We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I just completed a week stay. The resort needs some updating but our room was comfortable. We stayed in the K building and could walk out on the lanai and onto the beach. Our room was clean daily by a very pleasant housekeeping staff. The food at the restaurants on site was very good. The wait staff was friendly and fast.

The workout room definitely needs work and there is no spa at the moment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick4734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Nick4734,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your last visit at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

While our location on miles of preserved beach is second to none, it's truly the people on property that make it special. We are so happy you were able to experience this with our housekeeping staff.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    713
    291
    126
    44
See reviews for
1,210
679
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Etobicoke
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

After we booked, we read reviews that indicated that rims were dated and tired. We had a gorgeous, clean, spacious room, and are very happy. Too bad we are only staying 2 days because the area is fabulous and the full kitchen means we don't have to eat every meal out. Good facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaelDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear GaelDoug,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your last visit at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

It is our goal to provide a consistent, enjoyable atmosphere such as the one you enjoyed in your room. While we have three delicious dining options on property, the fully stocked kitchens in the units do provide guest the option to dine on their own terms during they stay.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We just completed a long-weekend stay, and I can summarize Sundial as good for many types of people: families with kids, adults meeting for a wedding or weekend get-together with friends, old people, young people. They truly do have a pleasing-to-most approach that they do well.

The property is well-maintained, and our room (D205, an "Island Residence") was pristine, efficient, and had a solid view of the ocean even though it's considered a garden view. The bathroom was efficient and clean (important!) but as basic as you can get. The rest of the room was nicely appointed and comfortable. We loved having a drink and watching/listening to the ocean on the large, screened-in balcony.

Many of the services you would expect from a resort are there: a pool bar (not swim-up but alongside it), help setting up beach chairs, both a casual and a nicer restaurant. I can tell this would be good for families. The food was good. Great mussels; everything else we had was good. Other reviewers noted slow service at the Tiki Bar, but we had prompt and friendly service. I did not see room service menus, but we did have a kitchen, so we could have stocked it with food.

Heads up: If you are uber particular about posh service, this is probably too normal of a place for you. The service is attentive, and your stay will be comfortable and complete. As we expected for the price range, it's not over-the-top; you won't get robes or beach bags to use (this is OK; just detailing for others ...).

Downside: I wanted to buy a coffee, banana, and bagel to-go each morning, and there is no quick-stop shop. That said, the restaurant would totally accommodate me if I placed the order to take away, there was a coffee pot and coffee in my room, and we had a kitchen, so if we had stocked it with food, I would have been set. I just have come to expect a little to-go shop with coffee/pastries/etc. in the morning from my stays at hotels for business travel and such, so that was a bit of a disappointment given the other amenities it offers.

The pool is large (20 m?) and great to get laps in if you're a swimmer! People were in the water off the beach, which is large and has white sand. That said, Sanibel beaches are shelling beaches, so walking barefoot can be painful. Still, it was much nicer and easier-to-walk on than sand we experienced in Key West.

We considered Sundial a good value, especially for a last-minute trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SaraZ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear SaraZ23,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your last visit at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa.

We are so happy that you found your stay here enjoyable. We have many lovely rooms and strive to provide an environment in them that guests such as yourselves find inviting. We are in the process of finalizing the plans to reintroduce a small sundries store with small snack and dining options.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Visiting the wonderful outdoor Tiki Bar was enjoyable. We ordered food that was "warm" and cold beer. Having to wait for the only bartender who was clearly overworked was no fun. When he did finally get to us he brought little joy to our visit. He was not rude but he clearly didnt enjoy what he was doing and that translated into our visit and meal being less than joyful. Eat and leave is what we did. The bartender needs coaching and assistance. Management is responsible for this poor attitude from staff. No excuses.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Bee A,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Sundial Beach Resort.

It is regrettable that your visit to the Resort did not live up to your, nor our standards for our guests experience. We have high expectations of our staff members regardless of their positions and we do apologize that this individual let both yourself and the Resort down.

The appropriate review and training will be provided to the individual in question. On behalf of the management at the Resort I can assure your your next experience will be a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amityville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

second time staying at this resort and could not believe how incredible the newly renovated resort and restaurant were. The chandeliers in the grand lobby reminded me of the lobby at the Atlantis in the Bahamas.
My family and I love many of the fine restaurants in Sanibel and Captiva.
On the last night of our stay we dined in the Sundial resort's restaurant overlooking the gulf because of its convenience and did not have high expectations. The meal we had at the resort was by far the best we had that week. I had a New York Strip Steak which was very good but after trying my son's marinated Skirt Steak and my wife's seafood pot I am sure that on our next trip we will dine there more than once. Our room was the big surprise. We have stayed in many resorts including Beaches, Sandals and Atlantis and have never had such incredible accommodations. My kids went crazy when they saw the enormous TV in the living area. My wife and I were flawed by the beautiful decor including a granite island and glass tile in the kitchen. The furniture looked brand new and they had a coffee table made of drift wood and sea shells. You would have to see it to believe it. best vacation ever The room was J107 Lanai situated straight out to gulf . Gulf view is a ground floor view not as nice a being up a level but great to be able to walk right out to the beach about 60-80 Steps.

Room Tip: J107 This room was incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skrompier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Skrompier,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Sundial Beach Resort. It is so rewarding to hear of the great time you and your family had enjoying the Resort and all the Islands of Sanibel & Captiva have to offer.

The renovations in the main lobby and the cuisine being offered by Chef Menassa at all three dining outlets makes a lasting impression whether your staying on property or visiting for one of our can't miss happy hours or live musical events.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We had chosen this resort as a place to celebrate christmas with our adult children. It was quite a disappointment
The resort advertised that it had been newly renovated,but that did not include the condo that we stayed in! It was very dated, the dishwasher didn't work, bathroom had black??? where the tub was calked to mention a few things. The daily cleaning was minimal at best and the balcony was not swept the whole time we were there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 973cathyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

In honor of my mother's 90th birthday, our family made reservations through a travel agent for 2 units. Each unit was supposed to have a bedroom with a king bed, a bedroom with 1 or 2 double beds, and a den with a queen size pull out sofa. Each unit was supposed to be able to sleep 6. The units were to be in the same building so our family, 11 people ranging in age from 4 months to 90, would be close together. We made the reservations for 12/26/13-1/2/14 at the end of July, 2013. One week before departure our travel agent was notified that the reservation could not be honored. One of the units had been withdrawn by the owner, allegedly because of a disoute with management, and no other similar unit was available. We were given 3 studio units instead, which were on the opposite end of the property from the remaining larger unit. On arrival, we found that the remaining larger unit did not have the features promised - instead, it had one bedroom with a king bed, one bedroom with twin beds, no den or pull out sofa- so it could not sleep the number of people anticipated, necessitated putting the infant's crib in a closet, and was extremely uncomfortable for the couple sleeping in the twin beds- what kind of vacation is that?!? In addition, on arrival, the hot water didn't work, the stove didn't work, the bedroom fan did not work, there was no phone to connect to the resort, It took the better part of a day to get things fixed, never got a land line. On 12/28, a unit matching the description of what we reserved became available, so family members moved out of the 3 studios into that unit. So 2 days of our precious vacation time was spent getting settled, which was a real pain. Most of the people who we dealt with in trying to fix things were very nice, apologetic, particularly the manager Ben, who agreed to waive the daily resort fees because of the mix-up. However, at check out time, the bill included the resort fees. When this was questioned, the person who handled the check-out was totally grouchy, unhelpful, making an already trying experience worse.

The fitness center is a joke. Room is dark, smells bad, has limited old equipment, no weights or mats. The tennis courts are good quality clay. There is water in coolers adjacent to courts, but no cups for the water (despite requests made each day of the vacation to have cups available). Resort says it has rackets and balls, but rackets have no grips and balls are dead. If you want to play, bring your own equipment and balls. Court scheduling is haphazard. There is no chart so frequently courts are booked for 2 parties at once. One court had no net but was booked to play on.

Several good features:

-breakfast buffet is great, with wide variety, wonderful fresh fruit, great omelette makers, and best bacon

-resort is clean and nicely landscaped

-pool is large, warm, nicely situated; poolside restaurant and bar have good food but service really slow

-free bicycles and helmets (don't know if there are bikes with attachments for toddlers or bikes for children), kayaks with life vests readily available and in good condition

-people who work there, ie- waiters and waitresses, pool attendants, landscapers, housekeepers- all friendly

-food in restaurant very good and well-priced, but service slow; our family thought the chocolate cake was the best we ever had

-gulf beach beautiful

-resort well-situated to reach other island attractions

In summary, Sanible is a great vacation destination. This resort has potential, but would not go back anytime soon.

Room Tip: 1- If you want quiet, stay away from rooms around pool and main building 2. Make sure that the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreetb719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin S, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear doreetb719,

Thank you for your sharing your recent experience at the Sundial Beach Resort.

While you and your party did experience an unprecedented experience and one beyond the Resort's control, we are relieved that you were able to take advantage of the opportunities that staying at the Resort offers. We value and appreciate your feedback and will inspect the items mentioned in your review needing attention.

The Resort's Management takes the commitment to customer satisfaction and the overall experience very seriously and we hope you will give us the opportunity to prove that for you in a follow up visit.

Join us again in the near future during Sundial “Winterfest” as we offer great live entertainment at the main pool deck and Sea Breeze Restaurant. There will also be dining and activity specials for kids of all ages available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort. Please contact us at any time at 239-472-4151.

Thank you

Your Sundial Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
676 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,765 reviews
12.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of Sanibel Island, a unique barrier island on Florida's southern Gulf Coast. The island is a natural playground where visitors enjoy miles of pristine beaches, nature preserves, water sports and award winning bike paths. Awarded TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, 12 new pickleball courts,cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, shell-dotted beaches are just steps away from your door. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Shima's Grab N Go provides take out sushi for those on the go. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis & pickleball court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa Sanibel Island, Florida
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing