condo in Sandestin! Thank you Jared!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

dragonfly1026,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent experience with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We look forward to you being a homeowner here at Sandestin and spending lots of time with us! We have so much to offer and Sandestin is an amazing community to live and work. Thank you for your comments on Jared. We have a great team here at Sandestin! We love it when our guests love it so much they want to come stay and play with us for good. We appreciate you choosing Sandestin as your home away from home and we look forward to you being a homeowner soon. If we can be of assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We would not think of staying anywhere else! Grace Magner with Platinum Services of Destin has become more like family! We stay in Beachside 1 and love the same condo we always stay in! A very special thanks to a young employer, Keegan McHugh who was so respectful and courteous ! He was responsible for putting the chairs and umbrellas out every am ( which I highly recommend doing!) he checked on us and others throughout the day! Thanks KEEGAN MCHUGH! He made the trip along with Grace Magner

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JO ANN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

JO ANN R,

Thank you for your review of Sandestin and your comments on Keegan. We have a great team here at Sandestin and we are pleased to see they took great care of you during your stay with us. We have so much to offer our guests and we hope you were able to enjoy Sandestin to the fullest. We look forward to your visiting us again soon!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here for a few days in May for a conference. The room was clean, and relatively quiet. The property itself is very nicely landscaped and tended, but the resort is tucked away within a large planned community, and struck me as a weird place to go for a vacation -- it was barely OK for a business meeting! You can walk to Baytowne, which is a Disney-esque place designed to look like an old-time bay town (I guess!). The restaurants there are tourist-y. Also be aware that the activities for which your daily resort fee pay (kayaks, bikes) are closed down at 5:00 PM which makes it impossible to take advantage of this if you are there for work.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pegali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Pegali,

Thank you for your review and your most recent stay with us. We trust your conference was a success and all you expected it to be and more. We hope you had a chance to enjoy some of our complimentary amenities during your stay as well. We have so much to offer and plenty to do and see here at Sandestin. We appreciate your business and we hope you will join us again soon for a memorable leisurely visit.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our room in the spa tower had an excellent view of the Gulf of Mexico. Sitting on the private balcony with a cup of tea was a great way to start the day. The spacious room was clean and comfortable. We stayed here in conjunction with my high school graduating class' 50th reunion. The hotel had been very accommodating with our planning committee over the past year and the function was a great success. The food at the hotel, both the catering for our function and the barefoot bar and grill was top quality and generous portions. The grounds and public areas are well kept and pleasant to enjoy.

Room Tip: go for a room in the spa tower, they all have views of the gulf and private balconies
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank crrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

crrhino,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sandestin during your reunion. We do look forward to you visiting us again in the near future. The views from the gulf front balconies are priceless. There is little to be said about the amazing sunset views over the Gulf of Mexico, as they are one of a kind. We do hope you had a chance to explore some of our 2400 acres during your time here on the Emerald Coast. Come join us again soon!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Came here for a destination wedding. Some of the employees were extremely helpful while others yelled at us for not knowing which stop we wanted to get off at. The concierge was SO nice to us, and then this happened only a few minutes after:

Friend: Hi, is this the yellow route?
Driver: Well, where are you going?
Friend: *thinking for half a second*
Driver: WHERE ARE YOU GOING? *while stepping off the bus and walking away from us*
Friend: Umm--
Driver: WELL, WHERE ARE YOU GOING?! JIMINY CRICKETTT! *walks away into the hotel*

It was kind of funny, but we were still shocked. Also, a lot of new stops were added to the route, apparently, and the drivers weren't notified. We were almost passed up a few times by drivers who slowed down just enough to shout out, "This is not a stop!" We pointed out that it was on the map, and he said, "Well, I learned something new today."

However, there were some super helpful drivers who drove us RIGHT to our exact house (even when it was off the route) so we'd know how to get there. The buses are very convenient, and you can track their location with an app! It's the only way to get around this huge resort, but they are very quick. Despite the few cranky drivers, I'm really grateful for the buses!

Overall, the housing is clean and quaint! I loved staying at our house. There are also plenty of places to eat and shop as well, including a great area for kids! They have rock climbing, zip lining, a carousel, shooting games, an ice cream parlor, candy shops, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Karen L,

Thank you for your review of Sandestin. We appreciate you choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort during your most recent visit to the Emerald Coast. We apologize for the encounter you had with the tram driver. Please know this is not the standard, nor is it acceptable. This has been addressed with the transportation supervisor and team. We want all of our guests to visit Sandestin and have amazing stays and make unforgettable memories and we are sorry for this inconvenience. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions regarding your next visit.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What a great location! This is its own community. there are all types of housing- from homes to condos to rentals. We were in the Elation building. Real nice suite that includes basic kitchen, large bathroom and living area-- couch, bed- table and several chairs. We looks right out over Choctawhatchee Bay. From one side off the balcony we could see the sunset-- From the other we could see the sunrise!
Within just a few minutes walk are lots of restaurants and activities. Within a short drive are all the stores you would want. from the basic Walmart and grocery store to lots off outlet stores.
Just spending a few days will not be enough time- there is so much to do!
The facility itself is in great condition and you can see maintenance people everywhere. I can't speak too much on all the other facilities since we were here for only 5 days and there is so much to enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over looking the water. Just so much more enjoyable! Friends had a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

James R,

We are so pleased to see you and your family enjoyed your time with us here at Sandestin. We have something for everyone here among our 2400 acre playground. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations in Elation. The views from the balconies are amazing. Beautiful sunsets can be seen over the Choctawhatchee Bay...unlike anywhere else on the resort. Elation is within easy walking distance to the Village and all it has to offer. We appreciate you choosing Sandestin and we look forward to your next stay!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandestin
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
6.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550-7226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range: £108 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida
Sandestin Golf And Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing