We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like we were Casa Blanca” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Song of the Sea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Song of the Sea
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Felt like we were Casa Blanca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

When we drove up we were kind of wondering if we booked a good place. It looked a bit old and well worn, but it just got better the minute we checked in. We were several hours early and went in to ask if we could leave the car there until it was time for check-in. Francky (yes, that is how it was spelled) said our room was ready and we could go ahead and unload. When we opened the door and stepped in we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of wine. The place is not new, but it is fixed up very nice. I thought of the movie Casa Blanca when I saw the shuttered windows. Each room has a little screened in patio with several chairs. Off our patio was an exit out to the pool and to the beach...the beach was about 200 yards away. There are great paved bike trails on Sanibel and the motel provided free bicycles to use. The breakfast treats were good and there was a nice outside area of tables at which to sit and enjoy you meal. If we stay in Sanibel again it will be at Song of the Sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Explorercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    216
    60
    24
    18
See reviews for
95
473
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed at Song of the Seas for 4 days over Thanksgiving. The staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the complimentary beach lounge chairs and umbrellas. We stayed in one of the Oceanfront Boutique Suites on the 2nd floor (Chelsea suite ... room 4137, I believe). The king sized bed had a good matress and comfortable sleeping. 2nd floor is highly recommended if you want ocean views. The view from the first floor oceanfront suites are blocked by the natural brush. The room was quaint, clean; but not upscale. What stood out for us was the peacefulness of the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor oceanfront room for ocean views. 1st floor cannot see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Simply stylish. Cozy comfortable community on the most beautiful shell beaches.
Location is wonderful. Easy walk to the beach for elderly. Umbrellas and beach chairs available ..dolphin boat cruise is a must!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bil4ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

My sister and I stayed here for two nights. I even wanted to stay one more night! But they were booked The place has 30 units right on the beach. Our room had a full fridge, stove and micro wave. Not that we needed it. Great restaurants on Sanibel. Song staff are amazing. So very natural and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast and free bikes were the deciding factor when I booked and I was NOT disappointed. I would recommend this place and definitely stay here again. Patrons return again and again. We met guests who return and they are certainly ready to share their experiences on Sanibel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaMarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnemede
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed there for four nights in early November. The property is on the beach and buildings and the ground's are well kept. The place looks almost caribbean like with the palms tree's and other plant life. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They had a nice pool and hot tub, beach chairs and umbrella's. And a free morning breakfast. Our room was clean and had a small screened in porch. Now the downside: the room was very small, especially the bedroom, you barely walk around the bed to other side. Bathroom was somewhat small and main area consisted of a small living room and kitchen which was small. Furniture was uncomfortable but it did have a large flat screen TV in living room and small flat screen in the bedroom with plenty of cable channels. We also had free WiFi from AT&T, it was somewhat slow but not bad for free hotel internet. And one last thing, the closet in bedroom had a strange odor, which got onto our cloths that hung in there.

Room Tip: If you don't like a small room look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrown59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at this property in November. It is clean and located on a nice beach. The grounds are well kept. The best rooms are very small. It is very quiet in the evenings. There is a complimentary breakfast with coffee, juice, pastries and waffles.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjerzelady_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Had great hopes for our first visit to Sanibel and were not disappointed. One of the high points was Song of the Sea. We were warmly greeted and made to feel welcome. Our room was ocean front, second floor. Great view, screened porch, beach access, very nice pool, and beach lounge chairs with umbrellas. Bikes available for use. Good guidance on dining and island activities. Room had tile floor and fully equipped kitchenette. Perfect for the beach.

Before we got home we were emailing our friends to join us on our return visit.

Room Tip: Spring for the beachfront, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fototrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Property: Song of the Sea
Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island
Song Of The Sea Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing