We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Sandestin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2005

I just returned from a long weekend - girls trip to the resort and had a fabulous time. We stayed on the bayside at the Pilot House. Room was spotless, roomy and virtually brand new. We were steps away from the fabulous village that reminded me of a little bite of Charleston. You would never know where you were...a happening little village in the middle of a golf resort. No need to go anywhere else in the area! (Although bars in Destin stay open til 4am if you want to try something new!)

Don't miss Hammer Heads for dinner or drinks! It's right on the bay, has live music every night and has killer Hurricaines! The crowd turns a bit older after 10 though.

The beach here is perfect. A little close quarters but with the beach bar right there...who cares. The sand is bright white and the water emerald green. You can see all the way down.

I grew up near the Maryland coast line...it's not the highrise, loud, boardwalk, people filled location you'll find there...it's super relaxing. There is a pool, restaurant, snack bar, pool bar and beach bar all at the same spot with live music every afternoon. You can't beat it. Just bring your check book. Average frozen beverage costs about $7-9 bucks a pop. If you are going to run a tab all day...be careful!

Would return in a second. Great resort for all ages.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RkyMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2005

We have been coming to Sandestin for 22 years...my grandmother lives there. We hate it. 95% of the time the rooms are extremely dirty unless you stay in the newer sections which look good but always have problems. The rooms in the village look nice but our dishwasher, dryer and tv didn't work - they also did not fix them for us. Our used bath towels were rolled up and put neatly back in the basket (mascara stains were the give away!) - when we notified the manager she sounded nice but did nothing for us - how disgusting can it get!!!! If I was managing this hotel I would have comped our whole stay - but that's Sandestin - always problems and nobody cares. I could tell you about the 3 times a year we have to come to this place and all the problems we have CONSISTENTLY but you would be reading for hours. When I have written them letters and emails, I have never once received a reply - except for advertisements of upcoming specials. It's really too bad Club Intrawest is there - that is a high quality company that we stay often with in Whistler, B.C. and love.

25  Thank germaphobextreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2004

Sandestin is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! We loved everything about the resort. However, I would not spend the $230 a night we spent to stay in the Westwinds Condo again. It was just OK...nothing fancy and nothing overly nice. I've stayed in nicer chain hotels for a much cheaper price. The washer and dryer, which was supposed to be a plus was pathetic. It took four cycles to get our three beach towels dry on the last day before we packed to return home. Also, it's pathetic to have to pay this much for a room and still pay to rent beach chairs in my opinion. The room we were given was on the 4th floor and would have had a beautiful view had it not been for the palm tree top that hung over our balcony railing. The complex was booked so we were unable to move to a different room. The cleaning service was just ok...the floors were covered in sand when we arrived. After spending a lot of time in Baytown Warf I can say that it will be our choice next time we visit. The hotels there are beautiful, especially the Pilot House. We ate almost every meal at Baytown and let me tell you...Jim and Nick's BBQ is WONDERFUL!!!! It's well worth the money and oh so yummy! The worst meal we had was Poppy's Seafood Factory...WAY too expensive and the food is REALLY rich so order light! Another Broken Egg Cafe is great for breakfast and very reasonably priced. Our two and a half year old daughter really enjoyed the children's activities. Staying on the warf side is also an advantage because it's closer to the children's activities. We will go back to Destin and we will stay at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort...we won't spend the high price to stay at the WestWinds though.

26  Thank Lori752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2004

29  Thank brucergoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2004

31  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
225
Reviewed 15 July 2004

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2004

10  Thank klekolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandestin
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550-7226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range: £100 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida
Sandestin Golf And Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing