We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Food. But they don't appreciate your business.”
Review of Rum Runners

Rum Runners
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Sandestin
Price range: US$5 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Voted "Best in Casual Dining 2012 / 2013 by Destin Magazine's Readers Poll, The Village of Baytowne Wharf is alive with energy, festive events, uplifting music, delicious food and spirits. No where is that more true than at Rum Runners®, Sandestin’s premier dining and live entertainment venue. Live music fills the air seven nights a week as crowds sing along and dance with the unmatched performers here at Rum Runners. Our award winning lunch and dinner menus keep customers coming back year after year to enjoy our magical creations including specialties such as, freshly prepared seafood, steaks, chicken, pasta; burgers and other sandwiches; salads; and a variety of appetizers.Never miss the big sporting event at Rum Runners with full sports packages available and every big game being shown on the many TV’s that fill the facility both inside and outside. We offer seating inside on two floors and outside seating on 4 patios and decks – there is not another place like it. Great memories are made at Rum Runners. The great food, live interactive entertainment, and unmatched atmosphere are the main attractions at Rum Runners. Nightly, the dynamic entertainers perform a variety of hit songs from the 60′s, 70’s, 80’s, 90’s, 00's as well as today's hits and focus heavily on audience participation. It is very common to hear the crowd singing the chorus of a song while the entertainers lead them on. The wide variety of music, audience participation, high energy level, and sheer FUN make Rum Runners the place to be with family and friends when visiting the Village of Baytowne Wharf! Corporate Events, Social Events, Birthday and Bachelorette parties are welcomed and encouraged!
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Ate at Rum Runners after hearing the excellent music coming from this place by the guitar player they had. He put on a great show. Food was decent but somewhat pricy which is expected at a resort. After dinner we went to check out the shops in the village and returned to listen to music and drink again. Well at this point they wanted me to pay a cover to get in. I told them I had just left and had dinner there. That didn't matter and they would not let me in without paying a cover. Now the only reason to go into the restraunt is to purchase drinks since you can sit outside the restraunt and listen to the music for free and sit in the chairs provided. Why would you ever charge someone to come in to buy a drink. Bad Business and no respect for their guests.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LABAYMEDIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt E, Rum Runners Management Team at Rum Runners, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our entertainment but are very sorry to hear you had such a disappointing second visit. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us here and we will take your feedback serious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The food was just average. Not really worth it. It's one of the few night spots in the resort and the entertainment is average.

Thank ViviannaSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt E, Rum Runners Management Team at Rum Runners, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We are very sorry our food and entertainment did not satisfy you or meet your expectations. We always want to be your first choice in the area, so your feedback will be taken seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We ate dinner around 4:30 and we were the only ones in the dining room. As such, we were well taken care of and our food arrived quickly. We shared the coconut shrimp appetizer, I had a fried shrimp sandwich, my mom had fried crawfish tails, and my grandma had a charbroiled tilapia sandwich. Everything there was excellent. The remoulade dipping sauce was incredible; I haven't had any anywhere down here that wasn't.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt E, Rum Runners Management Team at Rum Runners, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for spending some time in Rum Runners! We are thrilled you had a fun visit with great food and service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I'm going to give this place 3 stars instead of 2 because there are dueling pianos that start up around 9pm or so. They were a blast and played some really fun songs. Other than that, the food was mediocre, and the kitchen was backed up.


One thing that just irked me so bad was when I asked the hostesses if we should put our names down (there were 8 of us) for a table 30 minutes later (we were waiting for one person in our group to arrive/we were walking around the shops). The hostess said we would be fine and didn't take out names. Well.... low and behold we walk up to get a table and are told BY THE SAME HOSTESS that our table wouldn't be ready for 20-30 minutes because they "aren't used to big groups" and had just sat a table of 9. Okay? A restaurant not used to "big" groups as in 8-9 people? So we waited about 25 minutes and we were sat, but the kitchen was still backed up?? so why did we have to wait another 25 minutes just get some drinks and a place to sit down? Doesn't make any sense.

The other restaurants in this area don't get stellar reviews either so I would suggest finding some other place to grab some food then either visit this area before or after going to another selected eatery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank K Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt E, Rum Runners Management Team at Rum Runners, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our dueling pianos but are sorry to hear the rest of your visit wasn't as enjoyable. We want to be your first choice for food, drinks and fun when you're in the area, so your comments will be taken seriously by our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and i were not let in at 9pm because we were in tank tops and board shorts. What kind of vacation experience were they trying to provide? And we are locals. I can't say good things about this place nor will ever give them a chance.

Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt E, Rum Runners Management Team at Rum Runners, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We always want to create a fun and relaxing experience for our guests, so we sincerely apologize for the visit you describe here, unfortunately we do have a "resort casual" dress code after 5pm. It is upsetting to know we missed out on hosting you, so your comments will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rum Runners also viewed

Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Rum Runners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing