We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice vacation”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay an Sundial Beach Resort. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. Our room was comfortable and spacious and we were steps to the beach and pools. Our 15-year old son loved the poolside ping-pong and the tennis courts. We took advantage daily of the available bicycles and rode on the many trails around the island and to the lighthouse. While the resort is not in walking distance of shops or restaurants other than what is on-site it was just a short drive to Periwinkle Way. (Definitely within biking distance but the resort does not rent bikes after 6:00 p.m. so that was not an option for dinner). The young folks who run the desk with bikes/towels/kayaks, etc. are awesome - cheerful and always helpful. Actually all of the staff we dealt with--front desk, restaurant, Tiki bar--were great. If I were going to change one thing, I would add umbrellas at the main pool. Some of the lounge chairs are under the roof which provides shade but there are no umbrellas at all for other seating. We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFXVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear FFXVA:
Thank you for your feedback. I am very glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and our amenities. I believe that we have a great Activities crew so I'm glad to see that you mention them in your review.
We will take the umbrella comment under consideration for the future. We do look at these and make sure that we listen to what our guests are saying.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you back soon.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    687
    275
    120
    41
See reviews for
1,138
658
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to walk into a large, one bedroom condo. I don't know why, but we were expecting a regular hotel room. It had a large living room, king sized bed, full kitchen, full sized bath. There was a large screened in patio. The resort is much larger than we expected, but there were multiple pools to accommodate the number of guests. They provide beach cruisers and kayaks, lounge chairs. The staff was attentive, and answered any and all requests promptly. We ate in their restaurant while listening to live music (food was so-so but Joey our server was awesome). We loved every minute of it. We will definitely be back and have already recommended it to friends

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Kelly B.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. Joey is a great guy!! I will say that we are looking at changing the menus and Chef Criss has some awesome items heading our way. So please be sure to give us a taste next time you are back.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The place was exceptional and the room we stayed in with a gulf view was amazing.The only thing I could of asked for was a vending machine somewhere on property instead of being forced to use the restaurant. Excellent location, great shelling and great staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Chuck W.
Thank you for taking the time for writing your review for your recent visit.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to share your thoughts on the vending machines. Not sure that there is a whole lot we can do about it but I will make sure it is taken under consideration.
Thank you again for your feedback!

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

overall relaxed-report was slow ,training new staff before the summer rush. overall was a good place. I guess june has more people and activity. The pool slow a few people same with Tiki Bar not waiting.

Room Tip: we had ocean view-bright and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Pam B.
Thank you for your feedback. Yes, May is a somewhat slower month in the year.
It always makes it nice for relaxing!
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review on your stay.

We hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My family and I stayed here in mid-May. We were lucky to have very warm, wonderful weather, so we took full advantage of the pool. The room we stayed in was very nice and clean, and the kitchen was well-stocked (even coffee liters, which I had been warned about). The lanai was one of the best features, as it was great to be able to sit outside and enjoy the weather and not have to worry about bugs.

I would've given this a higher review if it hadn't been for 2 things:
1. The pools weren't kid-friendly. There needs to be a zero-entry in at least one of these for smaller children who aren't 4 feet tall (I think the most shallow part of the main pool was 3ft 6 inches)
2. The staff was ridiculously rude, and that was when you could find them. In the morning, when I'd ask for an umbrella at the beach, this kid with a HUGE chip on his shoulder would ask me, "Are you sure you don't already have one?". Um....yeah, I'm sure. And the people that we encountered at the reception desk should definitely NOT be on the welcoming committee. Rude....rude.....rude.

We never tried any of the restaurants on site, as I had read several reviews before our trip that the food wasn't all that great, and we wanted to explore the island. Overall, we still had a lovely time, but I'm not exactly sure we'd stay at Sundial again.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in the "J" building, which was close to the main office and main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Jennjsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Jennjsmith:
I am so surprised on your comments. As you read other comments here you will see how they are complimenting the staff, but for sure it seems like we dropped the ball with you.

I am glad that you say that you still enjoyed your self however that fact that you had two of our most important departments being rude to you is not acceptable under any circumstances.
I sincerely apologize for this and want to assure you that this is not the way that we operate.

I would like to get a little more information on your comments if possible. Again, I want to make sure that this doesn't happen again to anyone, and see if I can maybe pin-point some patterns. I would like the opportunity to make this better for you and your family.
My email is below so please feel free to contact me that way. If you feel better talking on the phone please send me an email and I will call you or send you my direct line.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Julio.morales@sundialresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Spent three nights at the Sundial. The staff was pleasant, efficient and accommodating. We enjoyed our three breakfasts and one dinner. Food was tasty and presented well. Location is ideal for touring Sanibel and Captiva. Although it is an old resort, it is obvious that the new owners have put a lot of money into it. Our room was completely redone. It was in mint condition. It is ideal for families. There are many amenities included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishkilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Irishkilter:
Thank you for your review on your recent stay.
Yes, we are working on the units and we are hoping to be all done by the beginning of 2015.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The resort itself was nice and peaceful if you want to get away from it all. The grounds and activities were accommodating, while the rooms were nice, clean, and very spacious. The beach however, was not the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Carla W.
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay.
You must had been here when we were having issues with the waters being "ice tea" color.
We were having some issues with Lakes being sent in to the gulf however that has been all taken care of for.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
12.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand between your toes, take a refreshing swim in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, 12 new pickleball courts,cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's award winning restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Shima's Grab N Go provides take out sushi for those on the go. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis & pickleball court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa Sanibel Island, Florida
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing