We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time's a charm!”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Third time's a charm!”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just got back from my third stay at Song of the Sea and just like in the past, it was FANTASTIC! We were celebrating our 18th anniversary and our room request was honored and an anniversary note was a pleasant surprise. Out top floor king gulf room is always clean and spacious with the small kitchenette a bonus. The pool was never crowed and the beach access is great. This is the perfect hotel for couples! I'd like to give a shout out to Miss Susie in housekeeping who year after year does a great job!!! Sanibel is my favorite place, and I won't stay anyplace else but at Song of the Sea!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank tuliplvr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    222
    63
    27
    18
See reviews for
105
489
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at Song of the Sea for a long weekend (without the kids) to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary. We were impressed from the start with the friendly hotel staff and clean room. The rooms are large and the fridge and stove were very nice to have. We asked for a late checkout but they needed to clean the room, however they were very accommodating and held our luggage so it did not have to sit in the hot car all day, provided access to a bathroom and an outdoor shower so that we could stay on the beach as long as we wanted to. We will be back again and may even bring the kids the next time. 

Room Tip: The room was very quite even though our room faced the pool we did not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Aurora, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have stayed here about 8-9 times in the past 15 years.. Love the fact that it is mostly only couples, quite and so relaxing. The pool is wonderful and we love the fact that when you get a bottom floor room you only a a few feet to walk out to the pool.

We will continue to come back.

Room Tip: 1st floor room allow you to walk out to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota USA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This a quiet time the year on sanibel making this a ver quiet spot for couples getaway. Our room was ver clean. It's great to have the screened in patio. Very short walk to the beach. Complimentary breakfast is ok, nothing special but nice to have. Bathroom and bedroom are very small but the bed is very comfortable. Pool is great though rather small. Felt very rek
Laced and safe here.

Room Tip: Askk for an Oceanside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayzata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Kansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Very nice accommodations right at the beach. Clean and very friendly staff. Free bottle of wine and fresh flowers in room. Quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I've been to this hotel a couple of times and they've never disappointed. The rooms are great - equipped with a kitchen that includes fridge, microwave, stove, pots, pans, glasses, etc. Super helpful, if you have kids or you go on a fishing trip and want to cook up your catch of the day! The screened in porch was great and relaxing. The place is very low key - bring a cooler down to the beach with food or beverages or relax by the pool / hot tub. Free continental breakfast. Free bikes. Great location on the island. Very reasonable rates. We will go back again and I will always recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the first floor facing the pool...just walk right out through your screened in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Beach front room was $251 (AAA rate), overpriced I thought, for what it turned out to be.. It wasn't exactly "beach front", more like "ocean view." The tiny bedroom had almost wall to wall king sized bed. There was only about a foot between the foot of the bed and the wall. However, the mattress was comfortable. Furniture in "living area" was uncomfortable...with straight-up back on sofa and extremely straight wing back chair. No ottoman to prop up feet while watching TV. Flat screen TV on wall was great.Chairs on screened porch were low backed and straight backed...not comfortable. Kitchenette was nice to have, but we only used the coffee pot and half a shelf in the full refrigerator. Continental breakfast was average. Staff was friendly and offered good suggestions of where to eat. Grounds were well landscaped. We did not use the pool. Lounge chairs and umbrellas were provided, if you got to the beach early enough to secure one. Folks would leave the chairs with their towels on it and go back to the hotel, to return later expecting to get the same chairs. We stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: I would choose first floor for better access to beach, pool and breakfast area, as there is no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachgirl2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
379 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Property: Song of the Sea
Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island
Song Of The Sea Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing