We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Love the sundial - been going there for years. Beautiful or on the beach and relaxing laid back atmosphere. Was told they were building a children's water park are but it has yet to be built?! Otherwise kids love the beach and the one slide at the main pool.

Room Tip: T202 has been our favorite unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Tara F.:
So great to see that you have been coming here for so long. I am sure that you could attest how far we have come lately.
By the beginning of the 2015 it will be such a great property!! We are not 100% clear yet on the scope of work, so I could not tell you about a kids "park"

Thank you again for taking the time to write this great review, and please make sure that next time you are in the area ask for me. Would love to say Hi and Thank You.

Julio Morales
Director of Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,061 - 2,067 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Half of the property units have been renavated but, of course, we were put in one that wasn't updated and probably paid the same as those in a renavated unit. The light panals in the bathroom were falling down and the toilets didn't flush very well. Housekeeping didn't clean that well. No fresh towels and the bathrooms weren't cleaned. The resort itself needs quite a bit of work as it looks very dated and run down. Also, we were expecting more activities for the kids. They had log rolling in the pool one afternoon and that was pretty much it. The food was ok and quite expensive. We travel quite a bit so we have stayed at some exceptional places; therefore, our expectations are high when it comes to spending a lot of money on a resort. To sum things up, this resort was not worth the money we paid. Sorry Sundial, you were quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Jennifer P:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. Yes, we are hoping to have all our units finished by the end of this year. Many of them are not done just yet. I will be sure to pass along the Housekeeping comments along. I am very surprised about your comments about housekeeping. We hear so many great things about our housekeeping that it is surprising.
If possible, I would like to talk to you about your recent stay.
I don't like when our guests are not satisfied after leaving so again I would like to have more info and see how we could turn you around.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Julio Morales
Director of Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great resort. Beautiful island. Will definitely be back next year. Biking and shelling are the highlight. You have to visit ding darling, baileys, and historical Sanibel. Ask for Gene at Sundial on the beach, the friendliest, most knowledgable person there.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Sheryl J:
Thank you so much for your great review. I am so glad to see that you and your family had a great time with us.
Yes, the beaches here are one of my favorites. And Gene is a great guy! Everyone gets to enjoy his big smile out at the beach every day.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I love the 4th floor view. We were the furthest away from the resorts main beach but in the end it was the best location on the beach. We rented chairs, umbrellas and paddle boards from another vendor. They delivered and picked up at the beach. We brought snorkel gear for our teens. They swam close to dolphins every day, found hundreds of live sand dollars and several starfish. Sea turtles laid their eggs in several areas around our beachfront. Great restaurants on the island. Recommend a guiding fishing day. My son caught a shark:) A great getaway without a commercialized beach, very natural setting...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristilynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Kristilynj:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I am glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your time with us.
We actually offer Bikes and Beach chairs here on property so I am hoping that you didn't have to pay an outside company.
Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a great stay this past April at the Sundial. Very relaxing, beautiful location, plenty of amenities. We had a 2-br. apartment that was lovely and had a fantastic view of the ocean. We enjoyed the tiki bar by the pool, and my daughters had fun playing some of the pool games one afternoon, and getting their hair braided and henna tattoos. I overheard a staff member say they were doing some renovations of the pool area over the summer...was wondering if they were doing the gym, too, as it was a bit dreary. Otherwise, my only minor gripes are that beforehand, I contacted the staff to ask for suggestions on what to do with my son, who was on crutches with a broken ankle, and I got no response. Also, a couple times we asked the maids to come back later and they never returned. But all in all, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EllenHE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear EllenHE2013:
I am very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay back in April. I am not sure why you didn't get a reply on your msg about what to do in the area. If possible if you could please send me the email address you used. I would like to be sure that it is working.
Yes, the fitness room is in the scope of work. It's going to be great!

Thank you again for your review.

Julio Morales
Director of Services

Julio.morales@sundialresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very happy with the stay, we will always enjoy the beautiful beaches and facilities, truly a place to vacation and relax.
My family am very pleased with the beautiful beaches and especially the sunset is spectacular

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Carlos F.:
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you and your family had a great time with us.
We will be sure to share it with our staff.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

One bedroom king room included all amenities - full kitchen with microwave, coffee maker, cable TV and free (albeit poor quality) internet access. Beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, kayaks and coaster bikes all included at no extra charge.Sundial personnel were all very friendly and competent. Great location to relax, with comprehensive bike trails on the island and many nearby restaurants.

Only issue was room location. Building C where we stayed is pretty far from the lobby and main facilities. We paid extra for an ocean view but felt cheated with only a narrow sliver of a view from far away. Make sure when you reserve to get the right building as well as the desired type of room. The former is key.

Room Tip: Make sure when you reserve to get the right building in this complex as well as the desired type of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Ralph B.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. I agree about our units are equipped with everything. It makes it very easy and comfortable.
On your view, I do understand your comments. I will be sure to look at that building and the explanations we have out there.
Thank you again for your feedback. We do take this very seriously and we go over it with all staff and Mgmt.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
10.1 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,965 reviews
1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,339 reviews
12.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £166 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the barrier island of Sanibel off Florida’s southwest coast, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is a unique tropical island destination with miles of shell-strewn beaches. Guests select from spacious fully-equipped condominium style accommodations in various sizes, complete with kitchen, living room and dining area. Voted Best Full Service Resort on the islands for five years in a row, Sundial offers an island lifestyle coupled with an abundance of resort amenities and services. Directly onsite are award-winning restaurants and shops with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. Resort amenities include tennis and pickleball courts, multiple heated swimming pools, organized activities, a spa, sea school, marketplace and much more. A daily resort fee includes the use of kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach umbrellas and chairs, beach volleyball, tennis & pickleball equipment, fitness center and wifi. Sundial is a 2017 Certificate of Excellence awardee and Florida Green Lodging designee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa Sanibel Island, Florida
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing