We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SAVED MY SANITY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“SAVED MY SANITY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay there although I must admit that I was super easy to please. My visit was intended to detach from work back home. Pretty easy to do since I was by myself. The room was a great size and my view of the pool and the ocean were just right. The only improvements that I felt could be added was updating in the hallways! The carpet was worn and the wallpaper needed a face lift. Once that's done I feel the rooms will have a better overall presentation. The TV in the room was very nice. When it comes to flat screens, size is not all that matters. The one they provided was large and extremely colorful. I appreciated the underground parking. I felt like the surrounding area had so much to offer as far as places to eat, shop, and activities for the entire family. I didn't have to go far from the hotel to find anything at all. Eager to go back. I loved the grounds and all the shops of Baytowne.

Room Tip: Third floor and seventh floor have the biggest balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
T P,

Thank you for your review of Sandestin. We are pleased you had a very fun and relaxing stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We are happy to see your accommodations met all of your expectations and we trust your view was like no other. Our beach front units are wonderful and the balconies are perfect for morning sunrises and evening sunsets. We do hope you will choose Sandestin again soon! We have so much for you to enjoy and explore!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    316
    165
    118
    103
See reviews for
583
321
21
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stumbled across Sandestin on our way from a nearby beach town and decided to give them a go. We were very pleasantly surprised at the value of the Grand Sandestin and stayed in in a studio (room 3503) at Lasata. The design of the resort grounds and the accommodations are both very nice. We really liked to the beautifully manicured and lush landscaping. It was almost like a home away from home. The area we were in was very quiet, aside from a rather loud game of Marco Polo that could be heard on our balcony from the pool in the courtyard. I still wouldn't consider that much of a distraction though.

We really enjoyed the Baytowne Wharf, marina and 'town' area along with the selection of restaurants and shops. We had GREAT food and service at Another Broken Egg Café for breakfast (about a 35-40 minute wait to get a seat and worth every minute), but had not so great food or service at another dining establishment. I think you'll have that just about anywhere you go as everyone's personal tastes and expectations are so different and varied.

We enjoyed the beach access, but agreed with previous reviewers that it's pretty crowded. I think you'd have to show up pretty early to get a seat near the water. We still had a good time at the beach and the water and sand was very clean.

There was also complimentary tram-sportation for making trips to the beach seems like it would be very useful, but we ended up using our own vehicle by choice. There is also the offer of free daily bicycle, kayak and boogie board rental (limited free rental hours) that we found pretty unique as well. Oh, and they have FREE Wi-Fi. My husband and I both had to keep up with work so this made it very convenient.

Without a doubt, we will most definitely be back the next time we plan a Florida beach vacation!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad_and_Monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Chad_and_Monica,

Thank you for your review of Sandestn Golf and Beach Resort. We are so pleased to see you had a great time with us. Between the Village and the beach, bike rentals, kayaks and so much more, there is something to do all day long here at Sandestin. We are pleased your accommodations in Lasata were perfect and met every need. We do hope you will choose to visit us again soon! We look forward to it!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Sandestin Resort is wonderful. We stayed at LaCiel. The room was pretty much the same as a standard hotel room, but the building is right on the bay. The pool and fitness center are a short walk away. there is a cafe for breakfast or lunch next door. There is a tram to take you to the beach or the Baytown Wharf, a "village" of shops and restaurants. (leave your car at the hotel, take the tram, and you have a "designated driver") The room includes daily bike and kayak rental. There are plenty of bike paths through the gated community.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
TonyJ,

We are pleased to see your stay with us at LeCiel was a pleasure. LeCiel is convenient to golf, dining, fitness and so much more. The pool at LeCiel has the most amazing views of the Choctawhatchee Bay and a wonderful little tiki hut to enjoy too. The balcony views from LeCiel are one of a kind. Amazing sunsets can be seen from this property...one of my favorites. We are pleased you had a chance to enjoy the Village as well as many of our complimentary amenities during your stay. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next stay with us soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a 1 bedroom in the "Grand" area for 3 nights. We have an 8 year old and a 2 year old. I was torn between here and "Village" areas. They assign you a building and a room when you check in, but you know the 3-4 buildings it could be in. We were given a ground floor unit on Lasada. Was kinda bummed because no view, but room itself was wonderful- clean, pretty, modern. Loved it- especially after some of the reviews about old, dingy,smelly rooms. Location on first floor was great for packing/unpacking. 2 minute walk to the village- perfect and quieter than stating in village- glad we stayed in grand area. Pool near Lasada was great- zero entry area, 2 hot tubs- great for kiddos. We drove to beach- easy, no problem parking. Rented chairs which was typical resort cost- worth every penny when hauling kiddos and their stuff around. Beach bar, pool bar and beach waitresses- wonderful for mommies and daddies. Also village has ok open beverages til 10 which was fun. Food at various restaurants was pretty good. Tons of kids activities- euro bungy, ropes course, zip line, carousel. Magic show thurs eve. Arcade and lazer maze. Check in was easy- very polite, helpful, informative, took 4 minutes. There was a tiny general store we grabbed detergent and dish soap- $4 for a single pack of tide and $4 for a tiny bottle of Palmolive. Didn't feel like driving to publix but ugh. Beach was pretty crowded but everyone seemed nice. Great visit- will be back. Thanks for all the tips everyone. They helped a ton

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krieger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Krieger13,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin. We are so pleased to see your family had a memorable trip to the beach! We have so much to offer here at Sandestin and we are happy you enjoyed it all. From the beach to the bay we have something for every one of every age and so much for the little ones to do and enjoy. Lasata is a great location and convenient to everything. We do hope you will visit us again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom condo in Elation. Room was very clean and had a beautiful view of the bay. Double pullout sofa for the kids was comfortable enough. Our room was very quiet until the Friday night before we left. One oddity...no lock on the bathroom door.

A previous traveler had posted that if you book through a third party you weren't able to use resort amenities (free tram to beach, free bikes and kayak rentals everyday). We were able to and took advantage of all of them, which made our stay more fun.

Loved being able to walk to Baytown Wharf and let my kids walk down on their own as well. Parking was tight, but we never struggled. We loved the pool in the Village and enjoyed the other pools around the resort that we were permitted to use.

The beach was ridiculously crowded! There were rows and rows of Sandestin Resort chairs and umbrellas and it was hard to even get to the water let alone find a place to dig my toes into the sand. We visited friends that were staying in a private house a few miles down the beach and it wasn't near as crowded.

Overall, a very nice stay. I would come back, but that beach might make me reconsider.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGossett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
GGossett,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We appreciate your business and we are please to see you and your family had a great stay. Elation is a great location, convenient to the Village of Baytowne Wharf, where there is something for everyone, as well as the entire resort. We have many wonderful complimentary amenities for our registered guest and we are pleased you took advantage of all we have to offer. We do hope you will choose Sandestin again soon. Please try us early May and August as the weather is gorgeous and crowds are thinner. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I rented two tandem bikes only to have one of the handle bars give way on the other side of the resort. The manager was not working today; however, Jake offered to refund us the $30 out of his own pocket. He didnt tell us we needed to come back later, but rather took care of the situation expediently. Thank you Jake!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I booked thru bookit as a mystery condo - resort choice. It said it was a $367 per night room for $183 plus taxes, fees and of course the sandestin resort fee. They gave me a studio in Lasata which is across the lawn from the Grand. The location is not great in proximity to village or pool as the others are in the complex. The room was basic but ok and clean. The shuttles are crowded and it takes forever to get on one and go across to beachside so I highly recommend driving across. The only real complaint that I have with the resort is that the reception staff needs to learn to be friendly. Multiple times I have been to this resort and very few have I encountered a warm greeting.
My kids love the village and the events.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank beachgurl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
beachgurl247,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin again! We appreciate your business and we love that you continue to choose to stay with us. We are saddened to see you were not completely satisfied with Lasata and the location of the accommodations. The Grand/Village complex is a great area with so much to do. We are sorry for the experience you encountered with our staff. Please know this is unacceptable and is being addressed. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandestin
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
TOPS'L Beach & Racquet Resort
TOPS'L Beach & Racquet Resort
#1 of 4 in Miramar Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Property: Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550-7226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida
Sandestin Golf And Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing