We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very close to Sanford Airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sanford
Vergennes, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very close to Sanford Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This motel reminds me of a New England style motel in a beach town. It is right on a big lake that offers airboat rides. There is a small restaurant for breakfast and two other restaurants on either side of the motel. The room was clean and big. They updating many of the rooms and the staff is great. The bed was clean and very comfortable. We arrived late coming in from Burlington Vt on Allegiant air. The staff made our stay great. There is a large pool and patio area. We liked it so well we came back the day before we flew back and stayed again.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms that face the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 997MaryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    31
    31
    18
    19
See reviews for
43
49
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I arrived late evening into Sanford Airport and needed a one night stay before heading off on a tour of Florida. The hotel is in a great location on the south lake shoreline. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was basic and OK for my one night stay. The place overall was dated and would benefit from moderisation. Having said that you get what you pay for and it was as expected.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The management was nice. Our room had dead bugs all over the ceiling so they moved us to a new room. The new room had hairs on the sheets. It was the dirtiest place I have ever stayed. I was so grossed out, I could barely sleep.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Libbyvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My family stayed here for a week,really enjoyed our stay,front desk person(Reggie)was very nice,and the workers were nice and helpful..Place is under new management and rooms are very nice and are being redone..We would be back for our next vaction.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggjoe530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Wow. We booked this on bookings.com, and for the price, I was highly disappointed. The room was dirty with dead bugs and stray hairs. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The tile was moldy, the tub grungy, and there were hairs all over the bathroom. Nasty. I wouldn't recommend this hotel in its current state.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Kristie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, the lake view and the manager was awesome. The beds were soft and clean tv with the best channels and most important was the lake you walk on it and take a boat from the close fort.
It was an awesome experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sa3ad95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Property is under new management.

Paradise on the Lake. Very peaceful and serene location; good for overnight and long term stay.

Walk to downtown restaurants or stroll on the lake.

Management had good security - very safe area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LA1Friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanford
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Orlando / Sanford
3.6 mi away
Budget Inn Sanford
Budget Inn Sanford
#5 of 6 in Sanford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando North/Sanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - Orlando North/Lake Mary
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Mary at Colonial TownPark
7.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Lake Mary - 1040 Greenwood Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall

Property: Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall
Address: 530 N Palmetto Ave, Sanford, FL 32771-1354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Sanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest and relax in our quaint, comfortable rooms, or outdoor courtyard area overlooking the pool and beautiful Lake Monroe. Enjoy individual, outdoor access to rooms with no stuffy hallways! Located on the marina in Historic Downtown Sanford, with shopping and dining minutes away; also just under five miles from the Sanford-Orlando International Airport, (SFB). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Monroe's On The Lake Hotel & Banquet Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing