We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hurricane House Resort
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable Luxury”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We visit yearly. The location on the beach is perfect. The rooms and amenities are great and sunsets are breathtaking. Be sure to bring shoes appropriate for shelling and watch out for jellyfish! Sun protection is also a must. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Love it! Tranquil spacious soothing to the soul. Rent bikes to fully experience the island. Bring bug spray the noseaums are ridiculous! Hgvc please get zappers or offer bug spray because it is UNBEARABLE...I will return but armed. :) saw plenty of dolphins swimming while sitting on the beach perfect to show my children nature at its best.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank World-class-maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Came for a celebration and was not disappointed. Layout worked well for my husband and myself as well as two adult daughters (2 bedrooms). Kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots and utensils. It would be helpful if salt, pepper, some sugar, etc. were stocked as these items needed to be purchased and we left them behind. Office staff was helpful with recommendations and accommodating us as we arrived quite late the first night. It was quiet and peaceful and close to the beach. No bugs, no dirt...no complaints.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank PaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Hgvc stay. Loved it. recently updated. Gorgeous. On water. Only one negative is when I opened kitchen drawer, cockroaches scattered. But unit may not have been used recently.....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jmatusfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent a fabulous week at Hurricane House Resort. The facilities are kept in excellent condition with the condos very clean as well as the pool and grounds. The upper units have a great view of the beach and ocean. It is a very peacefull resort. Don't know if that is still true at the high season. It wasn't crowded by the pool or the beach. The beach is quiet and clean with lots of shells for avid shellers. The kitchens are fully equipped. We had breakfast and lunch on the screened patio enjoying the ocean view. There is no restaurant on the premises so it is easier to eat those two meals in. The location of this resort is excellent close by to shopping and many excellent restaurants. Sanibel is a beautiful nature filled island. We take advantage of visiting it whenever it pops up with our timeshare exchange. Visit this lovely resort and you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank christeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We've been going to Hurricane House every year for the past 15 years. Sanibel Island and Hurricane House are a little piece of Paradise!
If you're looking for a big, glitzy resort, with lots of activities, music by the pool, special programs for kids, evening entertainment - this resort is NOT for you.
However, if you're looking for a peaceful atmosphere, total relaxation, and a beach to yourself - well - you've come to the right place.
This place is small - only 15 units - all of which are 2 levels - with updated furnishings, appliances etc. The pool area is immaculate, with 2 hot tubs which are wonderful in the evening. There are gas grills for your use - a good place to get to know your neighbors, and hammocks. There is also a tennis court, and complimentary rackets and balls. And every room has a full-on view of the Gulf
Sanibel Island and Hurrican House is one of those magical places that you want to keep to yourself after you discover it!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper story room for great Gulf views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

My family has stayed in this condo property every year for a long time. The resort is awesome, they keep it updated, and the property is beautiful. We always have unit #4 on the top floor, the view off the veranda from the master bedroom is amazing. Some of the best sunsets you will ever see! Sanibel is an awesome place to visit, and The Hurricane House is the only place I'd stay!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Ranhar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Shells of Sanibel
Sea Shells of Sanibel
#17 of 42 in Sanibel Island
109 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Spanish Cay
#41 of 42 in Sanibel Island
1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
#27 of 42 in Sanibel Island
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shorewood Condominiums
Shorewood Condominiums
#38 of 42 in Sanibel Island
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Ybel Resort
Casa Ybel Resort
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurricane House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurricane House Resort

Property: Hurricane House Resort
Address: 2939 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5703
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct and Cancelon so you can book your Hurricane House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurricane House Hotel Sanibel Island
Hurricane House Resort Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing