We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Sanibel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Great place to stay in Sanibel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at Sundial and would definitely like to return. The place was clean, well cared for & I love the amenities included in the price. I also love that it's beachfront & the price was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Vanessa D.

Thank you for taking the time to complete the resort survey.
We thank you for your business and hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    647
    256
    106
    37
See reviews for
1,051
634
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We enjoyed our vacation at the sundial resort. This is a great place for families with children of all ages. The only thing preventing us from returning was the inability to place all of our group in the same building. We requested to be located by each other and ended up having our group in 4 different buildings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 902Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear 902Nikki:

Thank you for taking the time to complete the resort survey.
We thank you for your business and hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Everything was lovely. The only exception was that the WiFi was very slow, making it nearly impossible for me to check in with work (Yes, I have to check in even on vacation.) That added a bit of stress to the trip, but other than that, we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Shannon P.

Thank you for taking the time to complete the resort survey.
We thank you for your business and hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice property but be sure to check your bill at checkout. Overcharged significantly from what our quoted rate was (with email confirmation) and front desk was not very willing to make the adjustment until very end.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Coast2Coast314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Coast2Coast314:

Thank you for taking the time to complete the resort survey.
We thank you for your business and hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I spent ten days at the Sundial in late June / early July. We had an amazing time and received great value as well. The resort is beautiful, the staff was attentive and professional and the room was everything we could have asked for. We have been going to the Sundial since 2008 and will be back in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Lou M:
Thank you for taking the time to complete the resort survey.
We thank you for your business and hope to see you back soon!

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I just LOVE this resort! We are a family with a 3 yr old and almost 2 yr old - so vacations aren't always "relaxing" lol. But this resort made everything easy. (sidenote: I am a Marriott Platinum member, and my mother-in-law is an area sales manager for one of the largest internet travel sites...so we have stayed in A LOT of resorts)... and We will definitely be back to Sundial. THE ROOM: So we booked thru booking.com (?) because we were going with a large group of friends - and we were worried it would be an awful room bc our rate was so reasonable... We booked what I think was considered a studio (?) - Building F, unit 205. Well, this was just an awesome condo! The bedroom area had accordian-type doors so the bedroom closed off from the living/dining area, so it was perfect (so maybe it was considered a 1 bedroom? It was BIG!). This condo had everything - beach toys, beach umbrellas, chairs, towels, DVD, kitchen gadgets -seriously, everything. The couch folds out to a bed, and it was comfy for our 3 yr old. There was also an air mattress if you needed it. There were a ton of pillows and blankets, and there was enough room to also put the pack n play in the hall. The room was spotless and comfortable, and just perfect for a family. One wall was entirely sliding glass doors that opened to a patio that is totally screened in. Awesome. It is NOT ocean front, but we didn't care bc we were at the beach and pool all day. I know that every unit is individually owned, so I can't speak for them all - but this one was amazing! Oh - and we left something in the room, and the owner has already shipped it back to us! (we just left 2 days ago!). I felt like I was staying with relatives or close friends. Amazing.

THE POOLS/BEACH: The main pool has a waterslide the kids loved. And there are like 5 other smaller pools around each condo area, so that is convenient. Also, the walk from the pools to the beach is SHORT and easy...so you can easily walk your kids back n forth - very easy. We ate A LOT from the pool bar - and I thought the food was great! My grouper, the fish n chips, the french fries.. everything was great. The kids loved the pool, although there is sooooo much chlorine (rightfully so), it does burn the kids' eyes - so get them some goggles. The beach is clean and nice with plenty of shells - and there are chairs and people to help you set them up. The pool has a huge shaded area. It just was overall really nice. Fancy? No. But really nice and comfortable.

Sanibel: You really can just stay at the resort the entire time. There are a ton of kids' activities and there is an eco room with turtles, etc. But if your kids are old enought to ride bikes, or if you are kid-free, this island is perfect ...rent a bike and ride to restaurants, etc. There's so many restaurants I would love to try!! There is even a 7-11 about .8 miles away with necessities. You can get around on the island on bikes almost easier than cars. You can't have a cooler at the pool (like most resorts) - but you can have a cooler at the beach, and it is an easy walk to the beach :-). I just cannot say enough about this resort or our room. . .

Hope this helps! Love Sanibel and love Sundial....

Room Tip: No clue how to pick a great room - we lucked out with ours!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend with four of us. Me, wife and two grown sons. I made the reservation kind of last minute is we only could get one bedroom unit. We had the pull out sofa and a roll away bed. The unit was nice with a full kitchen, balcony, modern decor and very clean. The resort is nice but kind of old feeling. Looked nice but the layout and style felt old. The resort is a family place and you pay $50 a day for all the recreation equipment which worked out ok. The bicycles were good and riding on the island is fun. Bike paths everywhere. The beach is nice but it's the gulf. No waves and the water is murky. They had entertainment at the pool bar in the afternoon and at the bar at night which was fun. The bar though closes at 10 pm ( on a Saturday night) kind of lame.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JKirk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
10.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand between your toes, take a refreshing swim in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's award winning restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa Sanibel Island, Florida
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing